Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Superior Wirework

Founded 2008 • With Angi since September 2009

4.8

(466) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

179 Rte 46 W Ste 9

Rockaway, NJ 07866

Description

We are a dedicated electrical contracting company who is committed to our customers. We interact with our clients in a professional manner. You can expect us to always show up as scheduled, to provide accurate estimates, and point out potential problems while offering affordable solutions. Old fashioned service with a modern twist is how we do business. We accomplish this by being customer service oriented while meeting the electrical wants and needs of our clients. In short, we are more interested in getting the job done right vs. just getting it done. We consider ourselves no nonsense, certified electricians staying on top of the ever changing electrical industry. Not only do we provide high quality electrical services but we provide them in a personalized and professional manner. We will help you plan your next project, walk you through each phase, and answer any questions that you may have. Our success is not measured in dollars it’s measured by the satisfaction of our customers....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/13/2022


Eric I.

They are GREAT. They return calls quickly, can get to your house quickly and provide friendly and competent service. My favorite thing about them is that they respond quickly even to relatively small jobs. I have nothing but good things to say about them. As an owner of an older home (70+ years). There are a lot of things I worry about. Electrical problems are not one of them.

Description of Work
Several small to medium sized jobs. New outlets, fixtures and external cable attached to power lines.

Category electrician

5.0

08/10/2018


Rob B.

Everything went great as always. The guys were professional, neat and courteous just like the last three times I used their services. Installing the camera's was a tad more involved than most jobs - you have to make sure the camera's are turned to the exact angle for the proper view. They were very patient in going back and forth until we got the perfect camera angle. In addition, they answered any questions along the way. Unlike other companies, Dan responds right away for quotes via email, the phone and Angie's List. Furthermore, he sends over someone who is very knowledgeable and can answer any questions about the work that is looking to be done. You will not regret hiring Superior Wirework - They do things the right away (unlike some electricians who take short cuts). I feel very safe knowing they did the work!

Description of Work
install two nest cameras, whole house surge protection

Category electrician

5.0

09/26/2017


Javier V.

My husband and I are extremely satisfied with the service provided by Superior Wireworks. They arrived on time and had everything done by the end of day. Thank you Superior Wireworks! We will be calling again to have them run electrical to our pool once installed.

Description of Work
Upgraded electrical

Category electrician

1.0

03/28/2017


Jonathan N.

It went extremely poorly. They started the job off by cutting 3-5 completely unnecessary holes in our walls. Then they informed us that the job would take a least an extra day, which was a second day in a row I had to take off of work. After butchering our walls, they didn't even have the courtesy to spakle. We then had Verizon come to the house to wire us up, and the technician told us that our electrician had done the work incorrectly. We also found out that one of the electrical sockets they installed in the basement didn't have enough juice to power the Verizon box. So, back on the phone to call Superior Wirework to have them come back and actually complete the job. They agreed to come back at no cost to install the correct equipment to ensure we could get Verizon service. They said that they didn't realize Verizon had changed the way they did things. The electrician who came to make the corrections then tried to charge us for the work, which we refused to do. We called the main office again, to go over the fact that they agreed to fix the issue at no cost, and he yelled at us and hung up. Well finally the TV and internet work. That's the end, right? No. The HDMI cables they snaked through the wall don't actually work, so I now have to go out and buy new ones and snake them myself, because they refuse to come back to do the work.

Description of Work
Installation of coax, phone line, and Cat-6 cables from the Verizon box to our living room, bedroom, and office.

Category electrician, phone wiring

5.0

03/15/2017


Tara S.

Dan did an excellent job troubleshooting and repairing a tripping water heater breaker. fixing the water heater.

Description of Work
Our relatively new water heater stopped working. Our most plumber came to look at it and said we should call an electrician because everything looked ok from the plumbing side. I called and talked with Dan Stroup who talked me through a few issues and had me photograph the electric panel and then came right out to look at the problem.

Category electrician

5.0

12/12/2016


D B B.

I just want to commend your technician for the very thorough and professional work he did yesterday. He arrived when scheduled, was friendly and courteous, and made sure that he hit all of the points needed to maintain the generator correctly and then some. He is a very good reflection on you and your company.

Description of Work
A couple of years ago Dan Stroup of Superior Wirework installed a whole house generator and updated my service. I thought that I had written a glowing report at the time, but I cannot find it on the site. When the service tech came this year to perform the yearly service, I sent Dan a note complimenting his work which I have inserted below.

Category electrician, generator service

5.0

11/22/2016


Tara B.

Very informative. Very pleasant, friendly and respectful of my home.

Description of Work
purchased offer: $79 for a Whole-House Electrical Inspection

Category electrician

5.0

09/13/2016


Cheryl T.

Very well. A young man named Rey came to my house and did an excellent job in one hour. He fixed the fuses in my kitchen and also figured out what needs to be done to fix the wire on the roof.

Description of Work
Electric fuses in my kitchen were not working. I also asked him to check a wire on my roof. The wire is used to melt snow and it has not worked for several winters.

Category electrician, lighting

3.0

09/12/2016


Mela S.

After reading reviews and carefully going through Angie's list I chose this company. I contacted the company for a free estimate and got a person named John sent to my home. I asked him for a quote on things I need done, he created multiple contracts for each thing I asked him to do. I went over the contracts and sent an email to Dan (the owner) of what I wanted to accomplish. Somehow the contracts got mixed up causing a huge mess and a lot of miscommunication. I was quoted a two day job by Dan and John, it turned into a 5 day job. Due to the person giving the quote and the person completing the job being two different people, miscommunication ensued. Nick and his team arrived at my home and performed the service upgrade the first day and began the rest of the job over the next two days. Nick misread the contract several times and didn't perform jobs until it was brought to his attention or tried to double charge us for the same job. I was told by John and Dan that I would need to make a deposit at the beginning of the job and the rest when the job is completed, which is the companies policy and stated on the bottom of every contract. Nick argued with me telling me I'm supposed to pay a third and a third and third while the project was on going. He became angry when it was clear we were not going to pay him until the job is done. I contacted Dan and even he was confused as to what was being worked on, their excuse was everyone was on vacation and they didn't have the resources to better the experience. Two whole weeks later, Nick returned with a different team member, to finish the rest of the job. Nick arrived late multiple times blaming it on traffic. Dan is not as responsive as he should be to phone calls or emails. John did not set anyone up for success with the quotes. The quality of the work from what I can tell is great but the frustration I had to endure was not.

Description of Work
Upgrade service panel to 200 amps, install, troubleshoot and service all outlets in home, install and repair lights

Category electrician

5.0

07/13/2016


Lindsay R.

Dan was very responsive from the very beginning and prompt with an estimate, which my veteran retired electrician father in law verified was fair. We requested an estimate for additional lights on a Sunday and got a response within hours. 3 days later the team came and was punctual, professional, knowledgable and efficient. Very clean as well. Would definitely hire again.

Description of Work
The team removed old 1960s ceiling lighting from our basement and installed 6 new recessed LED lights.

Category electrician

5.0

07/06/2016


Greg C.

This was the second time I've hired Superior Wirework for upgrades to this house. The electrician who came over to do the work was courteous and professional, and took the time to answer questions and explain what he was going to do. Although it doesn't change anything, it's definitely appreciated to understand the plan when someone is going to be opening multiple holes in the drywall to route wiring. He was careful to lay down tarps and covers over the electronics then cleaned up when the job was done. I communicated with the business owner (Dan) by email and the turnaround time on all communications were fairly quick.

Description of Work
Ran new wiring for a new ceiling fan (where there was no existing fixture), added a new outlet in AV closet, re-ran wiring for new bathroom vanity fixture, put front lights on timers.

Category electrician, ceiling fans

5.0

06/06/2016


Judith R.

Many companies do not want to do small job. But Superior Wirework, came down and gave an estimate, scheduled and completed the work when they said they would. They were very professional and I would use them again for jobs big and small.

Description of Work
A variety of small repairs and installation of light fixture both indoors and out.

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

05/19/2016


Afia N.

The work was spread over four days and they did a great and thorough job with installing new lights for all rooms: living, three bedrooms and kitchen. They also installed motion detector lights outside the house. They started and finished on-time and cleaned up well after work each day. Dan worked with us to keep things under budget. He was always prompt and considerate in the back-and-forth over numbers. They are slightly more pricey than the handymen who offer electrical services but the quality of their work is excellent. You can rely on them to be honest and to not take shortcuts like others and best of all they don't skimp on the quality of materials being used. This is our second experience having them work in our new home and we will gladly hire them again.

Description of Work
We needed new recessed lights put in all rooms of the house, exterior lights and address some electrical wiring issues.

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

5.0

05/06/2016


Kevin H.

The crew was knowledgeable and friendly. The town inspector found minor issues that were quickly fixed by Superior Wirework. I plan to use them again soon for more work.

Description of Work
Replaced main circuit breaker panel and installed a switched outlet, a microwave outlet, and replaced the GFI outlet outside

Category electrician

5.0

04/24/2016


Kevin F.

I had an outlet in my dining room catch fire after plugging in an appliance. The Electrician checked all outlets in the area and quickly located an electrical short behind a different outlet in my kitchen that caused the problem with the circuit.

Description of Work
Diagnosed an electrical problem in my kitchen.

Category electrician

5.0

04/21/2016


Gary V.

I could not say enough about Dan and his crew. From accommodating my unforeseeable change in my work schedule at the last minute to the crew he sent me to complete the job. His crew was professional,courteous and went above and beyond to ensure customer satisfaction. I would NOT hesitate to use them again. WHAT A GREAT EXPERIENCE, but more importantly a JOB WELL DONE.

Description of Work
I hired dans crew to install a grand chandelier and electric hoist that I purchased ,approx 30 ft high in my foyer.

Category electrician, lighting

3.0

04/17/2016


Amit K.

Work was completed by the technician, and all appeared good and clean. But, later we realized that one of the ceiling fans was not installed in the middle of the room - it is towards one side. Additionally, the room has a higher ceiling (12 ft.) and the fan is very close to the ceiling - being more than 11 ft. from floor. We requested Dan Stroup to move the ceiling fan to the middle of the room and add a drop down rod to bring it lower. Dan does not agree that this is something that needs to be fixed. He is counter arguing in a very rude tone that the placement of the fan is correct. He is willing to move the fan only with extra charge for the additional work. Overall we feel very disappointed with his attitude and handling of this work.

Description of Work
Install two ceiling fans with required wiring and switches.

Category electrician, ceiling fans

5.0

03/27/2016


Dylan E.

Superior did an AWESOME job! the guy was who came to our house today. (I cannot recall his name, Columbian) He did great work, was curious, cleaned up and very personable. I couldn't be more pleased with the job and options he gave me today!!

Description of Work
Brought new wiring to our bathroom and installed lights, exhaust fan and shower light

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your patronage with Superior Wirework. As with every customer we strive for satisfaction and are very pleased with the outcome of your service. From Attic Fans to Generators and everywhere in between we do it all, so please keep us in mind for anything that should arise in the future. Have a great rest of the week and thank you again for taking the time to review us honestly, it is truly our life's blood to have Our Clients speak so highly of us! Thank You for calling Superior Wirework for all of your Electrical Contractors needs.
5.0

03/08/2016


Mark W D.

All the work they completed was excellent. Everyone we had contact with listened to our requests and did exactly what we asked for. We had a "last minute" request for an outlet to be installed outside and they completed it on the same day. Great customer service ? would highly recommend Superior Wirework and would use them again.

Description of Work
Superior Wirework installed the outlets and light fixtures throughout the entire basement to improve safety and bring our home up to code.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your patronage and for choosing Superior Wirework for your electrical service needs. We strive to meet or exceed your expectations in all that we do and are pleased with the outcome of your service. It means everything to us that you have taken the time to review us on Angie's list and it is because of customers like you that we have received the Super Service Award for what is now 6 years straight. We wanted to take the time to reach out to our faithful customers and personally thank them for making this possible. From outlets to generators and everything in between, no Job is too big or small so please do not hesitate to give us a call or email in the future should the need arise. Have a wonderful week and thank you for making Superior Wirework superior in all of our endeavors.
5.0

02/29/2016


Alessandro N.

Went well and very informative.

Description of Work
Whole house electrical inspection

Category electrician, car inspections

5.0

01/21/2016


Brad S.

I could not be happier with the work completed by Superior Wireworks!! I had them at my residence on several occasions the last couple of months and all work was handled in a very professional manner. Junior and Jonathon were a pleasure to work with, always were courteous, respectful and knowledgeable of their profession. Dan was always prompt in answering emails and phone calls.

Description of Work
Installed recessed lighting throughout home, bathroom light, outdoor light and mounted television.

Category electrician, lighting, home theater design

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your patronage and choosing Superior Wirework to complete your electrical service needs again. We strive for excellence in all that we do and we are pleased with the outcome of your service and experience. A mark of excellence for us is another satisfied customer! Should the need arise in the future please do not hesitate to give us a call and we will assist you with any way that we can. From generators to attic fans and everywhere in between we do it all! And as with your service no job is too big or small. We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review and for grading it honestly. It is the only barometer that our customers on Angie's List have in order to pick an electrical contractor with confidence. Superior Wirework and Dan more specifically, really enjoy working with clients like you, who believe in this system and do their best to keep it going and above board. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to speaking with you in the future! We hope your holidays were full of joy and your new year be a happy healthy and prosperous one! Thank you once again for your continued loyalty, have a wonderful rest of the week!
5.0

01/07/2016


Judith G.

I hired Superior Wirework because of the glowing reviews on Angie's List. This was a gem of a find. I wanted new lights installed on the outside of the house, timers and motion detectors. I received an immediate response to my inquiry and set up a date for them to come to the house. The first step was to obtain a written proposal. A fantastic approach. John showed up on time and was very nice, knowledgeable and helpful. Before the work was scheduled I received a very professional written proposal and knew exactly how much it would cost. Once I agreed to the terms I was quickly contacted and a date for the install was set. As promised, I received a call just prior to the electrician's arrival. A different John did the install. He too was so pleasant and did a great job. And, might I add cleaned up, wore booties in the house and took away the old fixtures. I was very impressed with the service, honesty and professionalism of this company and will definitely call upon them again for future work. Thank you for a job well done. We love our lights!!!

Description of Work
Lighting Install

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your patronage and thank you for the opportunity to service your electrical needs. As you have now seen, Superior Wirework strives for customer satisfaction in all that we do. We are pleased with the way your service was completed and are glad at the fact you are happy! Thank you for taking the time to complete your review and for grading it honestly. We are not satisfied unless we have met or exceeded every expectation, which is really what keeps us going! We hope that should the need arise you keep us in mind for any and all of your electrical needs in the future! Thank you for choosing Superior Wirework, and enjoy the rest of your week! We look forward to speaking with you in the future!
5.0

01/04/2016


KELLY M.

The team performing the work was punctual and called in advance of showing up. They were mindful of keeping the house clean throughout the duration of the work (drop cloths, etc.). While the work was being conducted, they informed me of how things were going, what they were doing, and asked questions when opinion was required (do you want the outlet here or here). John, the estimator was also very detailed in preparing the estimate and asking questions to ensure they were going to provide the service I was looking for. I would highly recommend to someone looking for a professional electrician at a competitive rate.

Description of Work
Install dedicated circuit for fridge. Install 2 dedicated circuits to outside for outdoor outlets. Fix electric wiring in attack via new junction box to address short that occurred. Installed new ceiling control fans in 3 rooms.

Category electrician, ceiling fans

5.0

12/03/2015


Julian H.

The crew performed a great job, the panel install looks good, clearly labeled and they left the place better than they found it. They clean up well after the job is done. A few new connections were requested and completed as promised.

Description of Work
Install and relocate a new 200Amp service panel, and performed additional new cable runs to unfinished room, new dishwasher and microwave circuit.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your patronage and thank you for the opportunity to service your electrical needs. As you have now seen, Superior Wirework strives for customer satisfaction in all that we do. We are pleased with the way your upgraded service was completed and are glad with the fact you are happy! Thank you for taking the time to complete your review and for grading it honestly. We are not satisfied unless we have met or exceeded every expectation, which is really what keeps us striving for perfection! We hope that should the need arise in the future, that you keep us in mind for any and all of your electrical issues! Thank you for choosing Superior Wirework and have a wonderful holiday season as well as a healthy and happy new year! We look forward to speaking with you soon!
1.0

12/02/2015


diego M.

After 3 days of exchanging emails and gathering picture. He gave me an estimate over $975 without looking at the work. On every email he stated that he was going to send a person to estimate the work, no one ever showed up . I saw great things about this company but sincerely I would not recommend this person to anyone

Description of Work
Nothing, gave me the run around for 3 days over a quote

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for calling Superior Wirework for an estimate to hang your chandelier. We do our best to price everything upfront so you know exactly what you are getting into before we have a crew out there. We don’t like surprises and we prefer that our customers are as informed as they can be ahead of time. That is why we usually send an estimator out to the location and visually inspect the job. We were able to acquire enough information through interaction and corresponding with you, that having the estimator come out was no longer necessary. As was explained to you in detail, it is not possible to have an across the board price to hang a chandelier. In most cases, there are questions as to which specialty tools are required to install fixtures in a foyer. It may require a ladder or multiple tiers of scaffolding, or a light lift depending on accessibility and all of these things add to the cost of installing the fixture. We did the best that we could, based entirely off the link that you sent me of the fixture and scope of work, to give you fair and accurate price. Superior Wirework did exactly what was possible to try to accommodate you in every interaction and is satisfied that we have done everything possible to resolve your concerns.

    Other local Pros in your area

    THERMAL DESIGN ENGINEERING INC

    Family Business. We have been in business for over twenty five years. We specialize in Hot Air Heating and Air Conditioning systems. We work with local builders and architects on home remodels and renovations. Feel free to call Steve directly on his cell 908-922-7966.  

    Dorhos Paints

    Family owned Interior/Exterior painting business. In business for 20 years. We treat your home as if it was our own. We pay attention to detail and will work around your schedule. Owner-Operated and will supervise all work to your full satisfaction.  

    INNOVATIONS Painting Contracting

    Innovations Painting Contracting started in 2017. We are not new to what we do though! We have been very fortunate with opportunities in the past that allowed us to branch out on our own. We bring our expertise and best practices to your home and provide you with service that will exceed your expectations. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. Having our own company has allowed us to take everything we have learned form our prior experience and able to make it our own, there is no one like Innovations Painting Contracting for your painting needs! We are the absolute best!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by INNOVATIONS Painting Contracting on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Electrician maintenance. Remodeling. Renovation. New construction. Wiring. Landscape lighting. Cable tv wiring. Ethernet lines. Surround sound. Panel upgrades. Lighting design. Building maintenance. Rewiring. Electrical inspections.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Superior Wirework

    How is Superior Wirework overall rated?

    Superior Wirework is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Superior Wirework open?

    Superior Wirework is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Superior Wirework provide

    Superior Wirework accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does Superior Wirework offer free estimates?

    No, Superior Wirework does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Superior Wirework offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Superior Wirework offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Superior Wirework offer a senior discount?

    No, Superior Wirework does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Superior Wirework offer emergency services?

    Yes, Superior Wirework offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Superior Wirework?

    Yes, Superior Wirework offers warranties.

    What services does Superior Wirework offer?

    Superior Wirework offers the following services: Electrician maintenance. Remodeling. Renovation. New construction. Wiring. Landscape lighting. Cable tv wiring. Ethernet lines. Surround sound. Panel upgrades. Lighting design. Building maintenance. Rewiring. Electrical inspections.