Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-1 Hardwood Flooring Inc

Founded 1958 • With Angi since June 2010

4.1

(26) Verified Reviews

Description

At A-1 Hardwood Flooring, Inc. we specialize in all types of flooring such as laminate, engineered and hardwood floors. From helping you choose the right flooring for your living space to providing a fair and accurate estimate, you can count on us every step of the way....

Other local Pros in your area

Source One Hardwood Flooring LLC

Sanding and Refinishing! If you are looking to rejuvenate your home look no further than Source One Hardwood Flooring LLC! With nearly 2 decades of experience we are the foremost authority in home improvement services for the Chicago area. We are a family owned and operated company specializing in all aspects of home improvement, but our bread and butter is all matter of Flooring – Hardwood and Laminate – but offer much more! Contact us today to schedule an appointment for your home.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by Source One Hardwood Flooring LLC on Angi
C.A.C. Flooring Inc

Give us a call today for your flooring needs!  

JW Flooring Corp

We have more than 20 years of experience. We install all kinds of new hardwood floors, restore and provide professional maintenance of existing ones. Our specialty is custom on-site finished solid hardwood floors. We service most of Chicago and suburbs, carry full insurance, liability and workers compensation. We are dedicated to professional service through quality craftsmanship and understanding customer expectations. We take pride in our work and made it part of our lives and values. Give us a chance to earn your business, your trust and your satisfaction :)  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

08/27/2017


Jacob H.

We hired Mike to refinish our upstairs and downstairs wood floors. He was very responsive upfront until we had a signed contract. Once we had a signed a contract we never saw him again. Communication between us and him through his crew was very poor. The floors did turn out nice, however, there were many unfinished issues that Mike had promised to address and never did. The crew was a little sloppy with the work and got stain on our newly painted baseboards and even front entryway tile. They did not stain the insides of the wood floor vents that you can see as they are very large grates. We were told over and over again by Mike and his office that we could pick up extra stain to do that ourselves. With multiple attempts to contact them through phone and email, we stopped by the shop on two attempts to get the stain (they said they didn't have it there and would get it from the guys in a few days). After over a week we stopped back again and the front office lady told us she wouldn't be able to get it soon and we should just buy it ourselves. In addition, we needed to have three thresholds installed to the bedrooms and bathroom. Mike told us he would personally make these for us. However, upon the floors being finalized, the thresholds were still not in... they even charged our credit card before even telling us even though we had a punch list of items we wanted finished. After close to two weeks, a crew member (not Mike) came to install the thresholds and they were just generic and did not really match with our existing floors/other thresholds in the house. They let garbage from their work sit in our driveway for over three weeks before it was removed even after countless times we asked them to take the 4-5 black bags of garbage away. We would not recommend using Mike if you are thinking of refinishing your floors. You will be able to find a more responsive and reliable company with similar pricing that will leave you satisfied rather than feeling brushed off.

Description of Work
We hired A-1 flooring to refinish hardwood flooring in the upstairs bedrooms (3), upstairs hallway, stairs, dining room and living room.

Category hardwood floor

2.0

08/27/2017


Jacob H.

We hired Mike to refinish our upstairs and downstairs wood floors. He was very responsive upfront until we had a signed contract. Once we had a signed a contract we never saw him again. Communication between us and him through his crew was very poor. The floors did turn out nice, however, there were many unfinished issues that Mike had promised to address and never did. The crew was a little sloppy with the work and got stain on our newly painted baseboards and even front entryway tile. They did not stain the insides of the wood floor vents that you can see as they are very large grates. We were told over and over again by Mike and his office that we could pick up extra stain to do that ourselves. With multiple attempts to contact them through phone and email, we stopped by the shop on two attempts to get the stain (they said they didn't have it there and would get it from the guys in a few days). After over a week we stopped back again and the front office lady told us she wouldn't be able to get it soon and we should just buy it ourselves. In addition, we needed to have three thresholds installed to the bedrooms and bathroom. Mike told us he would personally make these for us. However, upon the floors being finalized, the thresholds were still not in... they even charged our credit card before even telling us even though we had a punch list of items we wanted finished. After close to two weeks, a crew member (not Mike) came to install the thresholds and they were just generic and did not really match with our existing floors/other thresholds in the house. They let garbage from their work sit in our driveway for over three weeks before it was removed even after countless times we asked them to take the 4-5 black bags of garbage away. We would not recommend using Mike if you are thinking of refinishing your floors. You will be able to find a more responsive and reliable company with similar pricing that will leave you satisfied rather than feeling brushed off.

Description of Work
Refinish hardwood flooring in the living room, dining room, 3 bedrooms, upstairs hallway and stairs.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

06/01/2017


John K.

It was smooth and easy. The floor was delivered and staged in the kitchen, nook, family room, entry and hallways to be done before installation. The installer came and worked diligently till it was completed three days later. We were very happy with the job that was done for us. Had one board that had surface problem, talked to Mike and they came back to replace it without any issue. We are going have them do some additional rooms with the same flooring soon.

Description of Work
A-1 furnished and installed about 1000 square feet of 5 inch wide hickory granite prefinished wood flooring. It was both glued and then nailed into place.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

07/24/2015


TRAVIS P.

We called Mike and he made himself available a few days later for an estimate. We received what we believed to be a fair price so we agreed to have him start work the following week. The job took 3 days total and the final product left us very satisfied! We weren't sure what color stain to use so we showed Randy (I believe that was his name) a few pictures from Pinterest and he confidently said, "Don't worry, I know exactly what color to use." We trusted his judgement and he didn't let us down. Very happy with their work and we highly recommend. The day after the work was completed, we thought the stairs could use some extra sanding so we called Mike and he came out at no additional charge, which we certainly appreciated. One incident that was a bit odd... one of our mops and buckets went missing from the bathroom. We saw the workers using it one day to clean up so we are sure they took it with them. A harmless mistake I'm sure, as I can't imagine they'd intentionally steal a few cheap items. This incident doesn't change our opinion of A-1 Flooring, but just thought it was only fair that it be mentioned.

Description of Work
Sand, Stain, Finish existing hardwood floors.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

04/30/2015


Michael P.

Went well. Had a punch list that Mike took care of willingly. His staff is very good. we were pleased and will use him for future flooring work.

Description of Work
Flooring company hired through my general contractor. Installed hardwood floors in kitchen, breakfast room, power room, family room, living room, dining room, stairs and second floor hallway.

Category hardwood floor

4.0

02/13/2014


Tim B.

Couple mis steps but in the end Mike made it right.

Description of Work
Bamboo flooring in master bedroom, front hall and stairs.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

01/07/2014


Sabrina I.

Exceptional attention to detail- very clean and neat (important when this is one room in an otherwise fully functioning house!). Taped/tarped off and sealed space so dust was contained in its entirety. Color, finish and craftsmanship were better than expected. On time and on budget.

Description of Work
Sand, stain and poly hardwood floor in music room

Category flooring contractor

5.0

12/17/2013


William H.

New installation of hardwood flooring in living room, dining room, upper hallway, stairs and entry. I was very pleased with the price for the amount of flooring that was installed. The price included moving furniture and removing the carpet as well as replacing the lower railing. The job was very well done, on time and took a short time from start to completion. Great care was taken to ensure the color of the stain was to our satisfaction. The price included the removal of all the old carpeting and debris. We are extremely happy with the final results and highly recommend them.

Description of Work
.

Category hardwood floor

4.0

10/29/2013


Jennifer O.

There were an hour later the first day and the job took 3 days longer than originally quoted. Despite a contract stating a 50% deposit and the remaining 50% paid upon completion, they ask for 25% payment after 4 days and charged my card the remaining balance when the floors were sealed but the finish work was not done. They did install a transition board for free when I complained about the final payment. I am satisfied in the end becasue my floors looked beautiful. Victor (laid the new wood) is a real craftsman. He even sized all vent opening to custom fit by existing grates. Mike, the owner, is responsive to calls and customer requests. The price is competitive and and quot;averageand quot; to other quotes in my area - that's why teh C

Description of Work
Sand, stain and seal hardwood floors throughout the house. Remove kitchen flooring and replace with hardwood. placed hardwood on a stair case after removing carpet.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

MY RESPONSE TO THIS COMMENT IS AS FOLLOWS . THIS CUSTOMER WAS A PLEASURE TO WORK FOR . WE WERE HAPPY THAT THE CUSTOMER AFTER DAY ONE ,MADE A CHOICE TO INCREASE THE AMOUNT OF WORK TO DONE IN THE HOUSE . THIS WOULD CALL FOR THE THREE EXTRA DAYS . THE ORIGINAL SAND JOB WAS COMPLETED IN THE TIME FRAME REQUESTED. KITCHEN FLOOR HAD TO HAVE LAYERS OF SUBFLOOR REMOVED ,THEN INSTALL NEW ,SAND STAIN AND FINISH. THE PAYOUTS WERE CONSISTANT WITH THE CONTRACT. SHE HAD TWO SEPERATE CONTRACTS FOR THIS JOB. [member name removed] IS A VERY NICE PERSON. THNAK YOU FOR THE BUSINESS
5.0

08/30/2013


Barbara G.

It went very well. They were on time. They did a really nice job. I actually found a spot that was bad and they came back within 2 days and fixed it. They were fine on their price. I thought it was a very fair price.

Description of Work
A-1 Hardwood Flooring Incorporated re-sanded and refinished my hardwood floors throughout my house.

Category hardwood floor

    Services Offered

    Hardwood Flooring - Unfinished, Laminate, Refinishing, Custom Borders, Commercial Finishes, Wax, Polyurethane & Water-Base.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes