Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

A Team Transmissions

Founded 2005 • With Angi since August 2010

4.6

(108) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6200 Huntley Rd Ste C

Columbus, OH 43229

Description

2 locations to choose from... 6111 East Main St. Columbus, OH. 43213 (614) 864-7505. 6200 Huntley Rd. Columbus, OH. 43015 (614) 848-8484...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

08/09/2021


Ed S.

Never bring your vehicle to them unless your transmission is truly worn down and you are almost unable to make your vehicle get up to any safe speed because your transmission will no longer shift. If you take your vehicle to them anytime prior to that type of condition, you will end up throwing your money away

Description of Work
Rebuilt a 60,000 mile transmission

Category auto repair,transmission repair

1.0

04/29/2019


Matt F.

Took my truck in to have a transmission rebuilt that they had rebuilt a couple months ago. It was no cost because it was under warranty. Other my transmission, there was nothing else wrong with my truck. after a month they called and said I had a bad axle and axle boot and was going have to get that repaired. finally got my truck back today and now the brakes are making a grinding and high pitch screeching noise. odd thing is, a put new brakes on two weeks before the transmission went out... coincidence.....I think not!!!

Description of Work
Transmission rebuild

Category auto repair,transmission repair,car accessories

1.0

04/18/2018


Sinnea T.

Emailed the company through your website. No response! Called the Huntley location several times no answer! Took my vehicle to another shop. Very disappointed because this is the first time I tried to use your listings.

Description of Work
Transmission Replacement or repair

Category transmission repair

2.0

01/19/2018


frank D.

we still waiting , i am planing to contact owner either get my full refund or compensation if car will not be done by Monday 1/22/18, or hire an attorney for further legal actions.

Description of Work
transmission was rebuild, took car after new year was in shop for a week, was not working wright, took to dealership for test, they told us that there problem with a computer, brought back to shop on main street, they told us that nothing wrong with computer, it is something with transmission, promised to be ready today 1/19/18 after another week of car being in shop, still not done, looks like tech does not what is going on with it, 3d week passing car still in that shop.

Category transmission repair

5.0

12/08/2017


Bo B.

Had them replace my transmission earlier this year. Human error demanded that the fluid level be checked and corrected this week. They performed this service and did not charge me at all. Jeff, Sean, and the rest of the crew are capable, friendly, and fair. There was no judgement towards me and they patiently answered all my questions. Thanks again, guys! P.S. They like pizza. P.P.S. I don't use Angie's List but registered to make sure I could share my experience.

Description of Work
They replaced a transmission for me earlier this year and performed service this week, checking the fluid level and topping it off.

Category transmission repair

1.0

11/07/2017


Jamaal T.

They took longer then the estimated time for the initial install. When I advised them of certain issues we where having they made excuses as to what was the cause. Never taking ownership of the work they performed. Then when we finally go a time to drop it off. It took three more weeks longer then they stated to fix the issue. I had to contact the office on Huntley Rd to get the time issue resolved. Otherwise I felt as though they would have kept my car longer.

Description of Work
Install a rebuilt transmission

Category transmission repair

5.0

10/16/2017


Cathy M.

We were 800 miles from home and 800 miles from our destination when our RV broke down...other places couldn’t even look at it for 3-5 days and these guys were able to help us get back on the road after losing only 2 days of our vacation. Professional, courteous and fairly priced.

Description of Work
torque converter, pump, gasket

Category transmission repair

4.0

06/13/2017


Melinda S.

This was free, it was all warranty. They seemed to have gotten everything fixed. He listened and talked to me about everything. I dropped it off, and spoke with the manager of that store. He was the one I dealt with at that office. I don't know how many people worked on it. It also took 3 days to complete the services. Since it was warranty work, they did offer me $25.00 per day for a rental. I definitely won't go back there. The car is only a 2012 and I had to put a new transmission in it, I'm not happy.

Description of Work
They fixed the transmission.

Category transmission repair

5.0

06/05/2017


Rick S.

The repair was done quickly as promised and I have had no problems with the car.

Description of Work
Rebuilt the transmission on my 2009 Chevy Impala

Category transmission repair

5.0

03/20/2017


Edward S.

It went very well, and they did it all quickly and efficiently

Description of Work
I needed my transmission rebuilt

Category auto repair,transmission repair

1.0

12/30/2016


Gregory S.

Had my jeep towed in to have the transmission rebuilt i was guaranteed 3 to 5 days. They got it on a tuesday and the following monday they still hadn't started on my jeep. Then the following Thursday they called to tell me it was done but there was another problem and they would discuss it with me when i got there to pick it up. I got there to find out that my drivers door handle was ripped off, the whole handle was ripped out of the door and the door was badly damaged. I asked if they called the police and ofcourse they did not then i asked about cameras and conveniently they didnt record anything so i asked if i could ask the mechanic if it was like that when he pulled it in the garage and again conveniently that mechanic quit that day. Seems real fishy to me, like a cover up for their negligence. And ofcourse they say they arent reaponsible for theft or damages go figure......... I would not recomend this shop

Description of Work
Had my jeep towed in to have the transmission rebuilt i was guaranteed 3 to 5 days. They got it on a tuesday and the following monday they still hadn't started on my jeep. Then the following Thursday they called to tell me it was done but there was another problem and they would discuss it with me when i got there to pick it up. I got there to find out that my drivers door handle was ripped off, the whole handle was ripped out of the door and the door was badly damaged. I asked if they called the police and ofcourse they did not then i asked about cameras and conveniently they didnt record anything so i asked if i could ask the mechanic if it was like that when he pulled it in the garage and again conveniently that mechanic quit that day. Seems real fishy to me, like a cover up for their negligence. And ofcourse they say they arent reaponsible for theft or damages go figure......... I would not recomend this shop

Category transmission repair

Service Provider Response

Please, let me preface this review with a few facts. We are located on East Main St., a very high traffic area, and probably not one of the greatest of neighborhoods. Additionally, yes, we have had break in's over the years. EVERY STORE ON EAST MAIN STREET HAS EXPERIENCED THIS- NOT JUST US, and they all have it posted in their stores, "NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THEFT OR VANDALISM". There really is a reason for these signs- It has happened so much on East Main that, the police refuse to come out for a report, and most stores have been advised that when we see the customer in person, we explain to them what happened, and have them go to the station to do it in person, or over phone. Upon discussing this wrongdoing with the owner of the building we are renting, would he be interested is assisting in any way to help us, he declined. I called the city to inquire about putting up a fence, and, as luck would have it, we are not zoned for fencing. I am stating all this, because this is what we told Mr. [Member Name Removed]. We thought an amicable end to this situation would be what he requested, which was $140, and that would be to help make a payment for the financing he received for his transmission repair. I would like to reveal some transparency here. It appeared that upon Mr. [Member Name Removed], requesting the amount, receiving the amount, and applying the amount to his balance, would create harmony, and we could part company amicably, and everything would be water under the bridge. Apparently, it is not so, and felt the need to give us an "F" on Angie's List. We had requested him to reconcile the "F" with possibly an "A" or a "B" for the fact that we made strides in an amicable ending to an ugly matter, that is completely out of our control. If he could not do so, we felt that at this time, we should add the $140 back to his bill. He agreed to post positive, to which he has not done so. As a result, we will let the payment we made on his behalf remain, and will not add it back to his bill. Obviously, our transmission is working. The quality of the repair is more than sufficient. Additionally, he is a previous customer, and has had work done by us prior. This is his second transmission repair with us. Essentially, we did a great job for him then, and continue to do so now. We love our customers, and hate for situations that do not exemplify our repair quality, craftsmanship, or compassion, and ruin relationships that have been built over the years. Please, consider this to not be an "A Team" problem, but a true sin problem in the world we live in. Thank you for taking time to read this... Sean Avner
5.0

11/01/2016


Jerry D.

Bruce's team did an excellent job ! I would use again.

Description of Work
Rebuilt Transmission.

Category transmission repair

4.0

09/16/2016


Melinda S.

I called the east side store on Wednesday at 8:30 am and spoke with Larry. I explained to him the problems I was having, even noting the transmission temperature when I observed it. He was very nice and explained some of the possibilities. He told me that they had a free diagnostic and if I could get it there quickly, they would be able to have an answer this morning. I got the kids on the bus and dropped the car off at 9:30 am. Larry told me that he would call me in 45 minutes to an hour and a half to let me know. When I hadn't heard anything by noon, I gave them a call. There was no answer on the phone. I tried periodically for a half hour and finally got Larry at 12:30 pm. He told me he forgot to account for his mechanics lunch time and that is why the estimate ran long. He said they would get back around 1 pm and I should have an answer then. (They must have really long lunches) At 3 pm, Larry called me and told me his mechanic test drove my car and didn't detect any problems. I explained that there was definitely something wrong based on what I had observed the night before. He said that he wanted to try one more test. A mechanic from their north shop had a testing device that he would like to try but he wouldn't be bringing it to their store until near close today or first thing in the morning. He asked to keep the car longer and I agreed. (Perhaps they should buy two of the testers so each shop has one) I ask Larry for a worst case scenario and he said it would be a rebuild of the transmission which would cost around $1,800. Not what I wanted to hear but I paid $900 for rebuild 20 years ago so I figured this was about right. Larry called me back right before close and told me he sent the north shop employee with the tester on a test drive and told him to diagnose the car. He said he didn't tell him any of the symptoms because he didn't want him to make any assumptions. That employee was able to tell right away that it was the overdrive failing. Larry said that the first employee didn't figure that out because he didn't get the transmission hot enough. (I don't understand why the first employee didn't know that. The owner's manual says the best temperature to even check the transmission fluid is between 160 to 200 degrees) Larry also told me that my GMC transmission is the same as the Cadillac transmission and that the rebuild is actually going to cost $2,300 to $2,500) Larry said that if they get started quickly, he can have my car before the weekend. As my wife's car is the only one that can haul our entire family, I OK'd the work. The next day, Thursday, Larry calls me to tell me the updated estimate. It was going to cost $2,499. Also, they had to cut off a mount for the exhaust and I'd have to have to have that replaced as well. That was an additional $85. So, after I gathered my jaw off of the ground, I asked if it would still be done by Friday and he said that it would. Next is where things turned a little shady. He asked if I was interested in upgrading my warranty on it form 1 year, 12,000 miles to 3 years, 36,000 miles for an extra $400. I told him my wife commutes a long distance and we'd eat up that mileage very quickly. He then offered a 3 year, unlimited mileage for $450. I told him I needed to think about it. He said OK. And then he informed me that he didn't tell the mechanics that I might only get the 1 year warranty and not the 3 year warranty so that they rebuild it like it has the 3 year warranty. (Apparently, if you're just getting the 1 year warranty, you get the bad mechanic with the cheap parts). Larry told me that my car will hopefully be ready by noon, if not, no later than end of day. I called the shop at 10:15 am the next day and got no answer again. Called again at 10:30 am and got a hold of Larry. He informed me that it would be ready closer to the end of day and he asked me about the warranty. I told him I was going to pass on the warranty. If my 2012 GMC goes through a second transmission 7 years, I'm selling the whole car. I then tell him as an Angie's List member, I was going to take advantage of their coupon, 5% off. He said OK. Larry called me at 3:00 pm to let me know the car was done. He said I didn't need to bring the coupon in because he took the $100 off of my bill. I told him that with my bill before taxes of $2,580, my 5% discount should have been about $125. He said that he can only take off $100. No where on the coupon does it say that there is a maximum discount. So I went and paid my bill and picked up my car. This overall experience didn't go nearly as well as I'd hoped. It consisted of all the cliche experiences you'd expect from a TV mechanic, the not calling you back, the way over estimate cost, the "extra" part needed. I found my experience to be average at best and very disappointing with what I expected from a highly rated Angie's List business and The River advertiser. After picking up my car, I spoke to the general manager, Bruce. He listened to me about my experience. He did offer to give my my $29 to fulfill my 5% discount. He said that he would speak to Larry about the making sure to call customers when he said he would. Larry called me back to follow up about my concerns. He apologized for the miscommunication that we had. He said that sometimes due to the business of the day, he explains thing a little too quickly. He took full responsibility for the actions. I really appreciate them taking the time to follow up with my concerns. After talking to Larry in depth about each point, I think we came to understanding about the whole situation and how we could have communicated better. As a show of good faith, in addition to fulfilling their coupon, I was offered a 10% discount for any future work I have done their on services that they provide. Based on their commitment to fulfilling my concerns, I will definitely give them another chance. Not many businesses will take the extra steps to to ensure that their customers are completely satisfied.

Description of Work
My wife brought her car home after a long trip and told me that she was hearing a whining noise and that the car wasn't shifting gears correctly. I took the car for a test drive and noticed that it delayed in taking off and the RPMs ran up really high before shifting to the next gear. You had to left off of the gas to get it to shift. Also, when slowing down to nearly a stop, a noticeable "clunk" was felt as the transmission down shifted to first gear. The transmission temperature was reading 218 degrees when I tested it. I contacted east side store located at 6111 E. Main St. and explained all of this. After reading the positive reviews on Angie's list and listening to their faith based commercials on The River, I was hopeful for a good experience.

Category transmission repair

5.0

05/08/2016


Jennifer L.

The transmission went out on our Mazda 5. The dealership quoted $4000+ for a new transmission. I called around and AAA recommended A Team transmission. The staff was very friendly and did a great job explaining the situation and what they would be doing to the vehicle. Despite it being a Mazda, the vehicle's transmission now works well.

Description of Work
rebuilt transmission

Category transmission repair

5.0

12/29/2015


PETE & DEBBIE G.

Our transmission started to have a flare and they rebuilt the transmission and it has worked great the past year. They also found an engine mount that needed replaced. Would go to again. They did not try to rip us off. Good honest company.

Description of Work
Rebuilt transmission

Category auto repair,transmission repair,car accessories

4.0

10/09/2015


James G.

A Team Transmissions rebuilt my automatic transmission on my 2002 Subaru Forrester in late March 2015. The transmission was significantly slipping intermittently and needed to be rebuilt. The vehicle did need to stay in shop longer than estimated. Only major issue with that was I was counting on car to drive over Easter weekend and was told late Friday afternoon that car did not pass final inspection and I would get car the following Monday or Tuesday latest. Car was ready early next week as promised. The car drove and shifted like a new car. Within a day or two the car threw a check engine light and it was a sensor that had likely been damaged while working on car. I took car back to A Team and they confirmed problem and replaced damaged sensor free of charge. About a month later I was driving my vehicle and smoke started pouring out from under the hood and the transmission went out completely. A transmission pressure line let go and sprayed transmission fluid everywhere in the engine compartment and under carriage. The car was a total mess inside engine compartment, under and outside the car. I contacted A-Team and they promptly sent a truck out to pick up vehicle. I was called by end of day to let me know the hose was replaced and the car engine compartment was cleaned and ready to go. When I brought the car home it ran fine, but smelled terrible in vehicle cabin due to excessive transmission fluid burning off. I thoroughly washed my car exterior, and power washed and de-greased wheel wells, wheels, brakes, and under carriage the best I could. Even then the car still smelled terrible every time it was run due to residual transmission fluid burning off. Plus transmission fluid continued dripping onto my driveway from various areas on the under carriage of car. A -Team did power wash the engine compartment a second time. I wish they could have sent me to someone that could have done a much more thorough cleaning of the engine compartment and undercarriage. The burn off smell continued for well over a month afterward. I either started getting used to it, or it finally ran its course or a combination of the two. However, each time I had to come in, the front desk people and service people I talked to were friendly, helpful and polite. They always tried to resolve the issues. While my own personal experience was not the best it could have been, I feel A-Team transmissions did their best to fix my transmission and address related issues as they came up. I am going to take the car in for a follow up this month to make sure everything is still OK. I will definitely update this review, if any other issues come up. Overall I liked the people I dealt with at A Team. While my experience was not the best it could have been, A- Team did a good job to make it right with me. It is for that reason; I would recommend them to anyone looking at having a transmission rebuilt.

Description of Work
Rebuilt automatic transmission on 2015 Subaru Forester S

Category auto repair,transmission repair

5.0

06/25/2015


Jennifer L.

The gentlemen that worked on my Mazda 5 were great. The dealership charged me $100 just to look at the vehicle and they were going to charge over twice as much. A Team did a great job of explaining the process and what needed to be done with a free estimate. They even had my vehicle done a couple of days early, so I ended up saving money on my rental vehicle too. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Rebuilt transmission

Category transmission repair

1.0

04/26/2015


anthony H.

A-Team rebuilt the transmission in my 2001 Volvo Wagon from June to July of 2014. I was referred to them through Westerville Automotive. The transmission failed again in April of 2015. On both occasions they were difficult to deal with. On the initial rebuild, the job was estimated to me at one week; it took three. On the warranty work, they initially tried to blame causes other than transmission failure. It was definitely transmission failure and ultimately they did the work. On the initial rebuild the time overruns were accompanied with ancillary quality problems as A-Team attempted on more than one occasion to return the car to me without properly completing all the work (properly reconnecting the power, cleaning up the vehicle when the engine, transmission were remounted, etc.). On the warranty work, the details were so sloppy I'm appalled. My steering now squeaks and groans because they didn't re-install the steering column properly when they reinstalled the engine and transmission. I have new engine noise coming in to the passenger cabin due to their work. I would not use this vendor again.

Description of Work
Transmission rebuild on 2001 Volvo Wagon.

Category transmission repair

5.0

04/18/2015


Cindy A.

Price was as estimated, delivered on time and was given updates through the whole repair process,

Description of Work
rebuild transmission

Category transmission repair

5.0

04/15/2015


Greydan M.

I say that they were good. I would recommend them. It was a long time ago and I don?t have any experience with other shops but they were very professional. I feel like they were fair. It?s too hard to judge mechanics so I don?t know. But they did a great job. It definitely took longer than I would have liked. They seem to take their time, it took two days. It was a problem but I would not take that against them. But I would definitely use them again. I feel that I got what I paid for and I thought that they are fair. I don?t have anything to compare their price with. They were really nice and worked perfectly in every sense. I felt that it took them longer than what I have anticipated. They were very professional.

Description of Work
I ended up going to A Team Transmissions. It was just a simple change of sensor, they had to replace it.

Category transmission repair

5.0

03/26/2015


Carol B.

They did a wonderful job; picked up the car as promised and completed the repairs in the timeframe promised. They also gave me an online coupon discount! Very courteous. Would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
A Transmission Team sent a tow truck to pick up my vehicle. It needed a rebuilt transmission.

Category transmission repair

5.0

02/09/2015


Angel R.

In Summary- I am very happy and satisfied with A-TEAM...I went to the dealer since the engine light was on and the van would not go past 50 mph. It was what I figured a bad transmission. The cost of just a used transmission was $1500.00 ( not including installation) from the dealer and a new one $3100 and over $5200 installed. Well we could not afford new and it did not make sense to install used. I checked the internet and the costs were similar. I also found out that 2003 transmission on the Honda Odyssey are known to have failures around the 150K mile mark. I knew that a used transmission was out of the equation. I then checked for costs on rebuilt units and they were expensive. I checked Angie's list and to my delight I found A-Team transmission has a super high rating and advertised on my radio station. They answered all my 20 questions and asked about repairing a lemon transmission and they said that since they obtain all manufactures technical messages and that my transmission would be up to 2014 Honda specs so those 2003 parts are fixed with the rebuild. Hearing that put my mind at ease. I asked them tow my vehicle which they did for free. The told me my repair would be between $1900 and $2300 depending what parts are needed. I figured that even at the high end, its cheaper than what I can do myself. The final cost came in the middle and I am very pleased. I waited a month to write this review so I can share that my Honda is running like new and no issues. The A-Team folks are kind, honest and patient. They said it would take one week and it took one week. In summary, for me it was better and cheaper than buying another used or new car. Thank You A-TEAM!!!

Description of Work
Rebuild the transmission on my 2003 Honda Odyssey.

Category transmission repair

1.0

02/02/2015


Fred M.

I brought my front differential in, which I had already removed from my truck, because it was leaking fluid out the axle shaft and drive shaft seals. The cost of a seal and bearing kit is about $100-150. I asked for their price to change out the seals and bearings and was told the cost of an estimate was $275. I said I did not want an estimate, I wanted the cost of an installation job for the seals and bearings. I was told they had to tear it apart and the $275 for the estimate would go towards the cost of the repairs!! Any reputable shop can at least give a rough estimate by saying the parts cost us a dollar amount, labor costs another dollar amount, we add those 2 numbers together and estimate tax to be this and you have a ball park number to go off of. Having to pay $275 up front is just a way to lock a person into having to use A-Team Transmission or walk away and give them a big chunk of money for nothing. The first icon on their website is HOME OF FREE DIAGNOSTIC AND TOWING!!! Really?!? How can Angie's List give somebody an A rating when they advertise free estimates then try to charge $275 without even giving an estimate. I will not be using A Team Transmission, I will not use Angie's List, and I am thankful the only reason I got an Angie's List membership in the first place because of a coupon. Lesson learned Angie, never pay somebody else to do something I should do myself.

Description of Work
I definitely walked past a big headache by walking out the door without letting these scammers get their hooks into me.

Category transmission repair

Service Provider Response

A Team Transmissions prides ourselves on Quality and Safety, which is represented by the policies we have in place. If we stray from these policies, we jeopardize both Quality and Safety. We apologize for any frustration this has caused you. Sean Avner President, A Team Transmissions
5.0

01/09/2015


Scott F.

I used A Team Transmissions last January for a transfer case repair on my Chevy Silverado. It was fixed quickly and for a reasonable price. I returned this January when I needed my transmission rebuilt on the same truck. They repaired my vehicle in 4 days(quickly) and for a very fair price. They have done a great job the past two times I've needed service. The owner Sean Avner and manger Thom Grodaus were great. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Transfer case repair and transmission rebuild on a Chevy Silverado.

Category transmission repair

5.0

01/09/2015


Larry H.

did what they said they would do when they said they would do it

Description of Work
rebuilt transmission

Category transmission repair

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Auto Transmission
    Auto Service
    Auto Accessories
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Automatic & Manual Transmissions - Repair & Rebuilding

    Services Not Offered

    Auto Detailing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A Team Transmissions

    How is A Team Transmissions overall rated?

    A Team Transmissions is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are A Team Transmissions open?

    A Team Transmissions is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does A Team Transmissions provide

    A Team Transmissions accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does A Team Transmissions offer free estimates?

    Yes, A Team Transmissions offers free project estimates.

    Does A Team Transmissions offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A Team Transmissions offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A Team Transmissions offer a senior discount?

    No, A Team Transmissions does not offer a senior discount.

    Does A Team Transmissions offer emergency services?

    Yes, A Team Transmissions offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A Team Transmissions?

    Yes, A Team Transmissions offers warranties.

    What services does A Team Transmissions offer?

    A Team Transmissions offers the following services: Automatic & Manual Transmissions - Repair & Rebuilding

    Are there any services A Team Transmissions does not offer?

    Auto Detailing.