Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

MUNK'S MOTORS

Founded 1971 • With Angi since July 2006

4.6

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3080 W HURON

Waterford, MI 48328

Description

We have been the area's premier Bosch-certified import service center for 45 years specializing in Porsche, Volkswagen, Audi, Volvo, Mercedes-Benz, BMW, Saab, Honda,Toyota and more. We also service classic VW (Beetles, buses and Karmann Ghia) as well as classic Porsche including 911, 914, 928,and 944....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

08/03/2020


Cameron S.

If you want to pay tons of money and have a car that runs worst than it did before, take it to Munk’s! Munk’s took 5 weeks to do a tune up and an alignment and I only got my car back after calling them countless times because they don’t communicate with their customers that are paying them $140/hr. Finally picked up my car and the valve cover gasket they replaced was leaking tons of oil all over and the car wouldn’t idle, they even said they didn’t test drive it. Fortunately Chris said he’d fix it and realign it no charge. So I take my car back and they did fix the leaking valve cover but now my car runs even worst this time (I’m actually typing this on the side of the road waiting for somebody to tow me to a mechanic that actually cares.) Stay the **** away from this place unless you have lube and can let munks just f*ck you over and over and take all your money. They always had an excuse for every single thing they did wrong and never actually took blame, they just blame your car for being junk even though they were suppose to fix the problem. If you decide to go to munks make sure you lawyer up so you can sue the f*ck out of them for running a scammy business that takes your money and doesn’t offer you any results.

Description of Work
Alignment and Tune up on 73 Beetle

Category auto repair

5.0

07/17/2016


Marc T.

Description of Work
Very competent and clean shop.

Category auto repair

5.0

02/08/2016


Vincent C.

.

Description of Work
.

Category auto repair

5.0

01/14/2016


Brian H.

Description of Work
Superb work on my vintage VW

Category auto repair

5.0

02/26/2015


Kevin M.

This is the best repair shop I've seen in 30 years! These guys could write a book on great customer service. I've been in the service industry my whole career and, if I built a repair shop, it would look just like this. I've spent a lot of money at Munks and have not felt like any of it was unnecessary or even a questionable expense. From the owner, Chris, to the front office team, George, Alex, & Kim, to the mechanics Rick, Dan, John, Larry and the rest, I've gotten nothing but honest, friendly advice. They excell in looking for low-cost alternatives and have even suggested that I do some of the work myself to save money! W**? They have even told me HOW to do the work. They even offer free clinics on taking care of your car. Who does this these days???

Description of Work
Rewired my dash cluster, repaired door lock actuator, replaced 4 blower motors, replaced sound system, replaced fog lights, etc.

Category auto repair

5.0

09/22/2013


Lois J B.

My son was visiting and had been having trouble with his air conditioning. We had both used Munk's before and have always been impressed with their service. They tell you what needs doing NOW and what can wait. Prices better than most. Friendly guys.

Description of Work
Changed oil and check air conditioning unit in Benz.

Category auto repair

5.0

04/17/2013


Vincent C.

They're terrific. Generally when I have them do work it's done right, and the problem is just solved. They're very good and they're meticulous in their work. They're not cheap, but if you want reliable work, they're the guys. They're very good, their facilities are well kept and some of their customer services guys are better than others, but if you've got a good one they're really top-notch. They're second to none, they answer your questions and make sure you understand what work they did and why they did it, and it's a completely good experience. That's why I keep going back.

Description of Work
I use Munk's Motors for engine repair.

Category auto repair

5.0

11/01/2011


Matthew F.

My experiences at Munks have always been great!

Description of Work
I have been a faithful Munks customers for years. We own (2) VW's that are 10+ years old and although I wouldn't call them "money pits" we do spend a fair amount of money on regular maintenance and repair. In the last few months we've put alot of money into one car to have new brakes & rotors, a coolant leak repaired and a squeaky belt replaced- apx. $2500 total. A couple reasons why I highly recommend Munks: 1. (Not sure if they are the least expensive in the area) but they are true experts and professionals and will spend time explaining the repair, how/ if it will effect other parts/ areas on the car and will even offer options and suggestions when you gotta really stretch your dollar. 2. They don't try to BS you and there isn't a high pressure sales type environment. You get a written, very detailed estimate 3. They warranty their parts/labor if something repaired is a problem again within its warranty period- and they honor it! 4. It's not uncommon to get a call a few days after a repair from Chris or George to make sure everything is cool. 5. It's kind of like the "Cheers" of auto repair. They remember you, appreciate your business and go the extra mile to take good care of you. For instance - they wash your car before returning it to you!

Category auto repair

5.0

09/22/2011


Kimberly E.

I set my appointment for 4:00 p.m. to have the oil changed on my car. It would be my first since owning it. They said it should not take much longer than an hour. When I arrived, with my ferret (Erin) in tow, they welcomed us both with open arms. When I asked for a glass of water, George the service manager knew right away that it was for my ferret and not me. He went to the back and returned with a smile and a glass of water. I had left with a friend of mine to pick up some pet supplies, and received a phone call from George about an hour after I left. I was told that when the technician went to reinstall my oil plug, he found the threads on the pan were stripped. George explained that this can happen when the oil plug is over tightened and he understood that this was nothing I did to the car. George also explained that the technician, Larry, would be able to fix it and save me from having to replace the oil pan itself. The part to fix the oil pan would be in the very next day and I would be able to pick my car up after noon. Even though I was hoping to have my car returned to me before they closed, they allowed me to use one of their rental overnight at no charge to me. The only thing they requested in allowing me the use of the rental at no charge, was to put the gas back to where it was when I took it. They also saved me from the large expense of replacing the oil pan! When I picked my car up the following day, they even asked how the ferret was doing. They treated me with the up most respect and courtesy. They were very professional and the workmanship was top notch! I feel it is the best place to take your German import cars! No one else has maintained either my 2001 New Beetle or 2006 New Beetle TDI since finding them. If you want the best service for your vintage or current import, I recommend taking it to the place that has been in business for over 41 years. Take your car to Munk's!

Description of Work
I had an oil change done on my recently purchased used 2001 Volkswagen New Beetle. Who ever did the maintenance on the car prior to my owning it over tightened the oil plug and stripped the threads on the oil pan. Munk's was able to repair this without having to replace the oil pan.

Category auto repair

5.0

07/21/2006


PHIL H.

Right up front, the whole staff was pleasant and professional. They clearly explained how they would approach the diagnosis, and that they would contact me with what they found before doing any repair. In the end, they could not find the squeek (it had gone away) but they looked at several factors that might have created it and did not find anything. They also narrowed down the source of the ''check engine'' light, but suggested that we simply watch it for a while before we proceed with an expensive repair.

Description of Work
Diagnose a squeeling sound in engine compartment and the cause of the ''check engine'' light coming on.

Category auto repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    RC Trans & Gear

    R C Trans & Gear Inc in Royal Oak, Michigan is a locally owned and operated auto repair shop specializing in transmission and clutch services. We have over 40 years of experience in the transmission repair industry and look forward to serving you. Be sure to ask about our warranty!!  

    AE Auto Care

    AE Auto Care is a full service preventive maintenance and auto repair center in Livonia, Michigan. AE Auto Care services and repairs all domestic and imported cars and trucks. Bring in your imported and domestic auto, SUV, or pickup today with complete confidence that your auto will be serviced or repaired correctly the first time. Don't be worried about the factory warranty on your new car! We have the staff, skills, training, and equipment necessary to perform all required maintenance on your new car or truck while maintaining your warranty. We are the preferred alternative to the dealership for all scheduled maintenance of your personal car or truck, as well as your fleet vehicle. You'll be hard-pressed to find the same level of expertise that our auto mechanic specialists provide! We have years of experience working on both domestic and import vehicles of all makes and models and can work with you to find cost-effective repair and maintenance alternatives. We have been specializing in Car Care Services, General Services, Undercar Services, Heating and Cooling Services, Electrical Services, Transmission Services, Electronic Services, Internal Engine Services, Heavy-Duty Services, Towing and Miscellaneous Services since 1981. For a high-performing vehicle, trust AE Auto Care with your car, truck, or van. To learn more about the services we offer, stop in or give us a call to let us know how we can help you! AE Auto Care Code of Ethics: • To perform high-quality repair at a fair price. • To give the customer a price estimate for work to be performed. • To use only proven high-quality merchandise. • To employ the best skilled technicians obtainable. • To furnish an itemized invoice. Replaced parts may be inspected upon request. • To have a sense of personal obligation to each individual customer. • To recommend corrective and maintenance services, explaining to the customer which of these are required to correct existing problems and which are for preventative maintenance. • To furnish or post copies of any warranties covering parts or services. • To obtain prior authorization for all work done, in writing, or by other means satisfactory to the customer. • To follow state regulations. • To notify the customer if appointments or completion promises cannot be kept. • To exercise reasonable care for the customer's property while in our possession. • To maintain a system for fair settlement of customer's concerns We offer Auto Repair Shop, Wheel Alignment Service, Oil Change Service, Transmission Shop, Tire Shop, Brake Shop, Auto Radiator Repair Service, Wheel Store, Mechanic, Auto Repair, Brake Service, Transmission Repair, Tires, Brakes, Wheels and Tires, Wheels, Car Repair, Auto Shop, Discount Tires, Brake Pads, Auto Tune Up, Tune Up Shop, Tuneup, Struts, Wheel Alignment, Light Truck Repair, SUV Repair, Internal Engine Services, Towing  

    Auto Service
    Auto Inspections
    Auto Transmission
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We service European brands: Audi, BMW, Mercedes-Benze, Porsche, Saab, Volkswagen & Volvo, as well as Asian brands employing Bosch technology: Honda, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Subaru, and Toyota.

    Services Not Offered

    No body and paint work.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about MUNK'S MOTORS

    How is MUNK'S MOTORS overall rated?

    MUNK'S MOTORS is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are MUNK'S MOTORS open?

    MUNK'S MOTORS is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does MUNK'S MOTORS provide

    MUNK'S MOTORS accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal

    Does MUNK'S MOTORS offer free estimates?

    Yes, MUNK'S MOTORS offers free project estimates.

    Does MUNK'S MOTORS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, MUNK'S MOTORS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does MUNK'S MOTORS offer a senior discount?

    No, MUNK'S MOTORS does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by MUNK'S MOTORS?

    Yes, MUNK'S MOTORS offers warranties.

    What services does MUNK'S MOTORS offer?

    MUNK'S MOTORS offers the following services: We service European brands: Audi, BMW, Mercedes-Benze, Porsche, Saab, Volkswagen & Volvo, as well as Asian brands employing Bosch technology: Honda, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Subaru, and Toyota.

    Are there any services MUNK'S MOTORS does not offer?

    No body and paint work.