BA Auto Care

Founded 1978 • With Angi since June 2005

4.8

(81) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9577 Berger Rd

Columbia, MD 21046

Description

Award winning, auto service and repairs for Asian, European, and American cars, our expert technicians and friendly service representatives will help you to maximize the life of your car. Additional e-mail: sandie@britishamericanauto.com

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/18/2016


Harris F.

I have been using them for many years.

Description of Work
For auto services, we always use British American Auto Care.

Category auto repair

5.0

06/29/2016


Terry C.

I have been using them for 25 years.

Description of Work
I use British American Auto. The last time I took a car to them was for auto repair.

Category auto repair

5.0

04/23/2015


Richard L.

They're very good at repairs. They're very thorough. You do pay a premium but you get what you paid for. They're not cheap. They're pretty straight forward on what is needed to get done and what is needed to hold off on everything.

Description of Work
They've done regular maintenance stuff and repair.

Category car inspections

5.0

07/09/2014


Robert K.

Update: I went back to British Automotive after speaking with Brian and Zane, so they could take a look at the issue I was having with the previous repair at no cost. After looking at the vehicle, it appears to be a bushing or a malfunction with the replacement part. Zane, immediately asked when I could bring it in so it could be repaired under warranty. Awesome! I plan to bring my car in for servicing so the parts and service can be repaired under warranty. Again, Zane and the staff, as always, were very professional and friendly. I will update again upon completion of the repairs. I am very happy to chalk my earlier review up to miscommunication. I have always been very happy British Automotive customer, and they are out of their way get keep me as a customer. OLD I had a creaking noise in my front suspension. I scheduled an appointment and dropped the vehicle off to be worked on. I was told that the source of the creaking noise was a worn ball joint that needed to be replaced. With the alignment, the total came to approximately $480. Not what I was hoping for but, stuff happens. I had the repairs completed. I noticed that the creaking noise was still there after the $480 spent on the repair. I called back to see how British Automotive could fix the problem. I was told that I could drop off the vehicle and they could inspect it for $55 to determine the problem. If the problem was the replaced ball joint they would refund the $55 and stand behind the installation of the ball joint. That's all well and good, however, I have already paid for the diagnosis and repair of the cause the noise. That the true problem was misdiagnosed, missed, or a faulty part may have been used in the repair is the service provider's responsibility. I should not be asked to pay again to determine what is causing the noise. If a widget is broken and I pay for the diagnosis and repair, but after the repair widget is still broken, should I have to repay for the determination of the problem again? Furthermore, it makes me question if I paid for the replacement of a ball joint unnecessarily. They are all very nice people. I have used them before for servicing my vehicles and I have nothing personal against them. I was quite happy to think I found a reputable shop, however, this is not standing behind your work.

Description of Work
Repair a creaking noise in the suspension.

Category auto repair, car tires

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this feed back, I pulled the records related to the noise you experienced and talked to Zane, see if you agree with this timeline. Technician was allowed half an hour ($55) to check this out. (Checking and diagnosing a noise that can be reproduced normally costs between $55 to $100.) The technician could not find any issues with the power steering so he moved forward to checking the location of the noise, Zane the service writer helped with this and together they located the problem. Zane could feel the dry ball joint. After performing the repair the noise had gone. This week Zane discussed the noise with you and asked if it sounded the same, the description recorded on file was a noise when turning right and the vehicles weight shifts. From this description it sounded like a new noise so he felt there might be diagnostic charges. But.... Our policy is if a customer returns for a problem that is related to a past repair we do not charge. The service writer confirms the problem and assigns the job to the technician. After the technician gives the service writer his report we determine if it is a new issue. With noises this is especially important and it is why when you have a noise we fill out the Noise Vibration and Harshness (NVH) diagnosis form, we give a copy to the technician and keep one on file. As you can tell from the timeline our service writers are very "hands on" we have all worked on cars for many years and work with the technician to get an answer for a noise as quick as possible. Many times after road testing a vehicle with a customer to know what the problem is and there are no charges. Please call me if you have any follow up questions or you disagree with the timeline. Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your concerns.
5.0

06/16/2014


Carol B.

Excellent responsiveness when I called "last minute" with a report of a brake issue; they made room in heir schedule the next day. All questions were answered at vehicle pickup. Vehicle was ready when promised. Vehicle drove like new!

Description of Work
New rear breaks and full scheduled service interval

Category auto repair

5.0

05/08/2014


Michael K.

As expected, rotor warped was the problem and they called me to provide an estimate for replacement of the rotors (front). They told me the pads themselves did not need replacing as they were still the OEM and had plenty of wear remaining on them. Also had them do the 50,000 mile servicing and an oil change ($120 for synthetic oil and the filter and labor). Total bill for the rotor replacement was approx. 550.00 with OEM parts which was in line with the estimate.

Description of Work
Diagnostic brake check for vibrating steering wheel on braking, 50,000 mile service and oil/filter change.

Category auto repair

5.0

04/30/2014


Michael B.

They did just what they said they would. They gave us a ride back and forth. Scheduling was very easy.

Description of Work
They provided regular maintenance on our Toyota Prius. We've used their service for a couple of years.

Category auto repair

5.0

03/14/2014


Sharon F.

I can to talk to the owner or the mechanics, if maybe they'll pick a drive with us to hear what were talking about. I think they have a good value. They don't try to up sale. They also let us know what's coming up and we develop options on what to do then.

Description of Work
We used the services of British American Auto Care. We were maintaining a Subaru and a little Chevy truck and I think the Chevy truck.

Category auto repair

5.0

02/09/2014


Rebecca A.

My van would not start and once my husband got it started again we took the van in after hours. The next morning we got an immediate response as to the problem, starter plus relay, and the cost. After given the O.K. the team fixed everything before the end of the day. We picked up the van and it started right away. This was a time when the weather was extremely cold. Although they worked quickly and did give us a labor discount the fee took us aback.

Description of Work
.

Category auto repair

5.0

09/26/2013


Marlon P.

The are really professional

Description of Work
They did tune up

Category auto repair

5.0

09/20/2013


Nancy T.

Fantastic experience all the way around.

Description of Work
Fixed oil leak and replaced some hoses as well as other minor maintenance

Category auto repair

5.0

09/12/2013


Frank A.

the most efficient car service company in the area. prompt attention to any concerns

Description of Work
service work

Category auto repair

5.0

09/03/2013


Bill S.

They scheduled the car. When i arrived they offered to drive me back to my home (which they did). Then they called me with an estimate for the work. The car was ready when they said and offered to pick me up at my home and drive me back to their shop. The Owner (Mr. English) went over the car with me and explained what had been done.

Description of Work
Repaired the electrical wiring, brakes, and engine tune-up.

Category auto repair

5.0

08/24/2013


Nitalu S.

The entire staff were friendly and helpful. The technicians were professional and informed. The estimate was accurate and the work was performed as estimated.

Description of Work
diagnosed all systems on 2003 Toyota Prius, changed oil and did scheduled maintenance

Category auto repair

5.0

07/08/2013


Olga J.

30,000 mile inspection at a fraction of what the dealership would have charged to maintain warranty! Made me an additional electronic key and was very honest and fair. I observed this not only with myself but other customers in there. I highly recommend British American and will definitely be back. A+++++

Description of Work
30,000 mile mandatory inspection and key made

Category auto repair

5.0

06/18/2013


Richard G. K.

It went very well. I got there around 7:30 a.m. and they were ready to do the initial service. I was a given a ride back to my home at 8 a.m. Around 10:30 a.m. I got the expected call about what they found. They then recommended the transmission service and changing the belts, (they may have been the original belts) which I accepted. They also recommended getting 4 new tires with accompanying 4 wheel alignment, which I declined. They quoted the final price, which was in the range which I expected and said the car would be ready around 4 p.m. at which point I would be picked up for the ride back to the facility. When I picked up the car, a service technician discussed the results with me. He pointed out the need for new tires, but said that they could wait until the next service, which I accepted. It was also suggested that I return in a few hundred miles to have the belts inspected for proper tension, which I did at no charge. I like their approach. They tell me what they think I need, and what I don't need, and I am free to make my choices. I like their honesty and the service is very good. They do quality work, which is worth the price they charge. I have dealt with them for some 14 years, and never have had to return to have something corrected. I will continue to use them in the future.

Description of Work
Performed the 30,000 mile service. Drained and filled the transmisión. Replaced the belts.

Category auto repair, transmission repair

5.0

05/31/2013


Mark W.

Everything went perfectly from a prompt response to my email through service and return. I will use them again in the future for sure.

Description of Work
MD inspection

Category auto repair

5.0

05/21/2013


Janyce O.

They were honest, very thorough and very trustworthy. They had a fair price. We will absolutely use them again in the future.

Description of Work
We used British American Auto Care Incorporated for trunk repair.

Category auto repair

5.0

05/17/2013


Virginia G.

They are very honest and they have good work. I think they also have a fair price. I've been using them for 20 years now.

Description of Work
I brought my car to British American Auto Care for its window problem and putting in new tires to it.

Category auto repair

5.0

05/01/2013


Kathryn J.

I like them. They are not the cheapest. They are reasonable because they give excellent service. They are very helpful consistently. They really think about whether the replacement is necessary or not. They take good care of my car. It seems like I am not getting ripped off. They are very thorough on how they do it. They take the time to explain to me very well on what they are doing. I have gone in there different times, they have pulled me back to the show room to show me how worn something is. They seemed very transparent and super trustworthy.

Description of Work
I took my car to British American Auto Care Inc to replace my clutch. I have used them multiple times.

Category auto repair

5.0

03/15/2013


Douglas D.

I use them all the time. They are thorough and polite. They care for the customer. Even a gentleman who gives me a ride on the van was a first class person. It is a great place.

Description of Work
I used British American Auto Care Inc for auto service. During my last visit they diagnosed some electric problem.

Category auto repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words, customer input is very important to us, it is great to know we are on the right track.
5.0

03/04/2013


Laurian H.

We have been using Brittian American Auto Care for about 2 years now and I have always been really impressed with their service. I know everything about computers and almost nothing about my car, and so I feel a lot of anxiety about trusting people to fix my car. The people at BA Auto do a great job of calming my fears, explaining everything to me, and telling me what are the choices I have (e.g., to buff my headlights v. replacing them). While their price is higher than other places, I feel that is because their service is so excellent and thorough. They call me on time, they give me 100% accurate estimates, and everything about the work they do is transparent.

Description of Work
We had the 90K mile service which involved a set of fluids being flushed and checking items on the car. I think we may have also replaced the headlights.

Category auto repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. We all work hard to make auto service and repair a good experiance. Thanks again.
5.0

01/29/2013


Aaron C.

I now live in Sterling VA, far from British and American Auto Care, but if I lived in Columbia again, I would not hesitate to use these guys. In the early 2000's, after almost 2 years of struggling with a persistent issue where my car would constantly conk out, I finally decided to go to British & American to see if they could resolve the problem. Within an hour, they had discovered the underlying issue (the engine electronics and wiring had been jury-rigged to death by the previous clueless mechanics) and resolved the problem once and for all. On another occasion, I came in with a light issue and they changed a fuse free of charge and told me to go on my way! While they are not the most inexpensive auto service station available they are certainly honest, trustworthy and know their stuff to boot! Highly recommended!

Description of Work
A persistent issue where my car would constantly conk out

Category auto repair

5.0

11/26/2012


Sharon B.

They provide thorough and comprehensive diagnosis. When I go to British American Auto I feel very comfortable that everything has been done correctly. They always follow up to make sure that I am happy with the work they have done. I feel that they are a very honest and don't try to inflate the work that needs to be done.

Description of Work
They fixed the heating and air conditioning system.

Category auto repair

5.0

06/22/2012


Evan W.

mThe overall experience was excellent. I took advantage of their free shuttle to take me home after I dropped off the car, they called me multiple times to keep me updated on the progress and ask questions to make sure I had everything addressed that I wanted, and the car was ready exactly at the time they told me. It was night and day working with these guys compared with some other shops I have dealt with before. British AMerican is without a doubt the most competent and professional shop I have ever dealt with.

Description of Work
British American replaced the two rear strut mounts on my car (BMW 530i) and performed a four wheel alignment. My car performed perfectly after they had done the repairs.

Category auto repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Hillen Tire & Auto Service

    Additional Contacts: Brian  

    Angi Certified

    Smart Choice Mobile Auto Detailing

    We are a detailing company that comes to you, we bring our own water and electricity and we can come to anywhere your car is at, we are very convenient because you don’t have to wait around at the detail shop for hours, check our website for extremely affordable prices. Click here to schedule your car detailing: https://www.smartchoicedetailing.com/book-appointment  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Auto Service
    Auto Inspections
    Auto Tires
    Auto Transmission
    Auto Detailing
    Auto Radiators
    Auto Mufflers
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Services from minor oil changes to major services, bulb and wiper replacement, check engine light diagnosis, tires, batteries, exhaust systems, wheel balancing & 4-wheel alignment, automatic and manual transmission, parts, brake, timing belt, state inspection, maryland emissions & fuel injection. See website for additional services.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BA Auto Care

    How is BA Auto Care overall rated?

    BA Auto Care is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are BA Auto Care open?

    BA Auto Care is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does BA Auto Care provide

    BA Auto Care accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does BA Auto Care offer free estimates?

    No, BA Auto Care does not offer free project estimates.

    Does BA Auto Care offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, BA Auto Care offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BA Auto Care offer emergency services?

    Yes, BA Auto Care offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by BA Auto Care?

    No, BA Auto Care does not offer warranties.

    What services does BA Auto Care offer?

    BA Auto Care offers the following services: Services from minor oil changes to major services, bulb and wiper replacement, check engine light diagnosis, tires, batteries, exhaust systems, wheel balancing & 4-wheel alignment, automatic and manual transmission, parts, brake, timing belt, state inspection, maryland emissions & fuel injection. See website for additional services.