Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Professional Eye Care Center

Founded 1963 • With Angi since July 2011

5.0

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8957 Edmonston Rd Ste G

Greenbelt, MD 20770

Description

Professional Eye Care Center is a primary eyecare family practice founded in 1963 with emphasis on contact lenses. We have evening and Saturday office hours and see emergencies same day. We offer the best of traditional eyecare in a modern setting. Our office is easy to find and there is ample free parking. Please see our website for more information: www.profeyecare.com...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/17/2017


Sandra L.

Very good experience. They are wonderful. We have used them for years and they give excellent service.

Description of Work
eye exam

Category optometrist

5.0

07/01/2016


Rebecca S.

As always, the appointment was great. Dr. Christine King is my optometrist, and our family (including my lovely wife, as well as her sister) have been coming to Dr. King for over 25 years. She works with her husband - who is also an optometrist - at the Center, and we particularly value and appreciate her professionalism and attention to detail. She truly cares about the "whole" health of her patients, and recognizes how other health factors can affect a patient's eye health. She is an attentive listener and she makes sure to take whatever time is required to explain what she is doing as she goes through testing protocols, answering any questions and conveying her notable skills and extensive knowledge of her profession. She stays current in the field, and from my experience, she provides excellent care and advice for patients using contact lenses and eye glasses. They have a large collection of eye wear to choose from, and the staff are friendly and appear to enjoy their job and working for the doctors in the practice. We highly recommend the Center for anyone seeking an eye care professional service, and in addition to our family, we have introduced Christine to several other friends, who have all noted how terrific she is, thanking us for the recommendation.

Description of Work
Annual eye exam and preparation of new prescription for glasses

Category optometrist

5.0

04/10/2016


Kali C.

I've been going to the Professional Eye Care Center for many years, with much satisfaction. Recently I had a situation where my eyesight became blurred quite suddenly. The staff took my call, consulted with Dr. C. King and promptly called me back. They were able to fit me in at short notice to an already full schedule. Dr. King gave me a thorough examination and identified the problem. She was also quick to reassure me and explain what was going on. She even took the time to make my follow--up appointment herself, as the office staff had already left for the day. I'm very satisfied and glad to be her patient!

Description of Work
Eye problem which developed suddenly

Category optometrist

5.0

06/17/2015


Megan P.

Great! The staff was courteous and prompt. Dr. King was extremely friendly but also professional. He took his time with the examination so that I didn't feel rushed at all. He was also patient with small interruptions from my children and gave them stickers when my exam was finished. I had a wonderful appointment and will return to his office again.

Description of Work
I needed my annual checkup and to re-order my contact lenses.

Category eyeglass repair, optometrist

5.0

03/04/2015


Thomas C.

I had a very good visit. Dr King has a friendly manner and inspires confidence. They didn't push me into buying glasses or contact lenses.

Description of Work
I needed a routine eye examination.

Category eyeglass repair, ophthalmology, optometrist

5.0

01/22/2015


Kathleen W.

Dr. Christine King is caring, thorough in examinations and takes the time to answer any & all questions. Dr. Kevin King, her husband and partner, makes this practice exceptional. Always about the patients (eye) health & comfort.

Description of Work
Irritation to right eye & contact lens had excessive protein build-up. Dr. King (Christine) examined my eye, also checking under the eye lid, polished & cleaned contact lens. No problems since. Excellent service!!

Category ophthalmology

5.0

07/28/2014


Tim S.

They are good. I like the Dr.. Didn't have my style of eyeware, so I'm searching for glasses.

Description of Work
.

Category optometrist

5.0

07/01/2014


Jeannette C.

I usually go to the cheaper, quicker eye care places, but I wasn't satisfied with the service I was getting. I had such a positive experience at Professional Eye Care Center and will only be going there for future checkups. This was my first time going to a traditional eye care practice and the quality of care I received was fantastic. I saw Dr. Christine King. Dr. King explained everything that she was going to do before doing it. She did not rush through anything, I felt like we had all the time we needed. I received a thorough eye exam and was very pleased with my experience there. Dr. King is so warm and caring and I felt comfortable as soon as I met her. I'm prone to panic attacks, and Dr. King made me feel at ease and asked if there was anything she could do, and even brought me a bottle of cold water and said if I needed to, we could stop at any time. After that I was fine and we on to complete the exam. There is also a nice selection of glasses, and someone at the office helped me pick out some frames. That is nice because I always like a second opinion when I pick out frames.

Description of Work
I went for a check up and to get a new prescription for eyeglasses and contacts

Category optometrist

5.0

06/11/2014


Elaine S.

Dr. King was very thorough; he answered all of my questions. His unhurried manner made me feel that he was paying attention to details and really cared to do a good job.

Description of Work
Routine eye exam

Category optometrist

5.0

03/09/2014


Angela W.

I switched to this practice to find one that is convenient and closer to my home. And this is definitely that - you can park literally right in front of the door, which is great. The inside of the office isn't the most current, but the staff are very friendly. I was examined by Dr. Kevin King, and he spent a long time with me a took care to get all the information needed from me and was very friendly in the process.

Description of Work
annual eye exam and to purchase new contact lenses

Category optometrist

5.0

01/15/2014


J J.

Dr. Christine King is excellent. She is thorough and takes as much time as needed to identify and connect problmes and answer questions. I have been coming here for almost 30 years.

Description of Work
Complete eye exam, including contact lenses and glasses.

Category optometrist

5.0

10/07/2013


Jeffrey N.

Working with Professional Eye Care Center is always a positive experience. The staff there are professional, knowledgable, and always willing to go the extra mile to accomodate special circumstances. Dr Christine King has been my Dr. for quite a few years now and is one of the kindest people I know professionally AND personally. She responds to her patients concerns and issues with concern and really puts them at ease. She explains her procedures and diagnosis thoroughly and takes the extra effort to be sure they understand. Wonderful experiences ALWAYS !!

Description of Work
Annual Checkup and follow up to surgery

Category ophthalmology, optometrist, lasik

5.0

09/12/2013


Christopher C.

The appointment staff were pleasant and efficient. The charges were clearly explained. The check-in process was not time consuming with the usual handful of information and histoiry forms to be completed. The per-screening for glaucoma and general issues was conducted by a trained staff member. dr kebin king conducted the exam. He was plesant and very thorough. He was able to explain the differences of the new eyeglass prescription from the previous one. This included ghis opinion on why the past prescription had been problematic for me. In sum, I found this exam more thorough than recent ones I had received from other doctors. The resulting prescription has worked well. I will definitiely use him for future eye examinations.

Description of Work
My wife and I had routine eye exams and an updated prescription for eyeglasses.

Category ophthalmology, optometrist

5.0

08/19/2013


William Christopher H.

Everything went smoothly, eye exam was great, staff was cordial and easy to work with. I had to call to find out if my glasses had arrived. They didn't call me or if they did, I did not get the message. Otherwise everything was excellent.

Description of Work
Went to get an eye exam and glasses.

Category ophthalmology, optometrist

5.0

05/09/2013


William Christopher H.

Everything went very smoothly. There seemed to be a lot of paperwork but they took me as soon as it was completed and actually used the information during the examination. The selection of eyeglasses is extensive and I was able to find some that I like.

Description of Work
I went in for a routine Eye examination and the experience was uneventful (the way I like all healthcare appointments to be). The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. They already had my insurance information and coverages on a print-out. The price was reasonable. I got a sense of comfort that they know what they are doing here and they seem to be missing some of the modern-day healthcare arrogance.

Category optometrist

5.0

04/01/2013


JACQUELINE W.

For one thing, she always takes her time with and answers all questions. She is very calming and is interested in your whole person. As far as other medical changes and how they may have affected your vision. I feel like I never have a dumb question with her. She encourages you to ask questions.

Description of Work
I have gone to see Dr Christine for 15 years.

Category optometrist

5.0

01/03/2013

Kevin King is an intelligent, friendly, and through doctor with a friendly and efficient office staff. He has always taken the time to explain the condition of my eyes and advises when it is (or isn't) necessary to use glasses. When buying glasses, the office gives a discount to customers paying cash (rather than using insurance), and the staff then assists the customer in filling out the insurance paperwork to get reimbursed themselves, which is a nice touch. The main issue when buying glasses at this office is the price. Although the doctor takes the standard insurance reimbursement for eye exams, the frames and lenses are very expensive, more than anywhere else I've been, and they far exceed the benefits paid by insurance companies. At Kevin King's office, you will get a great eye exam for the same cost as anywhere else (if you have insurance), but you will end up paying for it when you buy glasses there.

Description of Work
I have used Kevin King's services for several years, getting routine eye exams, buying glasses, and getting examinations for minor ophthalmologic problems.

Category ophthalmology, optometrist

5.0

12/05/2012


Lorelei H.

The visit went very well and was comprehensive, including the eye exam, a change in eyeglass prescription and new contact lenses. I also purchased a new pair of sunglasses that had to be ordered with the glare coating. The consultation, level of custom care and service was thorough and well explained from start to finish. The quality of care is always excellent, with each of us enjoying outstanding vision. They stay on top of follow-up appointments for optimum vision quality and tracking any changes.

Description of Work
My son's 6-month eye exam; also needed new glasses/a new prescription and contact lenses My husband and I also use this practice/optometrists

Category optometrist

5.0

10/30/2012


Kathleen V.

After having problems using my progressive lenses to read piano music, I decided to have an eye exam and ask an optometrist for a better solution. I found Professional Eye Care Center on Angie's List, read the positive reviews, and decided to give it a try. The office was easy to find, clean and attractive, and the front desk personnel were pleasant and welcoming. I waited about 15 minutes past my actual appointment time - about average for a visit with any sort of doctor, so this was not a big deal. Dr Kevin King has an easy and likeable manner and was patient in listening to my concerns in order to find a solution. The exam was very thorough, and I appreciated the amount of time he took with me. The staff member who measured me for frames was also thorough and professional. I was given an accurate estimate of how long it would take for the glasses to be ready, and picked them up about two weeks later. They work quite well!

Description of Work
I had an eye exam and was fitted for and ordered a pair of glasses.

Category optometrist

4.0

09/07/2012

He was professional, I really liked him. It was a little bit more expensive then I thought but he was a good doctor.

Description of Work
I went into get my eyes evaluated and look into contact lens.

Category optometrist

5.0

08/06/2012


Ethel M.

I love the practice. I find the doctors personable. They explain their procedures. They let me know all changes that are occurring with my eyes. Also, you can go ahead and order your glasses right there within the same appointment. My appointment was scheduled right away. There was no waiting. The office environment is pleasant. The staff is very friendly. It's a really personable practice.

Description of Work
I went to Professional Eye Care Center for my annual eye exam.

Category ophthalmology, optometrist

5.0

06/06/2012


Robert S.

The over all from start to finish was professionalism and their care for me is immaculate. You feel their wisdom, knowledgeable and their sincerity thorough though you are their number one "care" and "patient" and their optical department is number 1.

Description of Work
Services performed a complete and total eye examination in all areas described to me my prescription changes.

Category optometrist

5.0

05/30/2012


Lorelei H.

Our family has been going to Professional Eye Care Center for years -- we wear contact lenses, and our vision is excellent. Both of the King doctorsprovide outstanding, custom eye care for our particular needs. They're dedicated to the highest quality of vision possible for every patient. The staff is always friendly, offering their help and guidance with choosing glasses/frames with the highest quality and fit offering leading, stylish brands.

Description of Work
We visit for regular appointments and special appointments as needed for our overall vision care.

Category optometrist

5.0

04/04/2012

We will vouch for both of them. We have been going there for a number of years. My husband is alive probably because of her. This couple is extremely professional and they have impeccable table side manners. They are just a delight. I have never looked forward to going to a doctor's office before, but I look forward to going to our eye doctor. I have never had a doctor of any kind that has been like these 2. We will be going back there again in a few weeks. I would absolutely recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Dr. King is our ophthalmologist. She works with her husband, Dr. Kevin King. They are with the Professional Eye Care Center. We went for a routine eye check-up for our 3 daughters. She was the first one to catch in a routine eye exam that he had some white woolly stuff floating behind his eye which indicated either diabetes or high blood pressure; and his high blood pressure was almost at the point of killing him and he never even knew he had it. She was the one that sent us to a doctor; and he was immediately put on all kinds of stuff because of how horrible it was. He also had diabetes and didn’t know it. She detected both of those in a routine eye exam.

Category ophthalmology

5.0

07/22/2011

I have been using him forever and I see him once a year. He practices at the Professional Eye Care Center. He's performed my entire eye exams included dilated eye exam and the vision field exam. I wear glasses rather than contact lenses. I see him about once a year. I have seen others at the practice but mostly him. I have to say that it is a pretty comfortable environment. You can have your eye exam there and also select frames as well as lenses, all in one visit. The prices I find are reasonable but I have insurance.

Description of Work
Dr. Kevin King is my optometrist and I last saw him in May for an exam.

Category optometrist

    Eye Care - Optometry
    Eye Care - Ophthalmology
    Eye Care - Optical Sales & Repair
    Eye Care - LASIK
    Alternative Med. - General
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

    Services Offered

    Optometric, Optical & LASIK

    Services Not Offered

    Eye Surgery

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Professional Eye Care Center

    How is Professional Eye Care Center overall rated?

    Professional Eye Care Center is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Professional Eye Care Center open?

    Professional Eye Care Center is open:

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does Professional Eye Care Center provide

    Professional Eye Care Center accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

    Does Professional Eye Care Center offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Professional Eye Care Center does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    What services does Professional Eye Care Center offer?

    Professional Eye Care Center offers the following services: Optometric, Optical & LASIK

    Are there any services Professional Eye Care Center does not offer?

    Eye Surgery