Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Lancer Service

Founded 1977 • With Angi since December 2001

4.9

(45) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

270 8th St E

Saint Paul, MN 55101

Description

Lancer Service has been providing over 40 years of Dedicated Service and Quality Auto Care for virtually all types of cars and trucks, imports and domestic. We are conveniently located in downtown Saint Paul. Our staff of highly trained, ASE certified automotive professionals will take the time to care about your needs. Additional email - mail@lancerservice.com....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/27/2017


Ronald P.

They are good. You could probably get cheaper, and I have talked to friends who have gone cheaper and regretted it. I don't mind paying the extra, you can tell they have spent time training their staff. It really makes a difference. We have been taking our cars there for 25 years. I will use them again in the future.

Description of Work
Oil Change, Tire Rotation, Replace Wiper Blades - Routine Maintenance

Category auto repair

5.0

02/02/2017


Nancy C.

Carl at Lancers was great. He really knows cars.. We have a a car with 160,000 miles . His repair solution was 40% cheaper than the dealers. We will use lancers for all our car repairs.

Description of Work
struts and shock replacements and oil pump leak.

Category auto repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to work with your Acura, I am glad we were able to help out and look forward to seeing you in the future!
5.0

10/10/2016


Jan W.

The work was performed in the time frame they promised and they gave us a very thorough report including a few items I would never have thought of to check.

Description of Work
We had a pre-purchase car checkup done on a salvage title car.

Category auto repair

5.0

08/10/2016


TYLER H.

Carl has excellent customer service skills and took the time to explain the repairs needed. Kevin worked on my car and clearly knows his way around cars. My car is running fantastic and I couldn't be happier. They were not only very informative, but also very flexible with scheduling good times to get my car in. The only recommendation I would give to the shop is to offer loaner vehicles with long term services (such as replacing a transmission). I will certainly go there again when any of my cars are in need of repair.

Description of Work
I had my transmission replaced, along with full break job (front and rear brakes. Rotors and calipers) and 4 new tires.

Category auto repair

5.0

06/07/2016


Antoinette H.

I've been using Lancer for about 3 years now, as I live in Downtown St. Paul. I cannot say enough great things about them. Their pricing for services is fair and competitive (my pricing for this review is just a number - I've had them do work both major and minor/routine), if you need a tow, they are very responsive, and their truck is small enough to maneuver inside various parking garages. They also explain everything to you, which I always like - there's no mystery repairs here. I have not had a bad experience with them in 3 years, and I am so happy they are within walking distance to my home. If you live in or near Downtown St. Paul or just have automotive trouble while visiting, you should not hesitate to give them a call.

Description of Work
Towing Routine maintenance Emergency repairs.

Category auto repair,towing

5.0

02/16/2015


WILLIAM B.

They do the job right the first time, on time, every time. I've never had any problems with them. They are very professional. It's all I could ever hope for from a mechanic.

Description of Work
I went in for routine car services.

Category auto repair

5.0

07/16/2014


Suchitra S.

I've been taking my car to Lancer for several years, based on recommendations from several other people. They are always so courteous and professional, explain everything clearly in layman's terms, and have always been punctual in both responding to appointment requests and completing service. I fully trust their recommendations, and they don't try to push unnecessary services on you - so refreshing when dealing with a car service shop! They are not the cheapest, but very fair in their pricing - and their service reflects it. I don't hesitate to recommend Lancer to everyone!

Description of Work
Oil and filter change, and complete vehicle safety and maintenance inspection

Category auto repair,car inspections

5.0

07/10/2014


Carmen H.

They completed the work early and with the usual excellent quality , professionalism and communication. We have been going to Lancer for years and recommend them without hesitation.

Description of Work
Brakes ---front & rear

Category auto repair

5.0

04/14/2014


Gloria S.

They have always been great! I have used them for everything. This time they just changed my oil and checked all of the fluids. I would still continue to use them, but have since moved away from the area. I would recommend them to anyone. I was still driving 90 miles to use their service for over 4 years.

Description of Work
I had been going to them for over ten years. I had an oil change the last time I was there.

Category auto repair

5.0

02/15/2014


Trevor C.

After they inspected the job the O2 sensor was going to take more work than originally thought. They called me and informed me of the situation and what the additional cost would be. We discussed the options and agreed not to do the O2 sensor. They cleared the code and change the oil for a very reasonable price. My in-laws used them for several years and after my experience with them I can see why. I am definitely a return customer.

Description of Work
Originally it was going to be an oil change and replace an O2 sensor in the exhaust.

Category auto repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Am-Pm Automotive Repair

    For over 25 years we have been servicing vehicles in the White Bear Lake area and surrounding communities. Started by Greg Martz, we're still a family owned business focusing on you as our customer. As an AC Delco tech center, you can be 100% confident that only the highest quality auto parts will be used on your automobile. While many of our competitors cut prices by cutting quality, we guarantee that all of the replacement parts that we use meet the O.E.M. specifications (original equipment specifications). We do it all, from minor repairs to complete overhauls! We distinguish ourselves from any competition by our exceptional auto repair and customer service!  

    Bonded Transmission

    The most reliable St Paul Transmission Repair Service with 33 years in the same location. Our family owned business has over 100 years combined experience and we look forward to servicing your automotive needs.  

    RAPID GLASS

    Rapid Glass is your local family owned Home Glass Repair and Auto Glass Replacement experts. We provide "Quality Service at an Affordable price". Whether you’re replacing one broken or cracked window or all the windows in your house have bad seals, are fogged and have condensation or moisture between the glass panes, we are sure to save you money. We are experts in design and installation of Custom Glass Shower Doors, enclosures and glass shower panels. Shower doors can be framed or frameless with different patterns of glass. Whether it’s a bathroom remodeling project or you want to update that broken or water stained shower door. Shower door installation is a breeze with Rapid Glass. Our auto glass replacement and windshield repair technicians are certified and install only the highest quality glass at an affordable price. Whatever your glass needs may be, we will provide fast, affordable service to most Minneapolis and St. Paul suburban areas.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Auto Service
    Auto Tires
    Auto Inspections
    Auto Transmission
    Auto Towing
    Auto Glass
    Auto Radiators
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Oil change, wheel balancing, routine maintenance, brakes, exhaust, diagnostic, engine repair, heating & A/C, computer testing on American & foreign cars & transmission repairs.

    Services Not Offered

    Transmission rebuilding.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Lancer Service

    How is Lancer Service overall rated?

    Lancer Service is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Lancer Service open?

    Lancer Service is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Lancer Service provide

    Lancer Service accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Lancer Service offer free estimates?

    No, Lancer Service does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Lancer Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Lancer Service offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Lancer Service offer a senior discount?

    No, Lancer Service does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Lancer Service offer emergency services?

    Yes, Lancer Service offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Lancer Service?

    Yes, Lancer Service offers warranties.

    What services does Lancer Service offer?

    Lancer Service offers the following services: Oil change, wheel balancing, routine maintenance, brakes, exhaust, diagnostic, engine repair, heating & A/C, computer testing on American & foreign cars & transmission repairs.

    Are there any services Lancer Service does not offer?

    Transmission rebuilding.