Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Community Pet Hospital

Founded 1999 • With Angi since August 2005

4.5

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

13500 Sw Pacific Hwy Ste 54

Portland, OR 97223

Description

Full service veterinary care, friendly, compassionate staff and doctors with affordable rates. Tuesday vaccine value day, complete in house diagnostic and blood chemistry, orthopedic surgery, laser surgery for less pain and faster healing, dental cleaning, with or w/out anesthesia, digital x-rays for precise identification of serious conditions. Call for more information 503-670-9707 or visit us on the web at www.CommunityPetHosp.com. There is a lot of information about pet health, prevention and how to address different issues. Check out the many videos also available. You can also access your pet's health records as well....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

05/25/2017


Arly H.

.....

Description of Work
...

Category veterinarian

5.0

04/24/2014


Linda G.

I initially started going to Community Pet Hospital because their prices are very good and their walk in facilities. You don't have to make appointments except for surgery and those kinds of things. They give excellent care. You can tell that the staff really likes animals. They're very thorough and give you all the details and information that you need to know to make decisions for your pet's health care. I've just been so happy with them.

Description of Work
I used Community Pet Hospital for veterinarian to treat my dog's ear infection. I've been going to them for about five years now.

Category veterinarian

5.0

04/01/2013


shirley C.

They are excellent. We really liked the price and their service is walk in so we don't have to worry about appointments. We were pleased with them.

Description of Work
We used Community Pet Hospital last week for my cat.

Category veterinarian

1.0

09/04/2012


jeremiah S.

At first we were pretty impressed with Community Pet Hospital upon calling to get prices ($750 for both cats), and dropping the cats off for their surgery. Unfortunately that quickly went downhill after picking up our cats the day after their surgery. We were given very brief instructions on what to watch out for, as well as some medication and litter for the cats. We followed the instructions of keeping the cats in a small isolated room, and doing our best to keep them inactive. Despite following these instructions, the glue 'stitches' had come off on multiple areas on both cats just the very next day. We took both cats back in right away to get the incisions re-glued. They decided to bandage both cats paws, and give them both e-Collars to ensure they did not chew through the glue, as well as sending us home with some antibiotics. This second visit cost us $136, on top of the $750 we paid just two days prior. We put the E-Collars on the cats, and took them home. Within 30 minutes of being home, both cats had shaken one of the bandages right off their paws. (They charged us $35 per cat just to put the bandages on in the first place, and they only stayed on for 30 minutes!) Fast forward another 2 days, and once again the glue holding the wound closed is nowhere to be seen despite being confined in a small bathroom the entire time AND wearing e-collars. When we called AGAIN to let them know the glue came loose they just told us to come in again to get it re-glued. We were charged about $20 to get these glued for the THIRD time in less than a week. After having a family friend take a look at the cats we were told that it looked like there was some laser burns on our female cats paws, and we were advised to take both cats in to another vet to get checked out, as the quality of the surgery and glue sutures was unacceptable. If I would have known a week ago that I would need to be bringing my cats back in every other day to repeatedly fix the same shoddy glue sutures I would have steered clear of Community Pet Hospital and taken my cats somewhere that they would be cared for appropriately.

Description of Work
Laser declaw surgery for two cats

Category veterinarian

5.0

06/01/2011


KP D.

Positive experience from initial phone contact. Good information, and helpful. Discount Tuesday combined with excellent service equals the best deal in the area.

Description of Work
Pets - exams and vaccinations. Professional and kind from the front desk to the vet, Dr. Bruce Johnson, and remarkably reasonable fees. Any suggestions were given in an informative way and without using guilt.

Category veterinarian

5.0

05/07/2011


Renee H.

It went excellently. My husband was particularly impressed that Dr. Long explained everything to him very, very thoroughly. Price was low for the area and they got us in the same day for that first visit. In addition to the good in-office communication, their office and Dr. Long also called a couple times to explain things.

Description of Work
We just moved to the area and my husband chose this vet, Dr. Long at Community Pet Clinic, after researching on Angie's List. We took our cat, Fluffy, in due to a recurrence of a tumor on the edge of his ear which had had prior surgery. My husband and Fluffy actually saw Dr. Long two times. The first time, Dr. Long did blood work, exams, radiographs and the bill was $269. The second visit involved the actual surgery and leaving Fluffy there with premeds, anesthesia, mass removal, IV's, etc. This visit was $469.

Category veterinarian

5.0

05/05/2011


PAM S.

Their prices and their services are pretty good. It's basically a walk in and you don't have to take prior appointments. Both the times I have been there was without appointments and in a very short period of time. Among the number of vets I have seen, they were as good as others. I would rate them high overall. I would definitely use them in the future.

Description of Work
I take my pets to Community Pet Clinic/Companion Pet Clinic. The last time I had been to them was in April this year and had taken my dog and my cat.

Category veterinarian

5.0

03/11/2011


Mary Jo G.

They are real efficient because I can just walk in. There isn't anything that they are totally outstanding in but they aren't weak either. It is very convenient just to be able to go in and get what I need to get done. Their prices are what I find in the community. I will continue to use them.

Description of Work
I used Community Pet Clinic for a shot.

Category veterinarian

5.0

02/16/2011


Deborah K.

Our dog is older and small so we were worried about the procedure. However, the vet did a good job and there was no difficulty. The price was reasonable. The facility is not fancy, but it is clean and servicable.

Description of Work
Teeth cleaning dog.

Category veterinarian

4.0

07/16/2010


PATRICIA N.

Overall,I think Community does a pretty good job for the price. They are cheaper than most vets we've used. My biggest issue with them is that there is always a wait. The waiting room will be empty, and you'll think, great, this should only take about 20 minutes. Wrong. You'll wait 5 minutes in the waiting room, and then 25 minutes in the exam room, even when the place looks empty. That may not seem like a long time, but when you have a cat freaking out on you, every minute feels like an hour. I love Dr. Long. He's got a great bedside manner. Some of the others (both clerical and vets) seem pretty detached and not very empathetic, at least compared to vets we've used in the past. The good thing about them is that they don't hype a lot of expensive drugs, vaccines, tests, etc. Would recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Under the weather cat; listless, vomiting,etc

Category veterinarian

5.0

12/10/2008


Lani S.

Telephoned after kitten fell. They were able to get me in right away. Very sympathetic and obviously love animals.

Description of Work
Kitten shots and x-rays/diagnosis/treatment for one of the kittens (she had taken a bad fall). The folks there now are great.

Category veterinarian

5.0

10/10/2006


JIM C.

They handled our situation with great compassion. They never made us feel that it was the wrong thing to do. They tried several ideas to rule out cancer but in the end the cat was suffering and they were very nice and caring. We even received a postcard in the mail a week later that said, "We're sorry for your lose." That was nice to receive.

Description of Work
Our cat had cancer and we had to put him to rest.

Category veterinarian

5.0

08/19/2005


JESSICA U.

WHEN I FIRST HAD A QUESTION, I CONTACTED COMPANION PET CLINIC BY PHONE AND WAS TREATED WELL FROM THE START. ALTHOUGH IT IS A WALK-IN CLINIC, THE WAIT WAS VERY SHORT. THE RECEPTIONIST WAS WELCOMING AND UNDERSTANDING OF MY PUPPY'S PERSONALITY! THE VETERINARIAN DID A GOOD EXAM AND TREATED ME WITH RESPECT. OVERALL, I THINK THE CLINIC IS GREAT FOR THE FRIENDLY SERVICE AND THE PRICE.

Description of Work
VETERINARIAN EXAMINED MY DOG AFTER I HAD QUESTIONS ABOUT HER HEALTH. AFTER A GOOD DIAGNOSIS, THE VETERINARIAN GAVE SEVERAL OPTIONS IN TREATING MY DOG.

Category veterinarian

    Veterinarians
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    Veterinary: Office examinations, vaccinations, flea and parasite protection, diagnostic and blood chemistry tests in house (as well as off site if more reasonable). Prescription medications and pet food, x-rays, ultrasound, broad array of surgical procedures using laser or standard techniques, spays, neuters, soft tissue and orthopedic. Dental cleaning both non anesthetic and with anesthesia as needed. Very competitive prices.

    Services Not Offered

    No boarding, grooming

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Community Pet Hospital

    How is Community Pet Hospital overall rated?

    Community Pet Hospital is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Community Pet Hospital open?

    Community Pet Hospital is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Community Pet Hospital provide

    Community Pet Hospital accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Community Pet Hospital offer free estimates?

    Ask Community Pet Hospital for details on free project estimates.

    Does Community Pet Hospital offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Community Pet Hospital offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Community Pet Hospital offer a senior discount?

    No, Community Pet Hospital does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Community Pet Hospital?

    No, Community Pet Hospital does not offer warranties.

    What services does Community Pet Hospital offer?

    Community Pet Hospital offers the following services: Veterinary: Office examinations, vaccinations, flea and parasite protection, diagnostic and blood chemistry tests in house (as well as off site if more reasonable). Prescription medications and pet food, x-rays, ultrasound, broad array of surgical procedures using laser or standard techniques, spays, neuters, soft tissue and orthopedic. Dental cleaning both non anesthetic and with anesthesia as needed. Very competitive prices.

    Are there any services Community Pet Hospital does not offer?

    No boarding, grooming