Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Hagen Automotive

Founded 1988 • With Angi since March 2009

5.0

(29) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7965 Wallace Rd

Eden Prairie, MN 55344

Description

Additional phone - (952) 937-2710. ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/29/2018


Gary N.

Went great, on time and a little lower then quoted.

Description of Work
Rear brakes

Category auto repair

5.0

11/29/2017


Lance J.

I trust the guys at Hagen to take care of all of my automotive needs. They are conscientious mechanics and do excellent work.

Description of Work
I have had regular maintenance and repairs done by Hagen Automotive for several years.

Category auto repair

5.0

06/29/2015


Patty E.

Only problem is I have to wait too long for appt. I TRUST these guys

Description of Work
Maintenance on car

Category auto repair

5.0

03/14/2015


Darin L.

Simply, the best mechanics around... We've been using them for 10 years and have never had any complaint about any of the work they have done or what it cost. We trust them unequivocally. They are always making sure the vehicles are well maintained, without pushing for unnecessary service. In fact, they often suggest that we can wait on maintenance items. I tell everyone I know that "I have a great mechanic" whenever someone starts talking about vehicle issues. Absolutely recommend them.

Description of Work
Scheduled maintenance

Category auto repair

5.0

02/11/2014


JOHN H.

They are always on time, the price is affordable, and provide fast and friendly service.

Description of Work
I had them do preventive maintenance on our vehicle.

Category auto repair

5.0

11/08/2013


Cindy R.

My 1996 Ford E150 Conversion van was unresponsive. My neighbor took battery out for me. I took the battery for testing and it was fine. Finally asked neighbor to put battery back in and tighten everything and van started. Previously, Van had done this and ex-friend bought two terminal ends but never put them on. Took the van over unannounced to Hagen's when it finally started, and told Jeff I thought that the bad negative terminal end on the cable is why the van did not have any power. Jeff checked it out and agreed, put on the terminal end I supplied, and he also found two other questionable electrical items that might cause intermittent lack of power and fixed them and checked out the noise and confirmed what another shop had said: and quot;that it was nothing to worry about.and quot; Jeff called and kept me informed on what was going on and how much it would be. Hagen's is really convenient because it is about two miles from my house and I can walk there.

Description of Work
Jeff put a new terminal end on the cable going to negative battery terminal. He also found two other electrical things that might cause intermittent lack of power and fixed them. Jeff also checked out a noise when you turned the steering wheel.

Category auto repair

5.0

10/16/2013


Michael K.

They do great work on both of our cars. One is a Jeep and the other is a Pacifica. We were recomended by a friend of ours.

Description of Work
We went a couple of weeks ago for an oil change. We have used them over the past year for brake service, radioter replacement, and oil changes on both cars.

Category auto repair, radiator service

5.0

09/12/2013


Jeff B.

Great. They fixed the problem for $200 less than I had been quoted by a competitor who had really mis diagnosed the problem. I was in and out in an hour. They are honest and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Repaired electrical problem w brake light

Category auto repair

5.0

07/10/2013


Phillip J.

It's always been a great experience over the years; one thing you'll always know is that what there telling you is the truth. They are not going to rake you over the coals.

Description of Work
This time it was just an oil change; but we've trusted our cars to jim for many, many years

Category auto repair

5.0

07/07/2013


KURT K.

This is a repair shop that you can trust and won't break the bank. They are reasonably priced and do a great job diagnosing issues. They are very good about calling back and are upfront about costs to repair and what needs to be repaired immediately and what can wait. With 4 in college with cars, it is comforting to know that they are driving cars that are well maintained!

Description of Work
We have been using Hagen for many years to service the six cars that are being used by our family. Most recently, Mike fixed a car we wanted to sell so that it was ready for sale.

Category auto repair

5.0

11/27/2012


Sue Z.

See comments above. We were impressed with their honesty and integrity. He even spent some unbilled time on the car while he was waiting for an overdue client to show up. He really wanted to find out what things were wrong with the vehicle.

Description of Work
We had the car looked at by Tires Plus because the car was running "rough". They said all the coils needed to be replaced. We went to O'Reilly Auto Parts and they told us it was unlikely that all the coils would "go" at the same time. They said we should try another shop so after checking Angies List we decided to go to Hagen Automotive. They did a very thorough "exam" of the car and said there was nothing wrong with the coils. They did say that there were some other things wrong with the car that they could fix. We decided that with the age of the car and the amount of miles on it that it wasn't worth fixing. They assured us that we could still drive it and it wouldn't do it more harm. We decided to keep the car to have on hand when company visits. They also said it was a very good car and to not "junk" it because there are a lot of people that would buy it to fix it up, or even buy it for the parts. He even explained in depth of how he would go about selling it if it was his car, and also how to spot counterfeit hundred dollar bills. We will definitely go there again for auto services!

Category auto repair

5.0

10/12/2012


Dan L.

I have never had such a positive experience with an auto service before. I had expected to spend more but the mechanic was very honest and said I didn't need some of the things I was asking about. You speak directly to the mechanic, and he seemed very knowledgeable. I will be back and will refer others here as well.

Description of Work
Winter tune up

Category auto repair

5.0

09/25/2012


HANNAH K.

We always use Hagen Automotive for our needs. My husband is an engineer so he knows good work from shotty work, and he trusts Hagen Automotive.

Description of Work
Oil changes, routine maintenance, repairs

Category auto repair

5.0

08/16/2012


S M.

They replaced the brake pads. He said they might not get to it the first day but it was done in less than 24 hrs. He spent some extra time (no charge) inspecting the car for causes of any other noises and removed some rocks from the front tire(again, no extra charge).

Description of Work
Took our car in for sounds when braking along with two other mysterious sounds.

Category auto repair

5.0

08/08/2012


Sandi P.

I initially tried Hagen Automotive back in April for an oil change because I was dissatisfied with the service I was getting at a dealership and a nearby auto chain. After receiving such personable and great service, I decided at that point going forward, they were going to be the auto service place for me. I was so glad I found them because on my way home from work in July, it felt like my engine was hesitating like it was running out of gas. I called Hagen and Jim told me he could look at it in between appointments the following day if I was willing to leave the car there. So I made arrangements that evening to drop off the car and get to work the next day so it could get looked at. Jim called me and gave me the diagnosis and quote and said it would be ready that afternoon. When I picked up the car, Jim showed me all the bad parts he replaced and recommended a new oil drain plug on the next change and to watch if the transmission shudders more. I couldn't be more happy with the service and repair done. Excellent is an understatement.

Description of Work
Diagnosed and replaced two ignition coils and ignition wire set and a spark plug. Replaced left rear turn signal bulb and marker bulb.

Category auto repair

5.0

08/02/2012


Cody C.

Overeall I couldn't be happier with Jim and Mike. They are very clear and patient and very honest. In one instance I had struck a snow bank and asked them to take a look at it. They said everything looked good and because I was a good customer, not to worry about it. I have been since and the prices are reasonable, the work is good and they're just plain old fashioned good dudes.

Description of Work
Hagen Automotive has performed various auto repair and maintainence jobs for me. From oil changes to replacing exhaust systems, etc...

Category auto repair

5.0

07/03/2012


ALIDA & HANK S.

He sets expectations and exceeds them.

Description of Work
I used Hagen Automotive for auto body work. I was there three weeks ago. They did detailing as well.

Category auto body repair

5.0

05/17/2012


Chase V.

The are honest hardworking guys that tell you the truth. They don't try to sell stuff you don't need.

Description of Work
I have been using Hagen Brothers for the past few years for my cars and have found them to be great. Their prices are fair and they recently fixed my old 1999 Taurus so that the steering is working. It had been messed up for years and I had just lived with it.

Category auto repair

5.0

05/17/2012


Esther S.

I like that they are very good about explaining things to us. They are good at diagnosing problems. They are meticulous about fixing things. They don't stick you for a lot of things you don't need. They are very honest. There are only two guys who work there so you don't have to deal with a big garage and people you don't know. We know them by name and they know us. They do almost anything, but they don't do body work. The price is reasonable, but they are not cheap.

Description of Work
They provided maintenance on my husband's car.

Category auto repair

5.0

03/25/2012


Craig L.

Excellent service for my oil change. We were so pleased that we brought our other vehicle in for a 50,000 mile service. I appreciated the honesty in not having us replace the in-cabin filter just because it was time mileage-wise. The waiting area has comfortable seating and drinks, magazines, etc so customers aren't bored. The wait time was shorter than estimated and the price very reasonable.

Description of Work
Oil change and routine service for one year old car

Category auto repair

5.0

03/21/2012


JOHN H.

Always greeted with a smile and our automobiles run great!

Description of Work
Jim and Mike run an honest and efficient repair shop. I have done business with them for over 10 years and would highly recommend them. They can fix anything from my old 1970 Ford F100 to our 2011 Jeep. We used to live in Eden Prairie and moved to Prescott, WI and I still bring our vehicles to them. They are worth the drive! The are true automotive craftsman.

Category

5.0

07/28/2011


Mary D.

great! The yy are the BEST-OF-THE-BEST!

Description of Work
auto service. Inspection of used car that I was going to purchase.

Category auto repair

5.0

07/15/2011


Kelly G.

They've always been honest with me about what's wrong. They're quick and very professional. I've been using them since I was 15 years-old.

Description of Work
W Gordon Smith

Category auto repair

5.0

06/03/2011


Pam D.

People at Hagen Automotive Company are very prompt. They are honest. They don't try to sell me what I don't need. They are good mechanics. I would continue to use them in the future.

Description of Work
I last took my car to Hagen Automotive Company about a couple of weeks ago for an oil change.

Category auto repair

5.0

12/11/2009


Jolene P.

Have been taking my car here for several years. Always get quality work done. No trying to sell more repairs than needed. Provide information for me to make an educated decision on what to do. Jim and Mike always are personable and know my car history. I trust them. I think their cost is about the same as a dealer shop.

Description of Work
Oil change and test battery. Replaced battery. Checked why service engine light came on. Replaced thermostat.

Category auto repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Am-Pm Automotive Repair

    For over 25 years we have been servicing vehicles in the White Bear Lake area and surrounding communities. Started by Greg Martz, we're still a family owned business focusing on you as our customer. As an AC Delco tech center, you can be 100% confident that only the highest quality auto parts will be used on your automobile. While many of our competitors cut prices by cutting quality, we guarantee that all of the replacement parts that we use meet the O.E.M. specifications (original equipment specifications). We do it all, from minor repairs to complete overhauls! We distinguish ourselves from any competition by our exceptional auto repair and customer service!  

    Affordable Auto Service

    At Affordable Auto, we pride ourselves on repairing and maintaining your vehicle right the first time. With over 25 years of experience servicing vehicles, we work on every car like it is our own! No matter what vehicle repair you need, our auto technicians are ready to get you back on the road. We handle all auto repairs to your foreign, domestic, or hybrid vehicle no matter how major or minor. Award winning. Locally owned & operated.  

    Offers by Affordable Auto Service on Angi
    Auto Service
    Auto Radiators
    Auto Body Work
    Auto Tires
    Auto Mufflers
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Auto oil & lube, brakes, repair, tires retail, muffler & exhaust systems.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Hagen Automotive

    How is Hagen Automotive overall rated?

    Hagen Automotive is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Hagen Automotive open?

    Hagen Automotive is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Hagen Automotive provide

    Hagen Automotive accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, American Express

    Does Hagen Automotive offer free estimates?

    Ask Hagen Automotive for details on free project estimates.

    Does Hagen Automotive offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Hagen Automotive does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Hagen Automotive offer a senior discount?

    No, Hagen Automotive does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Hagen Automotive?

    Yes, Hagen Automotive offers warranties.

    What services does Hagen Automotive offer?

    Hagen Automotive offers the following services: Auto oil & lube, brakes, repair, tires retail, muffler & exhaust systems.