Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Modern Pet Salon

With Angi since October 2012

4.8

(52) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

13643 Providence Rd

Matthews, NC 28104

Description

Where your pet is our family member too! We are striving to build relationships within our community. Modern Pet Salon wants to give you and your pet the ultimate grooming experience. With the best grooming artistry and customer service that you and your pet deserve. Dogs, Puppies, Cats and kittens welcomed. The owner has over 18 years experience. Located in South Charlotte in the Weddington Corner Shopping Center. We are the Premier Pet Grooming Salon in Ballantyne, Weddingtion and South Charlotte area. You will be impressed!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/21/2021


Mandy K.

When I arrived, the girl at the front desk emptied my bag that I brought with me and wrote down everything that was inside of it, counted my food bags, wrote descriptions for the toys and his blanket, etc. Went to pick him up and came home with THREE bags of food full that were not eaten. THREE. My dog missed THREE meals while he was in their care. THREE. So I obviously call to discuss this and other things. Can’t even get through to them when you call/Gets busy signal for minutes on end Finally LAURA (Manager) gets on the phone. Says that they sometimes cut cheese in with the dogs food when they don’t eat -----so I said you aren’t concerned if the dog might have allergies or aversion to dairy? Nor call the owner to ask if that is ok? Or call the owner to talk to them about how their dog isn’t eating and may be missing a meal? ? I said my dog is allergic to dairy. Said oh….well sometimes they’re picky eaters and they just won’t eat. I said oh ok, so you dumped the food in the Ziploc bag into a bowl for him………..he didn’t eat………….and then you poured it right back in that same bag like good as new? And that happened for all THREE different missed meals? I came there to pick him up and nobody told me anything about any issues of his eating at all? Come on now you can do better than that I said. No toys were given to my dog the whole time he was gone. One was never even taken out of its Ziploc bag and was exactly as I had given it. The other was also not given to him as it had not one piece of hair on it and my dog sheds a LOT and there would have been a bunch of hairs or at least more than one if he had been given his favorite toys as instructed. Laura said oh they clean the toys. No…………that toy was not cleaned……or well it absolutely was but BY ME before dropping him off. Asked for the go home bath --but did not cut his nails as requested. Another fail. The best part is that I’m having this whole conversation with the Manager of Modern Pet Salon, LAURA, and she finally says what’s your dogs name? And I said you’ve been talking to me this long and telling me all these reasons and excuses and theories and you didn’t know what my DOGS NAME IS and who we were even talking about? You’re just speculating a dog? And giving answers you think I’m just going to believe and accept? To which she says……well I mean we had one dog that wasn’t eating so I thought it was them. I said you’re kidding me right now. Then she goes to the computer and looks my account up and says oh yeah………..hmmmm………….I’m not seeing anything noted here about any problems with eating. I said oh….shocker. I said you guys run a joke of a business here……….I want a refund as this was a horrible experience for my pet and if I wanted to take him to a place that treated him without meals and toys------It sure as heck wouldn’t have cost this much and probably would not have the humane society being a fan. What a waste-----LAURA, Manager, told me that I would hear back from her or the owner, DANIELLE, today, Monday, 07.21 and it is now Monday evening and I have heard from neither of them so that should tell you how much they value their customers and business. I am waiting to hear back from you Laura and Danielle @ Modern Pet Salon Ballantyne.

Description of Work
Dog Boarding and Bath with Nail Clipping

Category pet sitters

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] We spoke and assured you your pet ate daily. Often times they graze throughout the day the first few days until they get use to the new accomadations. Vets will verify this as well. All his toys and blanket was with him to keep him comfortable. He was bathed at your request. He did great and was very sweet while in our care :)
5.0

03/17/2019


Christi S.

I have taken him there for over 2 years. They are professional and courteous. Sarah will call to make sure I am okay if I can’t get her when schedule his appointment.

Description of Work
Shihtzu was groomed.

Category pet grooming

5.0

10/05/2017


Lori F.

Bree is so gentle with my baby Rosie. She saw Rosie's eye was read and contacted me right away. I can't believe how amazing she is with my baby. 100% recommend Bree at Modern Pet Salon

Description of Work
My 3 lb Yorkie got a bath/blow dry/nails clipped/hair cut

Category pet grooming

5.0

09/09/2017


Christi S.

They are the best, always friendly, and try to get him done as soon as possible.

Description of Work
Dog grooming

Category pet grooming

5.0

09/06/2017


Melissa A.

Fantastic! They always do a wonderful job! We've been coming here for several years and I can't imagine going anywhere else. Danyelle, the owner, does our grooming and she is top notch!

Description of Work
Had full grooming for one dog and deluxe bath for the other.

Category pet grooming

5.0

09/01/2017


Allison C.

We love Modern Pet Salon! Our dogs look awesome!

Description of Work
Dog grooming

Category pet grooming

5.0

08/21/2017


Chris H.

From the time you walk in, to the time you leave, best service to date. VERY clean and VERY professional place to take your pets. They take their time to make sure you have the best experience possible. You are asked exactly what you would like down to if your pet has any previous medical concerns etc. I pass multiple grooming salons and drive an extra 30 mins just to get the BEST. You're greeted with a smile and you will leave with a bigger one, once you see how your pet looks! You cannot pick a better place to take care of your fur babies!! BRAVO, MODERN PET SALON

Description of Work
Full grooming

Category pet grooming

5.0

06/12/2017


Kelly C.

I would recommend them to friends and family.

Description of Work
They did grooming and nail cutting for 2 pets.

Category pet grooming

5.0

03/30/2017


Kathryn F.

This is a wonderful grooming business. I have been taking my Shih Tzu there for about 18 months, and Becca does a beautiful job. The cut is even and blended perfectly, having a very airy appearance. Absolutely no choppy areas. At check-in, great care is taken in understanding what I want done - tail length, ear length, overall cut. My dog is pretty comfortable, and likes Becca. Appointments can be made/confirmed on line. These are real appointments. 9am drop-off and usually a 1pm pickup. I very highly recommend.

Description of Work
Shih Tzu Grooming

Category pet grooming

5.0

01/16/2017


VICKI D.

Excellent job. This is my regular groomer. Very professional and caring. Also very busy! Make an appointment in advance.

Description of Work
Bathe and brush golden retriever (very long hair.)

Category pet grooming

5.0

12/19/2016


Victoria C.

They have a groomer at the salon they recommended who deals with all of the German Shepherds at this salon, is very comfortable around them, and is great with my nervous dog! She has a problem with itchy paws, and they have a special anti-bacterial and anti-fungal wash that relives itchy skin - perfect for my dog! When I called the first time to ask about their services and tell them about my dog, they were very knowledgeable and helpful. The first time I took her to the groomers I only had them de-shed and wash her. They were very sensitive to the fact that if she was too nervous during the process, she would have breaks in-between the wash/dry/cut. If dogs are anxious towards the dryer, they will let them air dry with fans. The second time she had a full groom and she looks FANTASTIC!! Also, it was a great price for a full groom, haircut, wash, teeth cleaned, etc (and she is 50 lbs). I would recommend anyone with a nervous dog to ask when they can have an appointment that isn't a busy arrival time because the waiting area in the front is fairly small and all the dogs coming in for their appointments can add stress.

Description of Work
I've been to the Modern Pet Salon two times now. I recently moved to the area and needed a place I could take my anxious German Shepherd.

Category pet grooming

5.0

09/27/2016


Jaime E.

My pet is high maintenance because he has very long hair so he's kind of actually expensive. I would tell a friend that I feel comfortable dropping my pet off there knowing that they take extra care of him. They all know his name and know him very well. Actually one of the providers requests that when he comes in, she gets to see him.

Description of Work
They groomed my pet.

Category pet grooming

4.0

09/26/2016


Lynn G.

Very positive experience from the initial contact to the finished results.

Description of Work
Dog Grooming

Category pet grooming

5.0

04/19/2016


Allyson B.

They did an excellent job! His haircut was just the way I wanted it.

Description of Work
Groomed my little dog

Category pet grooming

5.0

07/06/2015


Brian Z.

Have been taking my dog there for a few years. They couldn't be more pleasant to deal with. Clearly everyone loves what they do. My dog always looks so good after going to Modern Pet Salon.

Description of Work
Bath, nails, teeth, haircut for my labradoodle.

Category pet grooming

5.0

06/04/2015


Joseph S.

They clearly love what they do at Modern Pet Salon! They are always friendly and happy people too :) My puppy loves going their and it shows that hey love her too. She is never their for too long when I drop her off. They always call me to come pick her up within 2-3 hrs which is not bad considering I like mid day appointments. I'm always pleased at the way she looks when I pick her up! They clearly are formally trained and it shows. I would highly recommend this place!

Description of Work
full service Bath, cut and blow-dry , nails trimmed and filed

Category pet grooming

5.0

02/11/2015


Louisa G.

They do excellent work. They were reasonable and very friendly. They are very good with dogs that aren't good like mine.

Description of Work
I've used Modern Pet Salon.

Category pet grooming

5.0

10/15/2014


Thayer R.

Both dogs look fantastic and properly "doodly!" I made the appointments using their online scheduler on Monday evening for 8am on Wednesday and got a confirmation email within 30 minutes. I dropped the dogs off this morning and while the older dog was perfectly fine leaving me to walk to their grooming area, the puppy wasn't so sure...and promptly peed on their floor. It was wiped up immediately and mid-conversation (this is a VERY clean shop!) and the groomers calmly convinced both dogs to come back with them. Not a whine was heard; although the puppy apparently barked for a while after I left. They called me around 12:30 to say both dogs were dry (it takes forever for doodles to dry!) and were ready for pick up. The groomers gave me a full run down on our dogs' experience and fawned all over both dogs. They even had to give the puppy 5 baths (it was his first grooming; we got him from the breeder on Monday) to get rid of his breeder/kennel funk! Both dogs were happy and looked wonderful. We will definitely be going back to Modern Pet Salon!

Description of Work
We got both our Springerdoodle (2.5 yrs) and our Labradoodle (5 months) groomed at Modern Pet Salon today.

Category pet grooming

5.0

09/10/2014


Sharon M.

They act like my dog is their dog. We have another appointment this weekend.

Description of Work
I used Modern Pet Salon for grooming and a bathfor my little King Charles Cavalier.

Category pet grooming

5.0

06/10/2014


Veronica G.

Great!!! Very friendly and excellent customer service. My dog looked beautiful!!

Description of Work
Bathed and groomed my poodle.

Category pet grooming

5.0

06/04/2014


Grace M.

Since this was our first visit I was prepared for my dog to look a bit different than usual when I picked him up. I was wrong about that. When I picked up my dog his haircut was nearly identical to the one his previous groomer used to give him. I was impressed. Even taking into consideration that I had provided grooming notes from the previous groomer, Modern Pet Salon did an excellent job.

Description of Work
Groom my bichon frise. Service includes bath, haircut, nail trimming and ear care.

Category pet grooming

5.0

05/13/2014


Daniel B.

Everyone there was so nice and you could tell they all love what they do! Amanda did an amazing job on our Scottish Terrier. Daisy just turned a year old and while the other groomer did a good job on the puppy cut, they could not grasp the Scottie cut. The day I called to book the appointment I felt very confident as the person that answered the phone knew exactly what type of cut we were looking for. Now nobody asked what type of dog we have because you can from the cut she is a Scottie! Very pleased and will go back again and again.

Description of Work
Groomed our Scottish Terrier, Daisy.

Category pet grooming

2.0

01/17/2014


Pattie B.

They groomed my cat. Wanted to shave him because of mats. Told them that was not possible since he was an outside cat. They shaved his belly and bathed and somewhat brushed him. Brushed out most of mats, but some were still left on his back. Of course, I was told one price and then when I went to pick him up it was more.

Description of Work
.

Category pet grooming

Service Provider Response

We at Modern Pet Salon pride ourselves on Customer Service and GENTLE pet grooming. Toby, the cat, was matted to the skin almost entirely all over his body, as customer stated in remards. The Customer wanted us to brush him out regardless. We explained how painful this would be for a cat and recommended shaving. Disregarding our profession opinion, she demanded we brush out what we could and leave the rest so he would not be cold outside. Even though leaving mats in any kind of coat is unorthodox and extremely uncomfortable, we did EXACTLY what the customer asked us to do and kept Toby as comfortable as possible throughout the grooming process. Our number one goal is always comfort and in the case of Toby it would have been best for him to to have been shaved completely free of mats. Price was $65 and is correctly priced for the condition of the animal.
5.0

11/18/2013


C. J.

I have searched so long for a dog salon that I could trust to take care of my Great Pyrenees, and one that would give her a professional cut and treat her well. I was not dissappointed! The owner is so very happy and professional, and a pleasure to deal with. The young lady that bathed/groomed my very large dog did a FANTASTIC job. I took a picture into the salon of what I wanted my Pyr to look like, and all of my expectations were completely exceeded. When I went to pick her up, my mouth hit the floor... she was absolutely STUNNING. Both my husband and I said that in all of the years that we've have had our dog, she has never looked so incredibly perfect and beautiful. All I can say is !WOW! The cost was well worth it, and considerably less expensive than other salons that charge higher prices for this size dog. I tipped an extra $20.00 to the young lady who perfomed the services. It was so worth it, and so much more. Thank you to the staff at Modern Pet Salon, we are so very grateful for the talent that you have and a sincere thank you for taking such great care of our girl!

Description of Work
Professional bathe/groom of my very large dog.

Category pet grooming

5.0

09/21/2013


Dana C.

The service was awesome and the dogs smelled fresh and clean for a couple weeks! They were so understanding and gracious when I was running an hour late to pick them up. All of the dogs arrived home happy and clean :) The price was great too for 3 dogs!

Description of Work
Modern Pet Salon gave our dogs a full grooming and bath. They even brushed their teeth and made sure to keep them happy when I was running late picking them up.

Category pet grooming

    Animal Grooming
    Animal & House Sitting
    Animal Rescues/Shelters
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Call for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Pet Salon & Animal grooming(Dogs, Puppies and Cats).

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Modern Pet Salon

    How is Modern Pet Salon overall rated?

    Modern Pet Salon is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Modern Pet Salon open?

    Modern Pet Salon is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Modern Pet Salon provide

    Modern Pet Salon accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Modern Pet Salon offer free estimates?

    No, Modern Pet Salon does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Modern Pet Salon offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Modern Pet Salon does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Modern Pet Salon offer a senior discount?

    No, Modern Pet Salon does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Modern Pet Salon?

    Yes, Modern Pet Salon offers warranties.

    What services does Modern Pet Salon offer?

    Modern Pet Salon offers the following services: Pet Salon & Animal grooming(Dogs, Puppies and Cats).

    Are there any services Modern Pet Salon does not offer?

    Ask for details.