Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Brookside Animal Clinic

Founded 1969 • With Angi since March 2004

4.7

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

210 W 85th St

Kansas City, MO 64114

Description

Our staff of 6 individuals include Dr. S. L. Smith (Veterinarian/Owner), Dr. Teri L. Schenkelberg (Veterinarian), Sheldeen Perkins (Office Manager), Cassie Hoskins (Veterinary Technician), Danielle Cross (Assistant), Cathy Harmon (CVT & Professional Groomer). We accept cash, checks, MC, Visa, Amex, Discover Card along with Care Credit payments....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/08/2016


Ursala S.

The vet was so kind and caring. He took a good amount of time with us. My dogs are normally wound up but we're perfectly calm & well behaved around the vet; he has a way with animals. Highly recommend Brookside Animal Clinic.

Description of Work
Initially I took my two dogs there for grooming. The groomer was so good with the dogs & did an excellent job; they looked great. I was impressed with the other staff that I decided to take the dogs back for their annual exam & shots.

Category veterinarian

5.0

12/15/2015


Lynn A.

Description of Work
I got my cat bathed and groomed. She has to be sedated and I cannot say enough good things about how well they care for Jessie's health and grooming needs

Category pet grooming,pet insurance

5.0

06/11/2015


Sarah B.

Category pet insurance

5.0

04/05/2012


Ellen J.

I have been going to them for 20 years. There are 2 different vets there, both are wonderful. I can always call them. They are very responsive and will call you back. If you want to bring an animal in, they immediately get back to you. I am really, really busy and I can’t be reached all the time. I can always get in if I have an animal in there. They will setup a telephone call with the vet. They have always taken great care of all of my animals. The dog is now pretty well. They couldn’t get the incision in that area to heal and they just went above and beyond the call of duty. They just said, bring the dog in everyday and they would put on the bandage. All they did was like peaceful boarding. They were just incredible. They are wonderful. It was a little bit pricey. It was a short of a rip off actually. I will use them in the future.

Description of Work
My veterinarians are at Brookside Animal Clinic. I went in for a cancer surgery on an elderly dog.

Category veterinarian

5.0

10/16/2011


Daniel V.

I took my beagle to Brookside Animal Clinic and had many things done. I had his teeth cleaned, had him neutered, had blood work done, a small growth removed from his face, and his nails trimmed. The procedure went very well and his incision healed very well! However, he got an ear infection the following week and I took him back to Brookside Animal Clinic to be checked out. They gave me ear drops for him and he healed within the week. My beagle is now all better and his facial hair is growing back in. The people at theBrookside Animal Clinic did an outstanding job and even called me a few times to check on how my dog was healing. Theveterinarian even took time to explain the procedure of my dogs growth to me and options of how she planned on taking care of it. The Brookside Animal Clinic is a great place to take your animals and I would recommend this place to everyone as I will be taking my dog there again if I need to in the future.

Description of Work
I had his teeth cleaned, had him neutered, had blood work done, a small growth removed from his face, and his nails trimmed.

Category veterinarian,pet grooming

5.0

04/21/2011


Alice B.

The whole group that works there is very good. I have been going to them for years. They relationship with each animal is good. They always take exceptional care of you pets. They take special care and provide personal touch.

Description of Work
I take my pet to Dr. Smith in Brookside Animal Clinic.

Category veterinarian

2.0

09/12/2008


THOR D.

I have taken my pets here for many years and the service has gone downhill. They groomed her incorrectly and practically shaved her. She also came back with a bloodshot eye. When I addressed these issues with them, they did not appear to care, at all. I feel that there must be other caring facilities in the area.

Description of Work
I had my silk terrier groomed and had her booster shots given.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

It is obvious that there was a failure in the communications between the member and the grooming service which unfortunately happens on occassion. With regard to the bloodshot eye our veterianrian examined and treated the irritation at no cost to the member. Recently the member had us evaluate a new dog for him so it appears he has not lost all confidence in our abilities...
5.0

12/22/2005


FAWZY S.

My experience was entirely positive: 1. When informed of my cat's acute needs, the staff scheduled us for the same day. 2. The staff was friendly, and kind in the office, and remembered details mentioned only in passing on the phone. 3. Dr. Teri was FANTASTIC. Normally my cat is, to put it mildly, EVIL when it comes to meeting new people. Especially vets, but she warmed up to Dr. Teri right away, and allowed her to conduct her exam. 4. The Dr.'s exam was very thorough. She put me at ease immediately, communicating with me as an equal, but explaining when I didn't understand without ever sounding condescending. 5. Double the cost would have been a bargain. 6. The treatment seems to be working. My girlfriend will be scheduling an appointment for her cat. As someone who is very particular about who handles my best friend, I can tell you I have found my Vet in Kansas City.

Description of Work
My cat was having acute symptoms of an infection. Dr. Teri evaluated my cat and prescribed treatment.

Category veterinarian

5.0

11/22/2005


LAURA C.

I HAVE VERBALLY TOLD MANY THAT I HOPE THAT SOME DAY THAT I FIND A DOCTOR FOR MYSELF AS COMPASSIONATE AND EASY TO TALK TO AS DR TERI. THE ENTIRE STAFF IS ALWAYS WILLING TO HELP. THE WELL BEING OF OUR COMPANION ANIMALS IS FIRST AND FOREMOST TO THEM. THEY ALSO ARE VERY SUPPORTIVE OF THE HUMAN PARENTS THAT BRING THEIR PETS, WHETHER YOU ARE BRINGING THEM IN FOR MEDICAL ATTENTION, GROOMING, OR BOARDING. I CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THIS BUSINESS AND THEIR STAFF! THEY ARE A GREAT GROUP TO HAVE CARING FOR YOUR CRITTERS!

Description of Work
BROOKSIDE HAS BEEN CARING FOR MY DOGS AND CATS FOR OVER 10 YEARS NOW.

Category veterinarian

5.0

03/20/2004

FRIENDLY, COMPASSIONATE, REASONABLY PRICED, TOTALLY KNOWLEDGEABLE. HAVE BEEN TAKING OUR DOGS AND CATS THERE FOR OVER TWENTY YEARS, EVEN AFTER MOVING OUT OF THE NEIGHBORHOOD.

Description of Work
FULL SERVICE VETERINARY CLINIC.

Category veterinarian

5.0

03/15/2004


GREGG M.

OUR EXPERIENCES HAVE BEEN EXCELLENT. WE HAVE TAKEN OUR PETS THERE FOR OVER 20 YEARS. THEY SEEM TO TAKE A GENUINE INTEREST IN OUR PETS.

Description of Work
OUR DOG AND CAT RECEIVE ANNUAL CHECK-UPS AND IMMUNIZATIONS. THEY HAVE ALSO PERFORMED ORAL SURGERY ON BOTH ANIMALS AND ORTHOPEDIC SURGERY ON OUR DOG.

Category veterinarian

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Veterinarians
    Pet Insurance
    Animal Grooming
    Animal Boarding Kennels
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Diagnostic Medical, Surgical and Dental services. Cold Laser Therapy, Professional Grooming, Boarding (including Day Care). House Calls and Home Euthanasia services are available . Emergency after hours care by referral to Critical Care Facility.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Brookside Animal Clinic

    How is Brookside Animal Clinic overall rated?

    Brookside Animal Clinic is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Brookside Animal Clinic open?

    Brookside Animal Clinic is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: 8:30 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Brookside Animal Clinic provide

    Brookside Animal Clinic accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Brookside Animal Clinic offer free estimates?

    No, Brookside Animal Clinic does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Brookside Animal Clinic offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Brookside Animal Clinic offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Brookside Animal Clinic offer a senior discount?

    No, Brookside Animal Clinic does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Brookside Animal Clinic offer emergency services?

    Yes, Brookside Animal Clinic offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Brookside Animal Clinic?

    Yes, Brookside Animal Clinic offers warranties.

    What services does Brookside Animal Clinic offer?

    Brookside Animal Clinic offers the following services: Diagnostic Medical, Surgical and Dental services. Cold Laser Therapy, Professional Grooming, Boarding (including Day Care). House Calls and Home Euthanasia services are available . Emergency after hours care by referral to Critical Care Facility.