SelectCare Home Care Services NYC

Founded 1985 • With Angi since May 2012

4.9

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

220 E 23rd St Ste 303

New York, NY 10010

Description

SelectCare Home Care Services of NYC is a licensed home care agency serving Manhattan, Brooklyn, Queens and the Bronx. Established in 1985, SelectCare is owner-operated and offers Home Health Aide, LPN and RN services. We also assist clients with their long term care insurance plans, communicate with the client's medical team, and provide one-on-one oversight through our RN Nurse Supervisors and free monthly in-home nursing visits.....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/09/2018


Joel M.

Very reliable,all aids were friendly and very helpful.Always checking to make sure everything went well

Description of Work
Aid to help me after hip replacement surgery

Category

5.0

11/10/2016


Bruce L.

An excellent company, that provided excellent care to my home-bound mother. The nursing supervision is attentive, considerate, and thorough. They made creative suggestions for my mother's care that provided solutions to difficult management problems. The home health aides were well-trained, personable, and dedicated. The administration (scheduling, billing) is easily accessible, accommodating, and responsive. I've had experience with a number of home care agencies. Select Care provides superior service, and I recommend them enthusiastically.

Description of Work
Home health care

Category home elder care

5.0

09/28/2014


Karen S.

I called SelectCare to inquire about their health care aids. They were extremely helpful, answering all my questions and concerns. They sent me informational materials which were also very helpful. I would use them if an opportunity arose again.

Description of Work
.

Category

Service Provider Response

Dear ,[removed member name] Thank you for taking time and evaluating SelectCare. We are here to assist you whenever you request care giver relief. Please do not hesitate to call us should you like to discuss available community resources that may be able to support a home care plan. Sincerely, Carla Holub, Vice President
5.0

08/06/2014


shauna D.

They made all the arrangements seem effortless and I had to do very little. They were early for her evaluation appointment and to begin her care. Substitutions were made by SelectCare to assure days-off were covered and there was never a moment during the 8 days my mother was alone. I never worried for a minute. The billing was easy. They prepared and sent all the forms directly to her long-term care provider. I will always use this service in the future and recommend it to my friends.

Description of Work
My 90 year old mother was visiting NYC and she gave her regular aide one week of vacation so we needed short-term substitute care. SelectCare was one of the few services willing to provide service for such a short period.

Category home elder care

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed], Thank you for the great review. I am glad that we were able to provide short term respite care for your private caregiver and she returned invigorated and ready to work after her vacation. SelectCare is here whenever you need short term temporary assistance or a long term solution. Please send our best regards to your parent. Sincerely, Carla Holub, Vice President
5.0

06/11/2014


Charlotte B.

I have had hip replacement on both hips (2005 and 2010). Recently I had a pacemaker inserted in my chest (Nov. 2013). I need the help getting up and down to walk with a cane. Long term care pays for this help. Thank God!

Description of Work
I am 84 years old and I have an aide 5 days a week for 6 hours a day. She helps me with meals, shopping, laundry, and light cleaning. She also assists me in the shower.

Category

5.0

04/07/2014


meredith J.

I called SelectCare and was immediately connected with owner Carla Holub. I had a specific service need that lies outside SelectCare's scope; nevertheless Carla generously gave me a good 20 minutes of her time to recommend me to two appropriate agencies and guide me in the difficult process of finding home health aides. She listened carefully and responded with warmth and well-considered answers to my questions. I was so grateful to her for her insights and referrals, which went way and quot;beyond the call of duty.and quot; I have dealt with a number of home health care providers and without a doubt Carla Holub is the most professional person with whom I've ever spoken. I'm not surprised by her high rating on Angie's List. While I do not currently need the type of care management services that SelectCare provides, I will not hesitate to contact this company, should my family's needs change.

Description of Work
I am seeking a caregiver for my elderly, homebound mother and aunt.

Category home elder care

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your comment regarding my response to your phone call. Ensuring frail and vulnerable New Yorkers are well taken care of is our business and if SelectCare is not the right agency, then I believe it is our responsibility to give assistance in finding appropriate resources. SelectCare maintains partnerships with many community organizations and we continually update our resource list with services that enhance and support adults in the safety and comfort of their home. Some of the ancillary services we have put into place in our clients' homes have been: visiting home doctors, in-home X-rays, and visiting-home dentists. Another part of our service is assisting the client in identifying additional payment sources such as long term care insurance. SelectCare has worked with many long term care policies and has established a tried and true process of verifying and accessing benefits for our clients. Do not hesitate to call us whenever we can be of assistance. Our phones are answered 24/7 including nights, weekends and holidays. Respectfully, Carla Holub, Vice President/Co-owner
5.0

03/09/2013


Evette R.

The attending companion, a caring and concerned individual, arrived on time daily. She did EVERYTHING for my husband and is/was a nurturing and friendly individual. My husband enjoyed her company. The Attendant kept a daily record, a log book, of my husband's condition and activities and on one occasion phoned the corporate office because she felt he appeared ill, the office in turn immediately contacted me. I was advised to purchase a blood pressure monitor so that the Home Attendant could monitor his blood pressure. My husband also received visits from corporate office staff. I am impressed, IMPRESSED with the professionalism, the detailed attention and the kind attending care we received in every single arena. As my husband's recovery progressed and home care was no longer needed with parted with this company as if moving away from friends.

Description of Work
Select Care contacted me after my search in Agies List for a home attendant as my husband was going to be released from the hospital the next day and he need an attending companion immediately for at least at least a couple of weeks. I spoke with the manager who briefly questioned me about the type of care my husband may require. The company sent a registered nurse, that very day, to meet with me and my husband who was about to be released. The nurse interviewed my husband with care and concern. At the end of the meeting we felt at ease and signed the agreement immediately.

Category home elder care

Service Provider Response

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time and writing an evaluation on Angie's list. I appreciate that you mentioned our immediate response to your phone call. At SelectCare we understand the stress and anxiety families go through when having to set up home care in a very limited time frame. Our job is to ensure that the transition from hospital to home is done in a smooth and thoughtful manner and our goal is to ensure each client and family has a positive and satisfying home care experience so they can concentrate on recuperating. I am glad that your husband is doing well and wish you both good health always. Sincerely, Carla Holub, VP
5.0

02/06/2013


Ellen B.

It went very good. No problem.

Description of Work
I used Select Care in home care services.

Category home elder care

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you for your review on Angie's List. SelectCare makes every effort to ensure our clients are satisfied with our home care staff, our supervising nurses and those who are involved from service coordination to invoice processing. I am always available should you have questions or concerns regarding any of the above issues. I wish you good health in the future but we are always available whenever you need assistance whether it is for a short term recovery or a longer period of recuperation. Sincerely, Carla Holub, VP
5.0

11/07/2012


Robert C.

The aids were extremely caring, efficient, knowledgeable, energetic, and on tim. Where they would update each other on clients condition.

Description of Work
The health care aides provided all the help for a patient with advanced park disease. Thinks that she couldn't do for herself.

Category home elder care

Service Provider Response

Dear Family Member, Thank you for your comments regarding the live in home care staff that provided care to your loved one. Clear communication between the caregivers, client, family, and SelectCare supervisors is one of the best ways we can provide apropriate and compassionate assistance. Each of our clients recieve a free monthly nursing supervisory visit making sure that the client is satisfied with the service and that the aides are doing their jobs. SelectCare nurses evaluate the aides' skills while they are in the home and provide one-on-one training when new equipment arrives or the status of the client changes. Good patient care requires the whole team, physicians, nursing supervisors and direct caregivers, to communicate changes, concerns and updated information with each other. Everyone works together to provide the individualized care each patient requires to remain comfortable and safe in their own homes. Regarding communication: SelectCare provides emergency preparedness information & training to our field staff and clients on an ongoing basis. SelectCare administrators and supervisors test our emergency systems several times a year and always includes practicing our emergency communication plans. When Hurricane Sandy hit New York we were in constant communication with field staff, clients and their families. Everyone was prepared to shelter in or evacuate as necessary. Nursing Supervisors and Service Coordinators communicated with each client daily to ensure they were safe and their care was uninterrupted until relief could get to them. As Vice President and co-owner of SelectCare, I am very proud of each of our caregivers and supervisors who worked very hard and for many days in maintaining a calm and professional presence for their clients. To learn more about our emergency preparedness and disaster plans, please visit our website and click on our news page. Carla Lynn Holub, VP SelectCare
4.0

05/16/2012


Veronica N.

They were generally pretty good people. Their availability, friendliness, and communication was good. Their punctuality was great. I would use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I used them for in-home health aid care.

Category home elder care

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you for your review which brought Angie's List to the forefront of our quest to reach out to New Yorkers who are searching for a good home care service. I appreciate the time you took to review our service and hope that we may be of assistance to you in the future. Carla Holub,Vice President

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Home Healthcare - In-home Services
    Home Healthcare - Hospice
    Home Healthcare - Medical Equipment & Services
    Rehabilitation - Physical Therapy
    Home Healthcare - Independent Living
    Longterm Care - Assisted Living
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes

    Services Offered

    SelectCare Home Care Services of NYC offers Home Health Aides, (HHA) Registered Nurses (RN) and Licensed Practical Nurses (LPN) to provide client centered care in the home. Our services range from 2-hour HHA visits to around-the-clock nursing care. All clients receive free monthly health and safety visits from our nursing supervisors under the guidance of our Director of Nursing.

    Services Not Offered

    SelectCare does not accept Medicare or Medicaid payment. SelectCare DOES accept Long Term Care Insurance and will be happy to call the LTC company and verify benefits.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SelectCare Home Care Services NYC

    How is SelectCare Home Care Services NYC overall rated?

    SelectCare Home Care Services NYC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are SelectCare Home Care Services NYC open?

    SelectCare Home Care Services NYC is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does SelectCare Home Care Services NYC provide

    SelectCare Home Care Services NYC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does SelectCare Home Care Services NYC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, SelectCare Home Care Services NYC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does SelectCare Home Care Services NYC offer a senior discount?

    No, SelectCare Home Care Services NYC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does SelectCare Home Care Services NYC offer emergency services?

    Yes, SelectCare Home Care Services NYC offers emergency services.

    What services does SelectCare Home Care Services NYC offer?

    SelectCare Home Care Services NYC offers the following services: SelectCare Home Care Services of NYC offers Home Health Aides, (HHA) Registered Nurses (RN) and Licensed Practical Nurses (LPN) to provide client centered care in the home. Our services range from 2-hour HHA visits to around-the-clock nursing care. All clients receive free monthly health and safety visits from our nursing supervisors under the guidance of our Director of Nursing.

    Are there any services SelectCare Home Care Services NYC does not offer?

    SelectCare does not accept Medicare or Medicaid payment. SelectCare DOES accept Long Term Care Insurance and will be happy to call the LTC company and verify benefits.