Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Tailors On Blake

Founded 1982 • With Angi since September 2001

4.8

(60) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5706 W 36th St

Minneapolis, MN 55416

Description

Only trust the best for your next tailoring job. Open since 1982, our 14 experienced tailors have satisfied numerous customers with jobs ranging from embroidery to fittings. Bring yours in today!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/19/2018


Howard K.

I opted not to have them do the work. The tear was 7 inches long. They usually charge $50 per inch. They were willing to do the work for $250 instead of $350. Since the suit was 9 years old ad the fit was not great, I decided the $250 would be better spent on a new, better fitting suit.

Description of Work
Needed reweaving for a torn suit

Category alterations

5.0

05/11/2018


Tom V.

Needed two low and upper pocket liners replaced because they ripped. The pockets from the manufacturer were of poor quality.. Sharon at Tailors on Blake changed them to a more durable and stronger material. I left the parka with them and returned approximately 2 weeks later as promised and the work was done. (very well).

Description of Work
Replace 3 pockets on a winter parka

Category alterations

4.0

12/13/2017


Chris D.

I feel the jeans were shortened a bit too much.

Description of Work
Shorten designer jeans

Category alterations

5.0

12/27/2016


Jeff H.

The results were better than I expected.

Description of Work
I had 3 suits and 4 pairs of pants resized after losing significant weight.

Category alterations

5.0

06/10/2014


Gayle V.

I have used them for a number of years. Always happy with work

Description of Work
Hemmed several pairs of pants

Category alterations

4.0

06/10/2014


Ryan C.

The service was done as quickly as possible but I definitely spent a lot more here than I have ever spent on tailor services for jeans. I didn't particularly like how the service turned out but I think it may have been the best it could have turned out given the nature of the request. The service was friendly and very professional and may try again for other items in the future.

Description of Work
I had requested a rush hem on a pair of jeans that would also need tapering.

Category alterations

5.0

06/10/2014


Missy S.

They did an excellent job on my outdoor pillows. They had them done on time.

Description of Work
Monogram services.

Category alterations

5.0

06/02/2014


Paul and Joy A.

The inside looks like new now! They did an excellent job. Really good workmanship. The job took about 10 days to complete which I thought was a reasonable amount of time.

Description of Work
I had a much worn and much loved leather bomber jacket that was in excellent condition except the lining was completely worn out and a snap was broken.

Category alterations

5.0

02/01/2014


Michael N.

but the work was well-done and on-time,

Description of Work
A little more expensive than I planned

Category alterations

3.0

01/19/2014


Adrienne K.

Bridesmaid dress, took longer than they estimated, was not ready on committed dates, quality of work questionable. When I commented on these things the owner was apathetic.

Description of Work
I used Tailors On Blake

Category alterations

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately, I don't recall this dress of 5 months ago however, I'm sorry we didn't meet the expectations. I looked into our records and the dress was promised 9 days after it was brought in and was actually finished 2 days early. It may be a situation in which we had to make some extra adjustments after the initial work was done and this is more common when working on bridesmaid dresses. We try hard to have the conversation in the initial fitting about the pricing and 'how far' we want to go in altering the dress when it is a dress that will probably only be worn once for 4-5 hours. I see that Adrienne spent $156.00 plus tax. Again, I'm sorry that we can't make it right. We do everything we can to stand behind our work.

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Alterations/Sewing/Decorating
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    tailoring,tailor,embroidery,embroidering,alterations,altering,fitters,weight loss altering,weight gain altering,clothes altering,clothing alterations,wedding dress altering,bridal altering,bridal alterations,dress fitting,fitting,sewing,seamstress,tux fitting,gift embroidery,gifts,hemming,buttons,zipper repair,coat relining,relining,jacket relining,relining

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Tailors On Blake

    How is Tailors On Blake overall rated?

    Tailors On Blake is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Tailors On Blake open?

    Tailors On Blake is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: Closed

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does Tailors On Blake provide

    Tailors On Blake accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Tailors On Blake offer free estimates?

    Yes, Tailors On Blake offers free project estimates.

    Does Tailors On Blake offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Tailors On Blake does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Tailors On Blake offer a senior discount?

    No, Tailors On Blake does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Tailors On Blake offer emergency services?

    Yes, Tailors On Blake offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Tailors On Blake?

    No, Tailors On Blake does not offer warranties.

    What services does Tailors On Blake offer?

    Tailors On Blake offers the following services: tailoring,tailor,embroidery,embroidering,alterations,altering,fitters,weight loss altering,weight gain altering,clothes altering,clothing alterations,wedding dress altering,bridal altering,bridal alterations,dress fitting,fitting,sewing,seamstress,tux fitting,gift embroidery,gifts,hemming,buttons,zipper repair,coat relining,relining,jacket relining,relining

    Are there any services Tailors On Blake does not offer?

    ask for details