Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

J. Bowers Construction Co

4.2

(23) Verified Reviews

Founded 1959 • With Angi since March 2005

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Company Contact

3113 Mogadore Rd

Akron, OH 44312

Description

J. Bowers Construction, Inc. was built on the twin principles of honesty and quality workmanship. These are still the guiding factor in how we do business today. Our goal is to provide clients with extraordinary service and value. From the first inspection of the disaster site to the finishing touches of the restoration work, J. Bowers Construction, Inc. strives to meet each client’s individual needs – and bring their home or building back to working order as quickly as possible. Additional contact name - Sean Bowers. Additional fax - (330) 628-8473....

Verified Reviews

4.2

(23) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

14

4

2

3

3

2

1

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.3

Professionalism

4.2

Punctuality

4.2

Quality

4.4

Responsiveness

3.9

Read reviews by category

roofing (14)water damage restoration (8)window replacement (4)siding companies (4)decks & porches (2)flooring (3)gutter repair (2)furniture refinishing (2)home builder (1)
Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews
5.0

07/09/2018


Jules R.

Brian was awesome. I don't know how I could say enough good things about him! He came out and found a tiny hole in my roof about the size of a penny. We have no idea what caused the hole, but something small must have been traveling pretty fast to cause the hole.. He was very kind and helpful even though his company no longer travels to our area. He put a patch on the roof without even charging me!

Description of Work
There was water dripping from my ceiling and Brian came and checked things out for me since they had put the roof on about 8 years ago.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2018

1.0

10/29/2017


Wendy F.

Horrible, late, poor workmenship. Lie after lie. Home owner beware.

Description of Work
Home repair.

Category flooring contractor,gutter repair,remodeling,siding,water damage restoration,replacement windows

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2017

5.0

03/25/2017


Cassie P.

They have been phenomenal. They kept me in the loop about what they were doing and answered any questions or concerns. They are incredibly responsive and courteous. This was all new to me and they made a difficult situation so much better.

Description of Work
We had a house fire and they were contacted by the fire dept. to board up the house. We talked to them then and decided they were the company we wanted to go with to do the repair. They took most of the house down to the studs, did the demo from the fire and the rebuild which included plumbing, electric, heating, custom woodwork, hardwood floors, etc.

Category decks,flooring contractor,remodeling,water damage restoration,replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/25/2017

Images

Review for J. Bowers Construction Co - 3113 Mogadore Rd, Akron, OH - 34675511

+1 More

5.0

03/14/2017


Carol G.

J. Bowers sent someone to the house immediately. In pouring rain, he found an isolated roof problem, took pictures, did some immediate remediation, and explained everything. The estimator was also knowledgeable. I authorized them to do both the the interior and exterior repairs. Everyone I worked with was professional, knowledgeable, answered all my questions in detail, and wanted the job to be done right. If you have weather-related damage, J. Bowers is the company to call.

Description of Work
I called J. Bowers Construction regarding a water leak of unknown origin that had ruined part of my home office ceiling and one wall.

Category roofing,water damage restoration

Cost $1,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/12/2017

5.0

07/23/2015


Janna B.

Went well, service was done well, they were honest about pricing, availability and knowing what they were doing. A couple other roofing companies were not sure how to work with the corrugated roofing that is on our barn.

Description of Work
Repaired and replaced sections of corrugated roofing, aluminum and clear panels.

Category roofing

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2015

1.0

04/22/2015


Michelle R.

It was never completed. Did not have permits, contractors not registered, neither were the roofers. They could not finish a job in 5 months that should have taken a week. The work they did finish was shoddy.

Description of Work
They were to supposed to put on a roof, shutters, siding, replace window from hail damage. Stain deck, repair fence, trim painting, replace hand rails.

Category roofing

Cost $7,000

Work Completed On 07/04/2012

5.0

06/23/2014


Brenda B.

Everything went perfectly. The job only took two days and they were finished! The crew that came was completely professional and they cleaned up everything, no scraps left inside or out. I will definitely use them again in the future and would highly recommend them to anyone. Excellent service!

Description of Work
They replaced 10 windows and took away the old ones. It was a custom job and they matched the wood to the windows.

Category replacement windows

Cost $1,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/13/2013

2.0

11/17/2013


ellen E.

They board up my house after a fire tore out insulation and flooring I wanted to save my deck so they tried cutting a section but cut main beams ruining it I was also going to save part of my stockade fence and they took it upon there self to do it after being told I had someone to do it and charge me 10 thousand for that they were unfamiliar with zoning rules and cost me 3mo time in the process of rebuilding

Description of Work
J. BOWERS CONSTRUCTION CO

Category home builders

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2013

5.0

05/06/2013


Bruce H.

The weather was horrible, early March. They worked in the cold and the job progressed as scheduled. Totally new porch from footers for the supports to decking, stairs and rails. In addition, they installed vinyl siding, which still looks nice.

Description of Work
J Bowers took down and replaced the entire front porch. They also covered the house with vinyl siding. Everything they did continues to work as it should.

Category decks,roofing,siding

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/10/2000

4.0

10/30/2012


Ed F.

The technicians were great. However the sales person (who has since left the company) was slow to respond and hard to reach. I do not blame J Bowers for that though. However, I feel that someone should have been paying more attention to him, and my job, I was going to have them do all of the re-install, which turned out to be the complete kitchen. But do to the sales person not communicating, I chose another company.

Description of Work
dishwasher slow leak under floor; laminate floor removed underlay removed commercial dehumidifiers installed temp to dry floor.

Category water damage restoration

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/22/2012

Services Offered

Roofing, complete home remodeling, commercial build outs

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes