Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC

Founded 2013 • With Angi since February 2014

5.0

(15) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

12717 Gulfstream Blvd Suite 6

Port Charlotte, FL 33981

Description

Small locally owned and operated dog boarding/daycare facility with a strong emphasis on social interaction, health, and personal attention. All dogs must be dog friendly, non aggressive, non bullying, properly vaccinated and ready to have fun....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/29/2016


Richard B.

We were in Englewood, FL for a short family visit and couldn't take our beagle, Maggie, to my aunt's house (she has cats and is not a dog person). We couldn't leave Maggie alone all day in our camper so we needed to find a place to board her. We called two of the vet's in town but learned that they kept the dogs crated most of the day and nobody was present in the building overnight. That wasn't what we were looking for. One of the vets suggested we call Mike Wilson at Dog Bed & Breakfast in Port Charlotte, FL. We did and learned that Mike was with the dogs all day and except for meals and sleeping they were free to roam the building. We drove out to meet Mike and found him to be genuine and truly caring about dogs. It's hard for us to trust a total stranger with Maggie's care especially for 3-days but Mike put our minds at ease. He's on premise from early morning till late in the evening but someone else comes in later to give potty breaks. No-one is present for a few overnight hours, which would be preferable, but at least the dogs aren't caged all day. His shop is protected by intrusion and heat alarms. Mike also does doggie day care and he offers other services like bathing and nail trimming. Dog Bed and Breakfast is enthusiastically recommended.

Description of Work
Dog boarding for 3-days.

Category kennels

5.0

03/18/2016


Laura P.

I am a nurse and I work two days a week, 12 hour shifts, and Michael takes very good care of my dog Sam. The experience is very good. Sam is always happy to go there. I would tell family and friends to definitely hire him. He is very good, he treats the animals well, the place is nice and clean, and my dog is very happy going there. The last time he was there for 7 days. He has been going there for about 3 years, and this will be the 4th summer. Mike is very professional. He does not come to my house, he has his own boarding.

Description of Work
He takes care of my dog every week. I used them last week and I will be using them tonight. Sam is there 14 hours and he takes care of for that time, he feeds him, walks him, and gives a bath. I use him for doggy day care and for boarding.

Category kennels

Service Provider Response

It is always a pleasure to have Sam visit us. One of the many benefits of having any dog frequent our business is that we form lasting bonds with the dogs. I am comfortable even allowing him to come :O.e with me and remain cage free there as well. We appreciate your business and look forward to his next visit.
5.0

07/20/2015


James D.

The whole process from the review with our dogs to their stay was very professional. It was all about the dogs and their well being. It is like kids going to Disney for the dogs. I'm sure they will be very happy for another stay. It was great picking them up after a bath, nails clipped, and ears cleaned. We have boarded dogs for 45 years and this is clearly our best experience.

Description of Work
We boarded our two labs for one week.

Category kennels

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking thereto share your experience with us and other members. I am also happy that it as a positive experience.
5.0

12/31/2014


Francis D.

the dogs seemed to like the owner very well. the dogs were very happy when we picked them up. I have boared them before at other places and they always come home very down and out, but this time they came back the same as I left them. I am very pleased with the care they received and would highly recommend it for anyone who wants to have a piece of mind when leaving them.

Description of Work
took very good care of my dogs

Category kennels

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words. Its easy when you love what you do.
5.0

12/22/2014


Helen S.

Michael did a great job with my dog Cosmo. Cosmo developed a "hot spot" and Michael attended to it immediately. No vet visit was necessary. The premises were neat and clean. Michael is a very capable care giver.. Very reasonable for first boarding $18 per day plus free bath!

Description of Work
Provided dog boarding service for my dog for 13 days.

Category kennels

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to let others know about us. We are also very happy to hear that [name removed] continues to do well. If you need anything in the future don't hesitate to call on us.
5.0

09/02/2014


cheryl A.

Our dog Lucy jumps out of the car and runs to the door tail a wagging, she can't wait to visit Mike and all of her play buddies! We not only board her over night we also take her to the Bed & Breakfast at least 2 to 3 times a month for play dates, she loves it. We know Lucy is getting the best care and that makes Lucy's Mom & Dad very happy too!

Description of Work
Mike takes great care of all the dogs at the Bed& Breakfast. He makes sure all of the dogs are up to date with shots and are healthy and flea free. You can tell Mike loves his work and all of the dogs in his care.

Category kennels

Service Provider Response

We love having Lucy visit us too. Dogs like Lucy have encouraged us to introduce our Doggie Daycare Challenge; by the 4th visit if your dog is not happy to come walking through the front door we give you the daycare money back. In general doggie daycare is great stimulation for your dog, they learn how to properly interact with others, follow commands, and receive a healthy dose of exercise. Slowly we are moving into a society where daycare isn't "just" for people that consider their dog their "fur baby". Socialized dogs are more adjusted, less stressed out, less aggressive, healthier and calmer than the under socialized "tied to a stake" backyard dog neighbor's dog.
5.0

06/14/2014


Ann-Marie P.

My Yorkie Sammie loves to run and play and has been going to Day Care / Day Camp for years. I found Michael (Dog Bed and Breakfast) After my Sammie was told to take a "time out" over the xmas holiday from a different establishment (too many dogs boarding over the holidays) - Not only was Sammie sad not being able to go to camp for 10 days, I was extremely insulted since I provided the establishment year round business. It was the best thing that could have happened. Not only is Dog Bed and Breakfast closer (huge convenience), the owner Michael is very hands on. At first when I seen some of the bigger dogs, I was a little worried - because my Sammie is a handful - but when I watch my Sammie play with the large dogs ... it's awesome. He is always so excited when we arrive and never wants to leave. Michael posts and provides me videos and pictures of Sammie - which we enjoy watching so much; we watch them over and over and smile. Michael makes us feel so special by the attention he gives to Sammie. The service and communication provided is such a welcome change. I would recommend Dog Bed and Breakfast to all my friends and neighbors. Sammie is not only a Yorkie, he is our son, a family member and we never have to worry about dropping him off three times a week to play (we would do all five days of the week but Sammie comes home so tired I like him to rest every other day). I am confident in the care he is given at Dog Bed and Breakfast and it is a relief knowing my little boy is in good hands all day while I am at work :)

Description of Work
I bring my Yorki (Sammie) to Dog Bed and Breakfast (Michael Wilson) three times a week for Doggie Day Camp / Doggie Day Care

Category kennels

Service Provider Response

I really do not even know where to begin with my appreciation of your review. You have always been a great customer and we love Sammie's regular visits. Customers like yourself keep our doors open and for that we appreciate and thank you for your continued business.
5.0

06/14/2014


Laura P.

Michael at Dog Bed & Breakfast is a happy, fair individual who is dedicated to his dog business. He is very good with the dogs and loves them!

Description of Work
$8.00/6hr Boarding. Doggie day care.

Category kennels

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member name removed] for the compliment. Your repeat business is much appreciated and your recommendation to others. We also love to hear how you can't leave the house without Sam thinking he's coming for a visit.
5.0

06/12/2014


Sam F.

Michael watched out dog for a week while we went out of town. He gave daily updates and videos via Facebook. Awesome! He LOVES animals!

Description of Work
Dog boarding, nail trimming.

Category kennels,pet grooming

Service Provider Response

We are so glad that you feel comfortable bringing Lady and Lucy to stay with us. Our entire goal here is to provide an enjoyable, social, safe, and a healthy environment. We understand that a dog is not just a dog but a family member as well.
5.0

05/22/2014


Kimberly A.

I recommend this place for your dog. The atmosphere is a clean environment for your dogs and they are very well taken care of. My dog is always ready to get out of the car when I pull up to the door. When I pick my dog up after a stay, he is very happy and I can tell he has been well taken care of. The reason I love this place for my dog, is the social activity my dog receives. The owner is very easy to work with and quick to respond, when I have a question or ask if my dog can stay.

Description of Work
Took excellent care of my dog for five days and nights. Feeds him twice a day. Makes sure he gets plenty of social activity with the other dogs there. Has done nail trim and bath. Has helped with some bad behavior issues with my dog.

Category kennels

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your kind words and continued support.

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Animal Boarding Kennels
    Animal Grooming
    Dog Walking
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Dog overnight boarding & Daycare. Light In-house Grooming, Basic Bath, Personal Attention & Playtime, Medication administration, 1 on 1 interactive game-mental development exercises, 2 mile high speed dog running l

    Services Not Offered

    On site full grooming (visiting mobile available), segregation no tavailable, no housing for unaltered or aggressive dogs

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC

    How is Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC overall rated?

    Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC open?

    Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC provide

    Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC?

    No, Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC offer?

    Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC offers the following services: Dog overnight boarding & Daycare. Light In-house Grooming, Basic Bath, Personal Attention & Playtime, Medication administration, 1 on 1 interactive game-mental development exercises, 2 mile high speed dog running l

    Are there any services Dog Bed & Breakfast LLC does not offer?

    On site full grooming (visiting mobile available), segregation no tavailable, no housing for unaltered or aggressive dogs