Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER

Founded 1991 • With Angi since January 2002

4.8

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4700 N 85TH AVE

Minneapolis, MN 55443

Description

10 EMPLOYEES....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/06/2019


Michelle H.

I can’t say enough about Edinburgh Pet Health Center and I should have written a review long ago. I have taken my dog there for the past two years and have worked with both Dr. Carpenter and Dr. Nelson. While I love my dog to pieces, he can be a bit of a handful. He suffers from anxiety and unfortunately has gotten into inappropriate things several times. Dr. Nelson has helped me through all of them with a sweetness and understanding that I want in a vet. She is also very diligent in following up with me after our visits and genuinely cares about the well being of my dog. In addition, most recently, Dr. Carpenter bent over backwards to help my dog. We were in the process of moving to Boston and 3 days before the movers came, I noticed he somehow broke one of his teeth straight down the middle, vertically. I’ll spare all the details, but Dr. Carpenter was able to make a miracle happen and fit my dog in for surgery. X-rays showed he actually had a lot more going on with his teeth than originally thought. Dr. Carpenter was able to get the 6 worse teeth out to at least make him more comfortable and be able to make the drive to Boston, where he will need a second surgery. Edinburgh Pet Health Center bent over backwards to relieve my dog from pain as well as work with my very tight moving schedule. The entire staff from the moment we began using them have been amazing and I’m quite sad to leave them. I can’t speak to how more or less money they are to another vet, but to genuine concern for my dog and wanting to do what is right for him….they blow everyone else out of the water!! A big THANK YOU to the entire staff at Edinburgh Pet Health Center. Patch will miss you☺

Description of Work
Dental Surgery

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

We are very pleased we were able to meet (and hopefully exceed) your expectations for quality veterinary care and customer service. We really do want to be a trusted partner with you to ensure your pet has a "family doctor" that is ready to help however we can. We wish you the best. Thank you for your kind words.
5.0

12/03/2018


Kathleen G.

it went so well! Diagnosis correctly and immediately gave my pet relief. Lovely building.......friendly, empathetic and amicable staff.

Description of Work
My pet was sick.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

We are so glad we were able to help in such a timely fashion. We really appreciate you sharing your experience with us,.
5.0

09/02/2017


nancy E.

Between the visit and the medication, it was about $160. They are all great there. What keeps me going back to them is weirdly my dog is not nervous when we go there. Actually, we just switched to go there, we used to go for 30 years to another vet place with our previous dogs. This dog that we have started to become real nervous when we went to the other place. We had gone to the Edinburgh one day when we couldn?t get into the regular vet; and what struck me was that he was not nervous there. We figured out the reason, is that he has total control there. Usually there is an exam table and you have to lift the dog up onto the metal exam table. Their exam table is attached to kind of like a molded system along one wall, so there is a bench you can sit on. Then the exam table is just right up from that, it?s kind of just this molded granite kind of stuff, I?m not even sure. He can just jump from the seat and then right up to the exam table or he can jump back down. He gets to decide when he goes up and him with his personality, he likes that. So, when they come into the room, instead of me trying to fish him out from under the bench that I?m sitting on because he?s nervous; he?s standing up on the exam table wagging his tail going, ?hey, you going to come over here and talk to me?? So, because he decided to go up there he?s at their level. It eases him and that?s why we go there, because he feels more comfortable. As a result, the vet is also very good. That?s nice too, but he?s comfortable and it?s his doctor. They usually take us straight back, we rarely wait in the waiting room. There are no separate entrances for sick or injured dogs. There is a separate room and a separate exit for those times when you have to say goodbye to your pet forever, so you don?t have to leave out the main entrance and see everybody or whatever.

Description of Work
They were looking at my dog’s eye, he had kind of an eye infection.

Category veterinarian

5.0

06/07/2017


John W.

They're all excellent. They're all into dog training. It's just another "A" place. They are very good. My pet loves it.

Description of Work
We do regular check-up. The annual check-up and we did a surgery once. When she was 3 months old, she had some junk caught in her [unintelligible word at 34:09]. They had to cut that out. We were just there last week. They were testing a stool sample for heart-worms.

Category veterinarian

5.0

06/07/2017


John W.

They are very good. My pet loves them.

Description of Work
They did an annual check up.

Category veterinarian

5.0

06/07/2017


John W.

.

Description of Work
My dog has surgery .

Category veterinarian

5.0

08/05/2015


Kenneth S.

Category veterinarian

1.0

06/23/2015


KATHLEEN C.

My cat had to come in at 8:30 AM this morning for dental work. He was there all day. At the end of the day, they said they didn't have enough expertise to complete the job so I will need to go to another dentist that actually has dental training, and pay him for the same thing that I thought they would do. OK. Bill came to $700 for just today. When I picked up my cat the vet said that my cat is in pain due to extreme dental problems including holes in his teeth. I am sure the scraping of the plaque today didn't help the pain. She emphasized that he was really in pain and I told her I wanted to do what ever I could to keep him comfortable until I could get his teeth fixed on Thursday. She showed me some syringes that I was supposed to inject under his tongue tonight to control the pain. I watched her take them out of the bag she had for me, and demonstrate them to me, but I do not recall her putting them back in the bag. Anyway, she then told me to meet her assistant at the front desk. Her assistant appeared with the bag of stuff (where the syringes should have been) and cat food I ordered and the bill. I reviewing the bill with the assistant, and then we left.. When I got home, the syringes were not in the bag. I tried calling immediately, but no one answered and there was no message machine nor was there another number to call in case I needed to get a hold of the vet in an emergency. My cat is in severe pain and there is nothing I can do. I tried the emergency places but they wanted an additional 130.00 just to see the cat. I can not afford that, and so he must suffer tonight. For the money I paid, I don't belief I got anything except a cat in pain. Making sure that the syringes were in the bag is the very minimal I would expect for a professional. Hadn't I paid enough?

Description of Work
Took blood work and did check ups for two cats one day. Today did dental work, but did not complete the job. Was supposed to give pain medication, but did not, although she billed me for it and I paid her.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations for great service. Our recollection of your visit appears to differ from your account. With your consent, we did blood tests, and then while under gas anesthesia with pain control in place, an oral exam, dental probing, cleaning and full mouth intra-oral digital x-rays was performed. When our comprehensive evaluation of your pet’s condition showed many unexpected concerns, we felt your cat would benefit from a board-certified veterinary dentist’s care. Due to over 27 years of veterinary experience and significant training in modern pet dental care; I know when a pet will benefit from someone with even more experience to ensure the best possible outcome. We even made the appointment for you at the referral hospital at the earliest possible time, just two days after your appointment with us. We did carefully demonstrate how to administer the pain control medication syringes and we are not sure how the prescription was left out of the bag since we had it ready to go home. It is also regrettable that when you were late for your discharge appointment, arriving after closing, that we couldn’t rectify the situation of the misplaced medication that night. We also always have an emergency contact number on our voice mail if you call our published, main phone number that is on the discharge instructions. When you demanded that we personally deliver the medications to you the next day, we were unable to meet your request as we were engaged with appointments and procedures for our other patients the entire day. You did warn us that you would write a negative Angie’s review due to this experience. I am glad you were able to get your cat’s needs addressed with the referral veterinary dentist in a timely manner since the pain your cat was in had obviously been going on for a long time. I am sure he is much more comfortable now. We hope your next veterinarian is able to exceed your expectations and continue your pet’s care to your satisfaction.
5.0

12/18/2014


Benjamin A.

Description of Work
Vaccines and exam

Category veterinarian

5.0

12/11/2014


Lois P.

Dr. Carpenter is a very caring, knowledgeable professional who explains clearly what she observes, is very clear about possible tests, always honors the pet owners' questions and decisions but is willing to give her advice when asked. She also explains the possible tests, their costs and lets us determine what we can afford. In this case she diagnosed that Mama Kitty most probably had a deteriorating liver, with fluid build-up. To drain off the fluid might be more damage to the liver than leaving it, she explained, so we held off on draining. She explained that there could be more tests and possible surgery depending on what the tests indicated, but was candid about the fact that given the cat's age, she suspected that the situation was terminal. Her clear analysis of the situation, and the fact that she doesn't push unnecessary treatments was much appreciated. The vet's assistants at the center are also caring, professionals and the experience from beginning to end is excellent. The only slight drawback for me is the cost, although I haven't actually compared costs with other vets' offices. I understand vetrenary costs are high everywhere.

Description of Work
I have gone to this center since I moved to Minnesota 2 1/2 years ago and I can't say enough good things about them. This time we brought a very sick elder cat in to determine whether it was a situation requiring euthanasia or not. We agreed to do a limited number of tests (x-rays and blood tests) to rule out a few things. The vet then explained what might possibly be wrong with our Mama Kitty and various treatment options/solutions. We have held off on the euthanasia for now, but understand what the symptoms will be when it nears the end.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review of our services. We try to always provide owners with enough information to make decisions that are appropriate for them and their pet. It is often the case, that more tests and treatments will not improve the outcome for some pets. In that situation, we try to offer guidance for quality of life care and understanding of what to expect. Veterinary care like human medical care can be costly for many conditions that our we and our pets acquire, especially as we age. We try to work within whatever budget a pet owner has to provide the best care possible for their situation. We hope your kitty is doing well.
5.0

08/05/2014


Norene W.

I was very impressed with the clinic and the entire staff. Everyone was very caring and very professional. The clinic was very clean and inviting, and I felt that my pets will get the best of care there.

Description of Work
My cat's records had been transferred from my previous vet, so this visit was an initial general exam, going over his records and administering a distemper shot. I also purchased a case of a prescription food he's on for IBD.

Category veterinarian

5.0

06/20/2014


LEONARD R.

They were able to help. We've been using them for 10 years. It's a very nice, clean office with a friendly, responsive staff. Both vets I've dealt with are very knowledgeable. It's very easy to schedule appointments and they're very quick.

Description of Work
I have an older cat and he has kidney failure and thyroid issues and they were seeing him for those issues as a follow-up appointment and to have bloodwork run. They also provided medications.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive comments. We strive to provide the best customer and patient care possible. We are happy to be able to help you care for your elderly cat. Older cats have many unique needs and it takes a dedicated owner to keep up with them.
5.0

06/17/2014


Donna O.

They are an excellent pet care provider. We have been using them over 15 years.

Description of Work
Surgically removed a tumor from our cat's side.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you have trusted us to care for your pet for so many years. We hope we can continue to meet your expectations into the future.
5.0

06/17/2014


Julie H.

Dr. Lisa Carpenter gave my dog a very thorough and careful examination - taking great care to check the health of all of his joints. She took alot of time to give me a detailed explanation of her findings and her recommendations for a short term treatment plan - as well as explaining possibilities for a longer term plan, should it be needed as he ages. My dog has been under her care for many years and is in excellent health. Dr. Carpenter has extraordinary compassion for the animals she treats. The best testimony, in addition to my dog's great health, is the way he happily bounds in to the office to see Dr. Carpenter and her team each time we go for an appointment!

Description of Work
My 11 year old dog was showing some signs of pain in his back legs or hips when going up stairs or rising to a standing position.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased you are happy with our services. We truly enjoy helping our patients lead long and pain-free lives.
5.0

06/10/2014


Ray D.

Excellent! We have been going to Edinburgh Pet Health Center for many years and think the staff there does a great job with the pets and owners. Informative and always helpful, I would recommend their services to anyone.

Description of Work
Oral surgery, two teeth removed.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your nice comments. We try very hard to provide the kind of care and service we would want for our own pets. We are pleased you are happy with our services.
5.0

05/13/2014


cheryl W.

As always, everyone is very nice, and friendly to us and our pets. The visit was on time, and labowrk, nail trims and shots all done professionally. The only thing I dislike is the push for doggy dental exams, which is very invasive to the animals (my opinion) and very expensive. I am willing to pay a bit more for other costs, as I know from experience at other vets, this is quality care. I do wish they would promote a discount for multipule animals, or some sort of payment program, but if there is one, its not been mentioned to us. Some sort of willingness to work with clients to afford this would really make the push to have it done easier to listen to. I appreciate the wonderful service we have had over the years, and how kind everyone is. I will never leave this practice, unless and until we are living too far away.

Description of Work
yearly exams for 2 dogs, blood tests, shots, and nail trims

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your honest review of our hospital. We do strive for quality care and excellent client service and are pleased we are meeting those goals. I would like to address your concerns regarding recommended dental procedures. Dental disease affects over 80% of dogs and cats over 3 years of age. Dental disease in pets is often well advanced when we finally treat it, thus leading to increased costs. In addition, dental procedures absolutely require general anesthesia and monitoring in order to safely perform the needed diagnostics and treatments. Safety is our top concern and we are happy to discuss the numerous safeguards we have implemented to ensure best possible outcomes. All of our dental procedures include dental scaling and polishing, an oral exam, and full mouth intra-oral digital radiographs. Without x-rays, we will miss a tremendous amount of oral disease so we have elected to include them in our packages despite the increased cost of this feature. In addition to the improvements and added value in our dental packages, we have lowered our overall dental procedure prices over the last year to make this important service as affordable as possible. We are happy to discuss payment options on an individual basis if needed to help pets achieve more timely care. Please always feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.
5.0

12/09/2013


Donna H.

I love this clinic, the vets and techs. They always take their time during the exam, explain everything thoroughly, and follow up when needed. I appreciate how clean the office is and there is never any odor other than a clean smell. We have previously seen Dr. Carpenter and also some other vets who have been there on Saturday. This last visit we saw Dr. Lori and she was fantastic. She explained how to calculate how much wet food and dry food to give my cat so her weight remains stable. I will definitely take my cat back to this clinic.

Description of Work
Annual exam for my 2 1/2 year old cat.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent visit. We aim to exceed your expectations and provide the best possible veterinary care for your pets. We are committed to exceptional customer service and am glad you were satisfied with our staff.
5.0

09/25/2013


LEONARD R.

They're local. I had a pretty good experience with them. The doctors were great. The technicians were great. The place is very clean and neat. Some of the prices struck me as high but I have no other veterinary experiences or places to reference that against. The doctors were very informed and communicative. They correctly diagnosed what was wrong with him and they got it taken care of so that was good. It's a very nice veterinary clinic. Everything is very clean and very neat. There's no smell, no odors. The people are really friendly and easy to deal with. The doctors knew what they were doing. Other than the price, I didn't have anything to complain about. I continue to go back there about every 2-3 weeks to buy another couple of cases of the prescription cat food.

Description of Work
I took my old cat to Edinburgh Pet Health Center for a physical, a blood panel test, blood pressure measurement, some nasal spray, and $7 or $8 for 4 different kinds of prescription cat food because her kidneys are failing.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your honest assessment of our practice. We are glad we were able to help you and your cat. We do strive to provide a thorough evaluation of your pet's issues and help educate owners on how they can help continue the care that is needed to provide a good quality of life for our senior pets.
5.0

07/06/2013


Rich H.

I've been going to this location for around ten years It feels very clinical, and less personal. We have 1 dog and 2 cats and bring them into this vet most of the time. We have a previous vet which we like a little more because it's cheaper and more personal, but it is across town. Prices are expensive here, but quality and professionalism is high.

Description of Work
Heartworm Bloodwork, Trimmed Nails, Heartworm medication for 6 months

Category veterinarian

5.0

03/24/2011


Anne Z.

I go there all the time and I love them. They are just like family. I love Dr. Carpenter the veterinarian there and who is the owner and I always go see him with my dogs. I love the technicians and they have been there very long. They like their job and they do it well and they know how things operate. They are not only nice, but very smart and not just book smart, but experience smart. They are also not patronizing when I ask them questions and don’t talk down to me. I ask them many questions and they take me all the way through it. I spent about $120 on the last visit. They are probably a little more expensive, but I get what I pay for. The put my dogs under anesthesia when they clean their teeth, but very mild and they also monitor them very closely.

Description of Work
I used Edinburgh Pet Hospital for veterinarian Service. The last time I used them was last week for two of my dogs for vaccinations.

Category veterinarian

5.0

04/24/2010


LISA B.

This is a very nice veterinary office, with beautiful facilities and caring staff. Overall our experience has been mostly good; with one small caveat: We needed a new vet, as we had moved far from our previous vet. We had a 12 year old dog who needed a physical exam in January 2010. The exam on Jan 2nd seemed thorough, and other than his weight was unremarkable. He became ill & had difficulty breathing the 3rd week of January-- the vet at Edinburgh was unable to tell us what was wrong after attempting and failing to aspirate any fluid from his chest (we were charged for the failed aspiration) and sent us to the U of M Vet Hospital. After a couple of weeks of care at the U we learned he had cancer and made the decision to put him to sleep. The vet and staff at Edinburgh was wonderful during this painful and emotional time, and made the euthanasia process as easy and comfortable as it could be for both us and our beloved dog. They took a picture of him, and made us a cast of his paw. They have a lovely, home-like room for this purpose, and allowed us the time we needed at the end. Our 2 elderly cats had their teeth cleaned a month later-- that all went very well; we were pleased (as I am sure the cats were, once they got home!) My only non-positive feelings about our experiences so far have to do with the fact we were charged for the failed aspiration. However, I did not feel strongly enough about it to ask for a refund. As far as our dog becoming so ill so soon after his physical exam-- he was 12 years old, and unfortunately they don't have a crystal ball. I would recommend Edinburgh to other pet owners.

Description of Work
Physical exams for our dog and cats, diagnostic work/euthanasia for our dog, and teeth-cleaning under anesthesia for our cats.

Category veterinarian

5.0

05/08/2009


WALLY S.

They are excellent veterinarians. They know what they are doing and talking about. Their staff is great, too.

Description of Work
We take our pets to Edinburgh Pet hospital for their care. We last took our dog there for heartworm tests and medicine.

Category veterinarian

5.0

08/23/2006


Vera M.

The staff at Edinburgh are like family. The site is spotless, the staff are beyond professional, and the vets are experts in their field. Even though it is a bit pricey, I feel that the trade-off is well worth it.

Description of Work
I have been to this veterinary practice for 10 years. The work performed on my cats and dogs has varied. Shots, medicines, surgeries, and emergencies.

Category veterinarian

5.0

10/25/2005


JACK G.

I HAVE TAKEN MY DOG TO EDINBURGH SINCE I HAVE HAD HIM. THE FACILITY IS CLEAN AND THE STAFF IS EXCELLENT. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME I HAVE HAD A PET THAT FIGHTS TO GET INTO THE DOOR OF A PET CENTER. THE PRICE IS HIGHER THAN USUAL, BUT WELL WORTH IT.

Description of Work
SURGICAL PROCEDURE ON DOG. GENERAL ROUTINE VISIT AS WELL.

Category veterinarian

5.0

01/09/2002


KATHERYN L.

THEY ARE FABULOUS. THEY ARE VERY HELPFUL OVER THE PHONE. THEY DO DOMESTIC ANIMALS. THEY GO ABOVE & BEYOND IN EVERY WAY!!

Description of Work
TAKE CARE OF MY 2 CATS & DOG; ROUTINE & EMERGENCY CARE

Category veterinarian

    Veterinarians
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    VETERINARY CARE, SURGERY, HOSPITAL CARE AND PREVENTATIVE CARE FOR CATS AND DOGS, PRESCRIPTION MEDICINES, SPECIAL DIETS.

    Services Not Offered

    EXOTIC ANIMAL TREATMENT, BOARDING OR GROOMING.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER

    How is EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER overall rated?

    EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER open?

    EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER provide

    EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER offer free estimates?

    Ask EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER for details on free project estimates.

    Does EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER offer a senior discount?

    No, EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER?

    No, EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER does not offer warranties.

    What services does EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER offer?

    EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER offers the following services: VETERINARY CARE, SURGERY, HOSPITAL CARE AND PREVENTATIVE CARE FOR CATS AND DOGS, PRESCRIPTION MEDICINES, SPECIAL DIETS.

    Are there any services EDINBURGH PET HEALTH CENTER does not offer?

    EXOTIC ANIMAL TREATMENT, BOARDING OR GROOMING.