Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Blackburns Chimney Sweeps

Founded 1986 • With Angi since October 1995

4.6

(797) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4644 Kenny Rd

Columbus, OH 43220

Description

It is the mission of Blackburn's Chimney Sweeps Inc. to provide customer service, repairs and products to the Columbus Ohio area that are so superior that we will remain the standard by which all our competitors will have to measure themselves. 15 employees. Cost is determined by the job. Travel charges may apply. No service fees. May contact through e-mail. Debbie@blackburnschimney.com Additional contact name - Debbie Wiedwald....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

08/23/2021


Phillip D.

It went relatively well. For a very dirty and dusty job the team kept most of it contained. We are pleased with the outcome.

Description of Work
Chimney lining

Category carpet cleaners,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for using Blackburns Chimney Services for the chimney liner repair. Thank you for taking the time to give the crew feedback.
5.0

07/28/2021


VIRGINIA S.

The service went great. Brad did a thorough inspection of the fireplace, chimney, outside of chimney including flashing on roof, cleaned fireplace. He advised on & provide estimate for repairs to chimney waterproofing, cap, flashing. He called on his way, was on time, took care to cover the floors and carpet. He was very knowledgeable & professional. I am a longtime, but not frequent, customer of Blackburn's and I recommend them.

Description of Work
Fireplace & chimney inspection after 10+ years not using gas log fireplace.

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for using Blackburns Chimney services and for taking the time to provide feedback with your experience with Blackburns Chimney. We are glad Brad was able to answer your questions and discuss recommended maintenance. Sincerely, Debbie Wiedwald 614-297-3870
5.0

01/06/2021


Christopher K.

We have used Blackburn for many years. They show up on time, they are careful to keep the room clean while they do their work, they are pleasant and informative. Good quality and good value.

Description of Work
Chimney Inspection

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for using Blackburns Chimney Services. We appreciate seeing regular customers. Thank you for the feedback and kind words about our staff.
5.0

12/18/2020


Mike J.

Great! We went with Blackburn's since they did a great job at our old house and new house. When they did the chimney cleaning at our apartments they used a camera to inspect them as well. We found some cracks and used their recommended lining program to reline them. Their installers are excellent and very professional. Everything was clean and they worked very quickly. We love Blackburns!

Description of Work
We had our chimney's cleaned at our apartments and had them re-lined

Category carpet cleaners,chimney repair

5.0

06/27/2020


ROBERT S.

They did a great job and covered the floor with drop cloths. Only complaint is they seem a bit pricey ($220 - senior discount + tax = $212). BUT, there were two people and they were here nearly an hour.

Description of Work
Chimney sweep

Category chimney sweep

5.0

11/25/2019


Dean G.

They were excellent and even their price was good. I would highly recommend them and I would hire them again.

Description of Work
They cleaned out the chimney and inspected everything.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

10/23/2019


RICHARD R.

I had 2 workers arrive on time and completed the inspection and cleaning. They were careful to keep my house clean by placing drop clothes in the areas where they were working. They provided me with their findings with photos. I was very pleased with their service.

Description of Work
Inspection and cleaning of our chimney

Category chimney sweep

5.0

09/23/2019


SANDY G.

Inspection determined that best to replace exposed part of flue rather than try to repair. On scheduled day, workers showed up on time, and did work as contracted. Very courteous and professional. Flue looks great.

Description of Work
Exposed part of original chimney flue had deteriorated and needed fixed.

Category chimney repair

2.0

09/03/2019


j S.

I have to also say that this company is dishonest. My chimney has a water leak. In 2007 Blackburn came out cleaned the chimney and replaced the cap. Which blew off in the next wind storm. But they came out and put it back. Which was fine. This time chimney has a water leak. I called and requested an est. They said it would be 219 dollars. I explained that i closed off the chimney years ago and I just wanted an est on repairs. New cap or whatever was causing the issue. No cleaning or 3 point chimney inspection, as they called it. Just go up look at the chimney, see what repairs and parts would be required. Then give an estimate etc... The lady said the best they could do was 189. Thats ashamed, I'm a repeat customer. They seem to be just cash hungry. It's sad they wanted 200 bucks to do work that was not need to provide an estimate on work that needed to be done. Very disappointed they refuse to come out and provide an estimate.

Description of Work
Water leak

Category chimney caps,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Dear Customer, The National Fire Protection Association recommends that a chimney be swept and or evaluated on a yearly basis to maintain the fireplace and chimney. Since the last service at your home was in 2007, an evaluation is recommended. Blackburns Chimney Services has found that it is a disservice to complete a repair estimate when water is entering the home. Recommending to repair a certain part of the chimney oftentimes resulted in additional damage, leaking and frustrations for the home owner as it was later determined that other areas of the chimney structure were causing water to enter the home as well. Instead of completing multiple repairs over time while troubleshooting the issue, technicians complete an evaluation of the chimney and fireplace system to comprehensively investigate where water is entering the home and determine if the water has compromised the integrity of the system making it unusable. The technicians evaluate the cap, crown, house seams, brick and mortar joints, shoulders and flashing provided we can reach the chimney with a 32 foot ladder. For prefabricated fireplaces, the chase, chase cover, and cap are evaluated. Downspouts and gutters can allow water to accumulate at the chimney. Grading of the yard can cause leaks in the firebox. Improper venting of the furnace and hot water tank can cause water issues and condensation as well. The technicians will run a camera inside the fireplace chimney to determine if water has damaged the interior components and to verify that the system is usable. The basement and attic areas of the chimney will be evaluated if they are accessible. Similar to the diagnostic completed by an automobile specialist, there is a charge to complete the water entry evaluation. Pictures and recommendations are provided to the home owner so they can make the best repair choices for their home. Home owners are welcome to email pictures of areas of concerns if they are wanting a guess as to the repairs needed; however, only a thorough evaluation can help locate the source of water entry and the needed repair recommendations. Sincerely, Debbie Wiedwald 614-297-3870
5.0

04/15/2019


Chris L.

The people at Blackburn's were great from communication to installer I would definitely hire again.

Description of Work
Chimney cap cover

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps

    Other local Pros in your area

    Superior Home Maintenance

    Superior Home Maintenance Co is a fully licensed, bonded and insured business and has been in operation for over ninety years in central Ohio and the Columbus area. Our company takes great pride in the quality and care of the work that we provide to our customers. Our technicians are experienced in every area of home maintenance that a homeowner may need. Job minimum is $250.  

    Basement Remedy

    Basement Remedy is a small, Veteran owned & operated company specializing in Historic and Contemporary Foundation Repair, Drainage, Masonry, and more. We pride ourselves in the highest quality work, backed by warranty. We are a non-sponsored company and do not install "systems." Our methods and materials have been proven over time.  

    Offers by Basement Remedy on Angi
    Plant Masonry

    Family owned. Additional contact name - Jerry Plant. Additional email - jerryplant@plantmasonry.com.  

    Offers by Plant Masonry on Angi
    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Chimney Services – Inspections, Cleaning, Caps & Guards, Liners, Smoking Chimneys, & Leaking Chimneys. Masonry – Repairs & Water Problems. Dryer Vent Cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Chimney foundation work.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Blackburns Chimney Sweeps

    How is Blackburns Chimney Sweeps overall rated?

    Blackburns Chimney Sweeps is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Blackburns Chimney Sweeps open?

    Blackburns Chimney Sweeps is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:30 AM - 2:30 PM

    What payment options does Blackburns Chimney Sweeps provide

    Blackburns Chimney Sweeps accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Blackburns Chimney Sweeps offer free estimates?

    No, Blackburns Chimney Sweeps does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Blackburns Chimney Sweeps offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Blackburns Chimney Sweeps does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Blackburns Chimney Sweeps offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Blackburns Chimney Sweeps offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Blackburns Chimney Sweeps?

    Yes, Blackburns Chimney Sweeps offers warranties.

    What services does Blackburns Chimney Sweeps offer?

    Blackburns Chimney Sweeps offers the following services: Chimney Services – Inspections, Cleaning, Caps & Guards, Liners, Smoking Chimneys, & Leaking Chimneys. Masonry – Repairs & Water Problems. Dryer Vent Cleaning.

    Are there any services Blackburns Chimney Sweeps does not offer?

    Chimney foundation work.