Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE

Founded 1967 • With Angi since February 2009

4.9

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7365 GRAND AVE

Gurnee, IL 60031

Description

Complete Automotive Service Repair...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/21/2020


Patrick K.

Consistently trustworthy, expert and professional. What else do you need in a repair shop? Just brought my latest “new to me” car for a full shake down and scheduled service not performed by the last owner. Partnering with D Wells is the secret to a long life for any car.

Description of Work
Many things over 20 years...

Category auto repair

5.0

05/31/2020


Paul K.

The entire AC system has to be replaced on this vehicle, when the compressor quits. Bad engineering decision by the manufacturer, but D Wells handled everything appropriately, and got it done quickly. They provided a loaner vehicle, which was a huge plus! I've been a customer here for 20 years or so, and have no reason to consider anywhere else. They're good, honest folks!

Description of Work
Air conditioning system quit working...

Category auto repair

5.0

01/10/2017


Larry P.

We've always been happy with them.

Description of Work
We used D. Wells Automotive for auto service. They did an oil change for my husband.

Category auto repair

5.0

08/24/2016


Larry P.

Description of Work
.

Category auto repair

5.0

07/27/2016


Roger M.

Description of Work
.

Category auto repair

5.0

09/04/2015


Jennifer D.

Category auto repair

5.0

06/08/2015


David J.

I've been using Wells Auto for many years. They charge a fair price and do quality work. I recommend them for tires, brakes, suspension and general vehicle maintenance.

Description of Work
Oil change.

Category auto repair,car tires

5.0

06/05/2014


Chad A.

They always seem to find a way to squeeze you in when you need service, the waiting room if very comfortable with free coffee, and TV. Bathrooms are very clean, and their prices are very fair. I will use D. Wells anytime I need service since they do more than just tires.

Description of Work
Put on New Tires purchased from Tire Rack.com.

Category auto repair

5.0

07/19/2012


PATRICIA R.

It went great. They were very professional and helpful.

Description of Work
They fixed my air conditioning in my car. I had previously taken my car to another mechanic and they mis diagnosed the problem. The very first time I took the car in, Wells did not charge me as they couldnt find anything wrong with the air conditioning. I finally took it in when the problem was happening, and they found it and fixed it. It works great now.I have definitely found a new mechanic.

Category auto repair

5.0

08/24/2009


Daryl P.

I originally called Wells for tires and I had already done homework on the tires I wanted. They did not carry the brand that I wanted, but they said they would research the brand and get back to me. When they called back they told me the tires I wanted were excelllent and that they would order them for me. They did not try to push a brand they had on premises which impressed me. When my radiator failed they promptly fixed it for me and also advised me of problems that might have occured as a result of some work that was done at another shop. They did not attempt to do more than what I asked. They also gave me background information that helped me with the dispute I was having with the other shop as a result of the information they gave me. When I had problems with the fan motor they replaced they promptly fixed it and did not attempt to bill me anything additionally for the work. Wells Automotive was prompt, courteous, and HONEST. I am completely satisfied and will continue to use their services!

Description of Work
Purchased a set of tires for my Jeep Cherokee. I also had a radiator,fan and fan motor replaced in a seperate visit.

Category auto repair,car tires

5.0

02/24/2009


HELEN H.

Apart from the tires, we get the maintenance done on the jeep by them. The last time I used them was for standard service and oil change. At some point, no matter how good a person is, they make mistakes. They are extremely good at making up for it and that is the best thing about them. It is not often that I have a problem with them. They tried to fix something and it did not work, so I took it back to them they corrected it. They normally waive off the additional charge. They are great to work with and treat you fairly.

Description of Work
We take the car to Well s Goodyear.

Category auto repair

1.0

12/05/2005


David C.

VERY UNPROFESSIONAL NOT TO CALL BACK AS PROMISED. NOTHING BUT A WASTE OF MY TIME.

Description of Work
CALLED D WELLS FOR TIRE ESTIMATE. AN UNKNOWN LADY TOOK ALL THE INFORMATION AND SAID THAT SHE WOULD INVESTIGATE AND CALL ME BACK. SHE NEVER RETURNED THE CALL.

Category car tires

    Other local Pros in your area

    MD Auto Solutions

    Located at 716 Grand Ave. Ingleside, IL 60041. We started our business servicing only Acura’s and Honda’s. Through the years our customers requested we work on their other vehicles they owned as well. Now we provide service for Domestics as well as Foreign cars. We saw how customers were being treated at the local dealerships. Customers were paying for work that wasn’t actually being done to the car and prices were unfair to the customer as well. He wanted to change all that to benefit the customer. Since Christoph's Automotive, and now known as MD Auto Solutions has been in business, they have won several awards for great service and satisfied customers, most recently they were recognized as one of the best shops in Chicagoland, by Chicago Magazine, and has also received recognition by Consumer's Checkbook. Our Top 3 Priorities: Quality We employ only ASE Certified technicians. Our technicians have an average of 20 years of experience in auto repair. Value We shop for different parts & help you choose the right application for you. We'll help prioritize your needs, & work with your extended warranty. Trust We've built our auto repair business on referrals. We build a lasting relationship with our clients, and we will do everything possible to earn your trust.  

    Eliot's Complete Auto Repair Shop

    Repairing cars since 1986. State of the art repair facility with the latest diagnostic equipment and the latest alingnment equipment. YOU get 2 guarantees not seen anywhere else.. #1) If you are not completely 100% satisfied, come back within 30 days and I'll give you all your money back. #2) If you are not completely 100% satisfied, come back within 17 days and I'll buy your car. But there are more reasons to use my shop: 3. You may use one of my FREE loaner cars while your car is serviced. 4. 95% of the time your car will be finished the day you drop it off. 5. YOU will be called before any repairs are done to your car, or the repairs are FREE. 6. 24/7 towing by calling Jorge at 773-494-0169 7. I'm 1 1/2 block walk to the CTA Addison El stop. 8. If you can find another shop in the area with more testimonials than I have, I'll give you $500.00! 9. 100% of the parts I use meet or exceed your manufacturer's specifications. 10. If you find another shop with guarantees equal or better than mine I'll give you $500.00!  

    Reliable Auto Repair Center Inc

    Family owned business for 20+ years at the same location. Serving the North Side since 1991.  

    Auto Service
    Auto Tires
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Full Service Auto. Goodyear Tires. General car maintenance.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE

    How is D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE overall rated?

    D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE open?

    D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE provide

    D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available

    Does D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE offer free estimates?

    No, D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE does not offer free project estimates.

    Does D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE offer a senior discount?

    No, D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE?

    Yes, D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE offers warranties.

    What services does D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE offer?

    D. WELLS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE offers the following services: Full Service Auto. Goodyear Tires. General car maintenance.