Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Habitar Design

Founded 2000 • With Angi since January 2010

5.0

(91) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1520 N Sedgwick St Ste 5A

Chicago, IL 60610

Description

From bathrooms to kitchens, fireplaces to furnishings, Habitar Design creates breathtaking interiors to nourish your soul and bring your home to life. Our work has been recognized and featured internationally in design magazines, but at heart, we’re a small Chicago-based firm dedicated to personally caring for our clients and guiding them through the process of design and construction. We offer a full range of interior design and remodeling services with our sister company Stratagem Construction. Our process is simple, cooperative and organized to help you achieve your vision. Our goal is 100% client satisfaction. Design can be a wonderful journey. Let us be your guide. Reach us at info@habitardesign.com or 312-274-2299....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/30/2019


Lauren S.

We loved working with Habitar Design. We contacted them to help us plan for a big renovation that reconfigured our entire kitchen and dining floor plans and brought new life into our full main living space. We were really pleased with the entire process. Our designer, Heather, did a great job figuring out what we were looking to have done and helped us narrow down exactly what we wanted. After the initial consultation she immediately "got" our aesthetic and all of her ideas and the options she gave us to choose from were great. She truly designed the kitchen of our dreams. And she did a great job of walking us through the design and construction processes so we felt at ease signing up for a big construction project with their sister company, Stratagem Construction.

Description of Work
Design for the remodel of our kitchen, dining, and living room spaces, including the complete reconfiguration of the floorplan of our kitchen.

Category interior designers

5.0

10/29/2019


Jeff K.

We had a great experience working with Habitar/Stratagem to design and remodel the kitchen in our hundred-year-old house. During the design process, we worked closely with Hannah to come up with a plan that would fit our lifestyle and use our space more efficiently. She did a great job of listening to us and then suggesting options and ideas. After we settled on a final design, we started to work with the contracting side to bring it to life. That was a painless process — the Stratagem crew did a great job and stayed close to the schedule and budget ... even in our old house with crooked walls and wonky floors! Their work was meticulous and clean and they did a good job of keeping us informed throughout. We highly recommend Habitar/Stratagem ... lots of people have kitchen remodeling horror stories, but Habitar/Stratagem makes it an easy experience!

Description of Work
Kitchen redesign

Category interior designers

5.0

10/27/2019


Jordan P.

Fantastic. They did an outstanding job.

Description of Work
Design and plans for two bathroom gut remodels

Category interior designers

5.0

10/27/2019


Henry A.

Design process very well. We had input into the entire design process. Very happy with the design and resulting renovation.

Description of Work
Designed renovation to combine two adjacent 1-bedroom condo units into a single 2-bedroom condo with new master bath and walk-in closet.

Category interior designers

5.0

10/26/2019


Kate G.

We used Habitar for both the design phase and the construction phase of our fireplace project (completed October 2019). MacKenzie (designer) was friendly, knowledgable and really helpful. She helped us visualize possibilities and offered expert advice. She was patient when we had questions, which made the experience less stressful for us. We then used Zane, Sebastian and Will for the remodeling of our fireplace, which included building it out (essentially taking out the existing mantel) and adding stone/tile on all sides. They also also added a small niche with an electrical outlet and ran conduit through the wall to hide all of the cords to our DVR/gaming/internet devices. The construction phase went INCREDIBLY smoothly. The crew showed up on time, worked efficiently and cleanly, and were done in the amount of time they estimated. At the end of each day, they checked in with us. One thing I especially liked was how responsive Zane was once the project started; we changed our minds about the location of the television, and it was incredibly easy to talk to the team here and make it happen. I would highly recommend Habitar. You might pay a bit of a premium, but you are getting design and construction teams that communicate and make sure the customer is satisfied. We will definitely use them again in the future.

Description of Work
redesign of fireplace and hearth, construction of new fireplace

Category interior designers,remodeling,fireplaces

5.0

10/26/2019


Kelly D.

We initially engaged Habitar Design to redesign our living room (fireplace, built-in cabinetry, built-in aquarium) and our family room (fireplace and built-in cabinetry). We provided some ideas of what we had in mind as well as our budget. MacKenzie's initial drawings were 99% on spec, and we only made one minor change to one of the cabinets when we finalized the drawings. When it came time to bid the work, Strategem (sister company to Habitar) provided us with one of the bids. We were impressed with with the incredibly detailed quote, which in the end, turned out to be exactly on spec. The only changes to the cost were because of additional items we added as the project went on. Finally, the craftsmanship and professionalism of Nick (project manager) and Sebastian at Strategem we're second to none. Communication was excellent, our place was cleaned up every evening, and, above all, the finished product is impeccable.

Description of Work
Interior design

Category interior designers

5.0

10/25/2019


Troy S.

Habitar Design/Strategem Construction exceeded expectations by delivering on distinctive design and craftsmanship for a larger home remodel project - all delivered on-time. Highlights include an excellent project management staff, commitment to follow-through (punch list) after final delivery, and the quality of the installed fixtures: kitchen and bathroom cabinetry, floors, lighting fixtures, and paint. We couldn't be happier. The firm will be our go-to for future projects and feel confident recommending them to friends and neighbors alike.

Description of Work
Complete remodel of kitchen, including new flooring throughout the apartment. New bathroom fixtures. Redesign of utility closet, and new common area lighting fixtures.

Category closet systems,electrician,flooring contractor,home remodeling,interior painters

5.0

10/23/2019


Stuart G.

Habitar’s Kappan Shippan did an absolutely fantastic design. I am completely satisfied with the work that she did. I would absolutely recommend her and Habitar for your next design.

Description of Work
Complete rehab 2300 sq ft condo hi rise

Category remodeling

5.0

06/03/2019


Stacey B.

We used both Habitar Design and Stratagem Construction for two projects over the past year and would use again for future projects. Our first project was to design an office/ living space for our first floor den. MacKenzie was our designer and did a great job of presenting several options. In the end, we chose to build a customer office area. Our project manager Zane and his crew were very professional, timely and ensured we were satisfied with the final result. Because we were happy with our first project we decided to do a “face lift “of the kitchen (painting cabinet, new counters and lighting). The team worked around our schedule and completed the work while we were out of town, coming home to a new kitchen was great!

Description of Work
Office and Kitchen Design

Category custom cabinets,countertops,electrician,interior designers,home remodeling

5.0

05/03/2019


Nate G.

Habitar was great and helping with our design in our remodel. While they did more minor things (which were still important) like picking out paint colors and light fixtures, where they really shined was in the remodel of two of our bathrooms and our fireplace surround. We constantly are getting compliments on the design!

Description of Work
Design in connection with a home remodel

Category interior designers,remodeling,marble & granite,home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    DSY Construction Inc

    We are a full-service general construction company with a wide range of experience from remodeling to construction, and have been serving Chicagoland area for over 10 years. We can help you with all aspects of home projects from those small handyman projects to home additions and everything else in between, whatever it might be. Whether it’s, electrical, plumbing, carpentry, custom cabinets, tilling or HVAC repair or installation, we can even help you with design and blue prints of your new space. Give us a call or send us an email with your request.  

    myGC LLC

    Give us a call or click to request a quote today!  

    Sir Grout Chicago

    Sir Grout is adapting to the fight against the "invisible enemy". To cope with social distancing we are offering virtual estimates and during service our techs will take the measures recommended by the CDC, such as no handshaking, multiple hand washing and use of protective equipment. We provide top-rated tile, grout, and stone restoration and care services designed to enhance & protect hard surfaces in homes and businesses. We are a leading innovator and award-winning company in the "hard surface" restoration and care industry that recognizes the special needs of our customers. Our services include: - Grout cleaning, sealing, and recoloring with our renowned ColorSeal process - Tile cleaning and sealing - Stone restoration, honing, and polishing on marble, travertine, granite, slate and other natural stone - Bathroom and shower regrouting and recaulking services - Kitchen and bathroom stone countertop honing and polishing - High durability coatings for extra protection of hard surfaces, indoors and outdoors - Slip-resistant applications Sir Grout has been recognized by notable organizations like Home Advisor, Angie's List, Google, Yelp, TrustDale, Entrepreneur Magazine and others as the best option to restore your hard surfaces in both residential and commercial environments. We offer free, in-home/office consultations and make it quick, easy and convenient for you to learn about our top-quality services. Contact us today and let us transform your hard surfaces to looking like new again in less than a day.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Fireplaces, Built-ins, & Custom Cabinets, Furnishing & Space Planning, Window Treatment, Painting, Wallpaper, & Flooring, Additional Services

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Habitar Design

    How is Habitar Design overall rated?

    Habitar Design is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Habitar Design open?

    Habitar Design is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Habitar Design provide

    Habitar Design accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check, Visa

    Does Habitar Design offer free estimates?

    No, Habitar Design does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Habitar Design offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Habitar Design offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Habitar Design offer a senior discount?

    No, Habitar Design does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Habitar Design?

    Yes, Habitar Design offers warranties.

    What services does Habitar Design offer?

    Habitar Design offers the following services: Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Fireplaces, Built-ins, & Custom Cabinets, Furnishing & Space Planning, Window Treatment, Painting, Wallpaper, & Flooring, Additional Services