
Tails on Trails
About us
At Tails on Trails, our relationship with you is just as important as the one we have with your pet. We are a professional dog walking and pet sitting business. We are proud to be recognized by the Washingtonian Magazine's 2013 Best of Issue in the category of Pet Care. Our company is staffed with employees, not contractors. They are professionally trained and insured beyond basic insurance and bonding. Additionally, they have undergone thorough background checks. We have a scheduling line, staffed, at all dog walking times, to answer any questions and schedule any needs, including last-minute needs. Our staff, of 25 employees, is made up of experienced pet handlers that love what they do. Our goal is to provide you excellent pet care and to build a lasting relationship. We are flexible to your needs as well.
Business highlights
Services we offer
Daily mid-day dog walks, overnight care, pet taxi, vacation pet sitting, weekend walks and pet care.
Amenities
Emergency Services
Yes
Free Estimates
Yes
Accepted Payment Methods
- CreditCard
| Number of Stars | Image of Distribution | Number of Ratings |
|---|---|---|
| 87% | ||
| 0% | ||
| 0% | ||
| 9% | ||
| 4% |
Unfortunately, an unannounced change made by the company in early January of this year came to my attention when new walkers-in-training showed up at a time I thought was quite late. Upon checking the online schedule, I discovered that the window for arrival of walkers had been changed from 11:30a-12:30p to 11:45a-1:15p, which is quite a different wait for a pup under six months of age considering we leave home at 8am.
This change closely followed a day in which I was informed after I'd left for work that a normally scheduled half-hour visit would be cut short to just 15 minutes due to poor weather. No credit to my account was offered or given, though it bears mentioning that if the customer makes a change for the following week any time after Thursday, the company policy is to charge you half of that day's fees. In other words, if I find out on Friday I'm going to be working from home next Thursday and won't need a walk, I still get charged half of the fee for that visit.
In any case, when I contacted the company about the change to the scheduled walk, there was no expressed concern that they'd done so without making effort to communicate that to us--the customer--ahead of time. It was simply stated as the way things would be. When I noted (politely; I'm happy to post my part of the exchange if anyone is curious) that we would simply liked to have known about and discussed the change, the response conveyed a tone of "this is our new schedule, and your new time of walks; if you don't like it, you can find another walker" in so many words, however politely.
So find another walker we did. Though I'm not bargain hunting, they are much less expensive (by 30% for a half-hour walk), yet far more responsive. Changes can be made the day of the walk without any additional fees. Federal "snow days" don't mean a canceled walk (great for those of us who don't operate on the government's schedule). Finally--and most importantly--the owner visited with us in our home for at least an hour to discuss our dog and our needs, how we were training the dog, etc. We talked about changes down the road, to be discussed in advance, namely a move to a two-hour walk window when the pup is ready for that change, but again... after a discussion with us.
In the weeks since we switched to the new provider, I can't say the quality of walks has improved or diminished... they are every bit as good as Tails on Trails, and that is a huge compliment. However, the scheduling/administrative side of Tails on Trails could use some work in my opinion. Your mileage may vary.
"I so appreciate you taking the time to discuss your experience with our company. Feedback is important to us. When you first started with us, we did in fact, provide a one-hour window for services. That is typically how we work with puppies for twice a day service. At the time you started, and as stated in our agreement, once you go to once a day service, all mid-day services need a 90-minute window. Many of our clients provide us a two-hour window. This window is necessary as we are always so accommodating for canceling and adding appointments the day of service. You can account to this as you had canceled your regular appointments a significant amount of time. In fact, during the short time you were with us, you canceled 14 out of the 30 appointments you had scheduled, not including the holidays, of course. As a result, when clients add and cancel service, we do need some flexibility to meet the needs of all of our clients. We need to then move clients around to route the sitters properly. When you requested a 60-minute window, we told you we would do our best but that we request a 90-minute window. When you expressed not wanting a visit as late as 1:15 PM, we offered you a slightly earlier window of 11:30 AM until 1:00 PM and you refused that as well. We provided a few different options to you, but when you insisted on the one-hour window of noon to 1 PM, we said we would do our best. A few of the days you were unhappy about were days when snow and ice were on the ground. We always work to be as flexible as possible. We were also extremely responsive to all of your requests for changes and needs. I did not feel it was a smart idea to promise something we might not be able to meet. We are a very honest and hard-working staff. We respond to every request, concern, or special need within hours of requesting it of us. We have over 500 very fair and satisfied clients. I find your characterization of our company, staff, and our reputation extremely unwarranted. I would hope anyone reading this review would see we have many, many other happy customers. I am sorry we couldn't meet your needs. I feel it is better to be honest about that, rather than making a promise we couldn't keep. I would be happy to address this issue with you or anyone reading this."
My fiance put notes on the locations of the wet food and silverware, but for some unknown reason, another food was used. I received a text while on vacation that there was an ant problem and the food bowls had been moved. The person also reported the cats weren't eating very much, and upon arriving home and seeing the wrong food cans in the trash can (not in the recycling), I knew immediately WHY the cats weren't eating. Our one cat was a little hefty and she has noticeably lost weight. If there was any question as to which food to use, it would have been nice to receive a text or phone call for clarification. There were also multiple handfuls of treats left on the stairs, presumably for the cats to snack on when they were more comfortable (they are rather shy around strangers), but they had been sitting out so long, they were dried out and hard as rocks.
Finally, the litter box had not had fresh litter put into it for the entire week we were gone. My fiance said it wasn't scooped very well either as there were still many remnants in the bottom to be scraped off. There were 2 boxes of fresh litter right next to the litter box, one of which was unopened, so I don't understand why the box was not refreshed.
Based on our two experiences, I think this company is a much better fit for something like daily dog walks when owners are at work or short weekend trips. I would not recommend using them for any lengthy vacations and I will personally not be using them again at all.
"Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our services. I am disappointed you were not happy with our level of care. We always strive to exceed customer needs as noted by several of our satisfied clients that have reviewed our services as well. We have many, many happy clients that have utilized us for up to two months at a time. The length of time of your reservation should and has never made a difference in the level of our care. I very much would like to discuss your experience with you and make it right with you. Please call me, at any time, to discuss your concerns. I take our reputation and quality of care very, very seriously. I certainly wish you would have reached out to discuss it with me then. However, I welcome an opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to me."
"Thank you for your review. We love having Lexi in the Tails on Trails family. She is a delight to be around!"
"Thanks [member name removed]! We love having Gaby and Pepe in the Tails on Trails family. They are great pups!"
"We have absolutely no record of you as a client and we do not service Finksburg. Is it possible you have a different company?"
"Thanks [member name removed]. I know Josh loves seeing your pups!"
"[removed member name]. We really appreciate your continuing to use us. Link is a wonderful guy!"
"Thank you so much [Member Name Removed]. We look forward to working with you for many trips to come!"
"Katie is a joy to care for and we love her. Thanks!"
"[removed member name], I am sorry to hear about your experience. We are not based out of Baltimore, nor do we charge extra for any areas."
"Thanks for your kind words. We love having you guys in the Tails on Trails family and are glad you can relax and enjoy your time away!"
"Thank you [member name removed]. We so appreciate you taking the time to review us. We love the walking J & S. They are great dogs!"
"Hi [member name removed], Thanks for the review. We are glad the visits went well!"
"Thank you [member name removed]. We love having Rocky in the family. I am happy to know we are doing a great job with your services. Always know, if there is ever anything you would like done differently, we are flexible to your needs. Thanks again!"
They are professional and flexible. You can set up an appointment on a short notice. It?s easy to pay your bills. It?s easy to contact them, text them, and email them. They do a good job with the dogs. The dogs love them. I would use them in the future.
Licensing
State Contractor License Requirements
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.