Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

MyMusicExpert.com

Founded 1992 • With Angi since September 2014

5.0

(32) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1020 Butler Creek Ct

Oviedo, FL 32765

Description

Berklee College of Music graduate! Check out my Reviews! Check out my website at www.MyMusicExpert.com Save Time & Money by taking music lessons online! No Commute! One click and you're in your lesson! I offer courses & lessons in Voice, Piano, Music Theory, Ear Training / Solfege, Songwriting, Lyric writing, etc "I Get You There, Without the Commute!" Doug Sinning Berklee College of Music graduate...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/06/2017


Daun C.

Doug is great. He was very thorough with going through every aspect of the virtual lessons and his personality is great for working with pre-teens/teenagers.

Description of Work
I called Doug for voice lessons for my son after a recommendation from a friend.

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the awesome review. I truly appreciate it. :)
5.0

09/11/2016


Lynda S.

I've known Doug for a long time and taking voice and piano from him he's a great teacher he's into music and loves the students always encouraging always positive. I'd recommend him to anyone!

Description of Work
Great voice instruction, very knowledgeable of the trade and loves he does

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]! It's been a pleasure having you as a student over the years! And to think, we meet on the set of "Passenger 57", the movie!
5.0

09/03/2016


Melody V.

I felt that Doug goes above and beyond to help me learn the piano and voice. He was always there for me when I needed additional training. Doug also made learning a fun experience. I would definitely recommend Doug Sinning to anyone who would like to advance their skill level. Doug would go out of his way to rearrange a practice time, if I had an emergency.

Description of Work
I actually took piano and voice lessons from Doug Sinning. He did and amazing job! I did not think that I could sing. Doug proved me wrong by practicing the skills to help improved my voice. Playing the piano was one of my life's dreams. He made it very easy to understand. I enjoy playing the piano now because of Doug's patient and kind teaching. Being an older person, it can be a little intimating to learn something new. Doug was always there for me.

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words!
5.0

09/02/2016


Alina N.

Doug is a wonderful music and vocal instructor. He is encouraging, supportive, generous, and professional in so many ways. He is not only an wonderful instructor but became a wonderful friend over the years as well. He is persistent and demanding when it comes to vocal training but his technique works! My singing, tone, and ability to carry my voice improved tremendously over time. I stopped vocal training because of my expanding family but I would love to continue training with Doug again as soon as I am able to.

Description of Work
Provide vocal and music training

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words! We will see you again for more lessons in the future then. :)
5.0

08/29/2016


Karen Ann B.

Every lesson was helpful and gave me more courage to try something new... I always felt energized when I finished a lesson

Description of Work
Fabulous music teacher, always encouraging... yet gave me the push I need when I needed it

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! It's appreciated! :)
5.0

08/29/2016


Andrew T.

I had just started to play guitar and really didn't know where to start. My instructor started me with the basics and let me learn at my own pace. I did it on my computer so it was a face to face experience. This was just what I needed and here it is 2 years since l began and I'm still playing

Description of Work
I took guitar lessons with them

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

We are glad that you are still playing too! Thanks for the positive review about taking your lessons with us on Skype video chat!
5.0

08/28/2016


Ellen J.

It went fabulously! Doug is very personable as well as professional. He makes his explanations so easy to follow and it was a joy to work with him. My son also worked with him and make a miraculous change in his singing voice. I recommend him for all ages, he can teach on any level from amateur to advanced.

Description of Work
Helped me to reach my full potential with my singing. Gave me more confidence in performance. Assisted me in reaching top 5 in Florida for an International singing contest.

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

We are very proud of you and how well you've done in the singing contest! Top 5 in Florida! [Member Information Removed] to go!
5.0

08/26/2016


Anna J.

Doug Sinning from MyMusicExpert is tuly an expert in music. And he is great at teaching it. I enjoyed the lessons and learned a lot. At first I was skeptical about taking online singing classes, but now I am a big fan of it. It is time saving, convenient and very efficient. As a mom of small children, it was great, that I could have those lessons without having to leave the house. Thanks to nowadays technology it is a great option. I can totally recommend MyMusicExpert to anybody. They are friendly and professional. My experience was only positive.

Description of Work
Singing lessons and Song composition lessons

Category gift shops,tutoring,music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the wonderful review and talking about your experience in taking lessons online through Skype video chat with us! It is a great option, and we are glad that you are fans of us and online learning!
5.0

07/22/2016


Carrie W.

He offers music lessons over Skype, which is very convenient. He goes above and beyond. He helped my daughter prepare for a pageant by helping her pick and rehearse a song; She won the talent portion.

Description of Work
He's provided vocal coaching services.

Category gift shops,music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the awesome review! We are so proud of your daughter and how she won the talent portion of her pageant!
5.0

02/16/2016


Pamela B.

Very professional. He gave us excellent ideas beyond just vocal coaching for our performance. He worked with us on gospel and other types of music. He was very knowledgeable and we will definitely use him in the future.

Description of Work
Provided vocal coaching for a group of performers.

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the awesome review! It was a pleasure working with your group online and preparing your vocals for your 2nd CD release recording!
5.0

02/05/2016


Abby W.

Doug is very easy going, patient, instructive, and has consistently helped me improve. I appreciate he is able to meet me where I'm at to most effectively develop my talents. I highly Doug to others. He also has three educational degrees from Boston College which I think really helps him teach me.

Description of Work
Doug has been my music and voice instructor since 1992. I am an actress for community theater.

Category gift shops,music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the awesome review! Just to be clear, I went to "Berklee College of Music" in Boston, not "Boston College". :) Let me know when you need help with your next Audition!
5.0

01/30/2016


Justine G.

I found the services provided by MyMusicExpert to be varied, enjoyable and tailored to not only my original goals, but helped me uncover and nurture hidden strengths and interests identified only through singing and piano playing. I found the courses challenging, but not beyond my ability; the instructor worked very hard to make sure I was fully engaged in the process, which insured my personal feeling of progress and success throughout the process. For example, I was very hesitant to try piano, initially, because I'd always only ever played wind instruments, like the clarinet,and felt the piano was simply beyond me. He started one of our first few lessons as usual, but got me to sit at the piano, as part of a vocal exercise; by the end of the lesson, I'd played my first scale by myself. I began taking piano along with vocal lessons and realized that in spite of the occasional frustration caused by "small hand syndrome", I had fun, enjoyed the challenge, and learned something new about myself. That moment you find out something new about yourself, no matter your age, is exquisite; and it was the MyMusicExpert instructor that helped me experience it. It was a gift I will always treasure. The singing lessons were all I wanted and more. I went into them thinking I had an average voice, with an average range; my lessons proved me wrong. Through proper breathing and vocal techniques, learned from my instructor, my range was approximately 1.5 times stronger and larger than when I began. He also encouraged me to explore other styles of music; for our recital, I actually sang an old standard and a song from a cult TV show, as my solos. They were radically different from each other, but my teacher showed me how to make the songs my own, put my personal spin on each, so I gave a performance that was uniquely "me", while still honoring the original source material.Learning how to find yourself in something, and creating something new is an invaluable life skill. Another skill I honed during my lessons with MyMusicExpert was the ability to portray a sense of confidence and ease of interaction in public, and during public presentations. Currently, I hold a position where I rely on my voice every day; and tone, pitch and the skill to catch changes in someone else's speech, have proven invaluable.I don't get to see the people I speak to, every day, so I must be able to relay information properly, show empathy, and hear changes in voice and tone that direct me, and where I take the conversations and interactions. I have to "be alive" only through my voice, and I use the vocal skills I've learned from MyMusicExpert to help me every day, So, although I haven't made a living singing or performing, I have still found the lessons with MyMusicExpert to be key in my current professional success, and a source of personal satisfaction and enjoyment. I found my MME instructor to be knowledgeable, friendly, punctual and genuinely invested in helping me reach all of my goals, and more. Each week was a real pleasure, I found the lessons to be an investment in myself.

Description of Work
I received weekly lessons from one of the instructors from MyMusicExpert , Doug Sinning, for almost two years. I've continued to return for additional instruction numerous times, since my original course of instruction. I'd taken voice in college, and had a prior history of instrumental musical education, but the individual, one-on-one experience challenged my limits and inspired me to take piano lessons, in addition to the voice lessons I'd initially planned on taking. The instructor showed me how they complimented each other and I found myself progressing faster with my voice lessons, because the piano instruction helped me understand core elements of tone and harmony that I wasn't able to learn in a group setting, in college. Each week we met, we began with 30 minutes of piano, then moved on to the voice lesson. MyMusicExpert also provided take-away exercises I could practice on my own, for both aspects of my course work. We even prepared me for a group recital, that featured individual and group performances. That experience highlighted how much I'd advanced, and how much self confidence I'd developed, because of the ease and sheer enjoyment I was rewarded with during the concert. The chance to work as an individual, through classes, and in groups with other musicians of all experience and age levels, was gratifying.

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the AMAZING review! Isn't it wonderful how when you take one step, it leads to others and you get farther than you ever dreamt you were capable of? We have been hired not only to coach musically but also to instill confidence in the ability to be a public speaker. Music facilitates that nicely! We are proud of you and that you use your skills gleaned from your lessons not only for personal musical enjoyment but also how you use those same skills in your day to day job. :)
5.0

01/20/2016


Bel B.

Doug is a skilled and perceptive music instructor. My singing voice improved by leaps and bounds thanks to Doug, in a way it wouldn't have without him. He noticed subtle habits I had for example, that were not good, and steered me on the right path. He really knows his stuff, with over 25 years experience teaching not only voice, but piano, music theory and songwriting, all of it being useful in whatever aspect of music you choose - I was interested in voice only, and Doug showed me the notes on a keyboard (which inspired me to buy one), and how to read music, all of which improved my singing. He was also always upbeat and fun. I had a great time with him! Doug is great!

Description of Work
Singing voice lessons.

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! We enjoyed teaching you, and we are proud of your efforts out in LA!
5.0

01/18/2016


John S.

They are very well priced, very professional and knowledgeable. they have an exceptional background in the field and second to none. They know what they are doing and have the qualifications to back it up. They're communication is excellent and extremely accommodating. Although a local run company they provide lesson to anybody in world via online services, which is a credit to the organization. This company is able to differentiate and work successfully with any client and any age. They are able to provide a positive, engaging and challenging service that gets the best out of the individual.

Description of Work
He provided vocal lessons.

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the wonderful review! It was a pleasure teaching you and your son!
5.0

01/15/2016


Christy S.

He is a very talented individual that knew exactly where I needed to start with piano lessons even though I had lessons before. He was a very patient and thorough teacher, which is something I did not think would be possible online. I feel I have learned more from him in the 14 months than from when I took piano lessons for 8 years. I will continue with him in the future when my schedule allows. The prices are very reasonable for the value I received.

Description of Work
I did piano lessons online. I used them for about 14 months.

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the amazing review! I was excited to get a student online that was from my "old stomping grounds" where I grew up in southern Missouri in the Ozarks! I know that you are busy with work, but I look forward to your returning as a piano student one day soon. :)
5.0

01/14/2016


Susan D.

I've always loved to sing but...I had a terrible voice. Couldn't carry a tune. I had an opportunity to lead a music worship service and needed some voice lessons soon. I also needed it to be convenient. I travel but still wanted to keep up with my lessons when on the road. MyMusicExpert.com fit the bill. I learn through live SKYPE sessions of 30 minutes, 1X a week. I practice between sessions. The results are stunning! I can now read music, distinguish pitch, sing on key PLUS I sound good. It's been fun and productive and simply the best way to learn. My teacher is professional, excellent in his methods and directions, and overall one of the best teachers I've had the pleasure to learn from.

Description of Work
Voice lessons - that's right I learned how to sing!

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for your amazing and sweet review! It's a pleasure teaching you! Isn't it amazing how you can take the lessons from ANYWHERE in the world? You travel allot, but you are always able to make your lesson because everywhere you go, you had internet access! Side note: I've actually had students take their laptops on vacation with them so that they wouldn't miss their music lesson! LOL
5.0

01/14/2016


KEN GENIE L.

Doug Sinning is very knowledgeable, caring, motivational and inspirational. He built my confidence while constantly building my knowledge of music. He encouraged me to practice, persevere and be precise in my musical growth. Doug is an excellent teacher and I would highly recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
Voice lessons

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for your review! I was so proud of you when you got your 1st Lead Role in a Musical! You got there!
5.0

01/14/2016


Ashley G.

Always phenomenal. He builds confidence. I have used him on and off for years. Great value. He has helped me raise my standards in other areas to achieve goals in my life. His teaching goes above and beyond music.

Description of Work
Vocal coach

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

What a sweet review! Thank you so much! :)
5.0

01/12/2016


Gloria D.

Doug Sinning is a highly qualified instructor. He holds a triple music major from Berklee College of Music in Boston. Doug started with the basics, breathing standing properly, opening my mouth to form vowels and syllables correctly. I went to his house for my lessons where an extra room was transformed into a studio for voice and for piano lessons. I started with him when I became interested in theater and began my college career working towards my BA in theater. If I had a conflict, he worked with me. He was tolerant of my inabilities with voice and patiently coached me, teaching me technique and giving me the tools i needed to succeed. I have performed in a couple of musicals locally and sang with a choral group for six years. I did not personally experience lessons via skype but have been at his home when he is teaching via skype and am marveled by the ease and quality. It is just like being in Doug's music room. I highly recommend Doug as a music teacher, be it for voice or piano. He is highly skilled and most professional. And as a sidebar, he is kind, patient, fun and has become a great friend.

Description of Work
voice lessons

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the sweet review! I was happy to read your comparison of the in-person style lessons to the online Skype lessons and how you were amazed that it was just the same. Thank you for that! It's true!
5.0

01/08/2016


Caitlin H.

It went really well. My audition is in a month and I am feeling really well about it. I am probably going to ask for a few more auditions between now and the audition. He tailored the lesson to what I needed to approve on, which I really appreciated. They usually just do online lessons, but due to having poor internet connection he let me visit in person for the lessons. It has been really enjoyable!

Description of Work
Private singing lesson. Help with an upcoming audition.

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the awesome review! It was a pleasure helping you prepare for the audition, and from what I heard, it was successful and you got in! :)
5.0

12/31/2015


Rue M.

I took voice lessons from Doug for more than a year. He's a professional, yet friendly, instructor who knew everything about the voice and how to use it for singing. I enjoyed the Skype lessons and thought they worked very well as he has top of the line equipment. The only reason I stopped taking my lessons was due to having an extensive surgery with long recovery period. You'll be very pleased with the interaction with Doug and the positive results you will get.

Description of Work
Vocal instructor. We had planned Skype lessons, Doug recorded the lesson so we could practice, also had print out instruction. Very complete program tailored to your needs. I'm an older lady and needed lessons to accommodate my needs which Doug happily adjusted and provided.

Category music lessons

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review! It was a pleasure meeting you and teaching you! You are an amazing person and I learned a lot from you too! I was so glad that you enjoyed the lessons and I hope that your recovery from surgery is going well! Hugs!
5.0

12/30/2015


Kelly V.

Working with Doug was amazing! He is a very talented singer with a knack for breaking things down to teach all age levels regardless of past experience. He is patient with a great sense of humor. He is also very knowledgeable with use of the computer, creating files, setting up the video and audio, etc. He was even able to have a Christmas recital with all of his students together in a chat room while they each performed from their own home. It was fantastic! Doug is punctual, reliable, and runs a very reputable business. The convenience of having a quality lesson without having to drive to yet another place was priceless. I would highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Doug provided voice lessons to my daughter in the comfort of our own home through Skype.

Category music lessons

5.0

12/28/2015


Dale R.

Very professional. Doug Sinning. Very nice person and a great teacher. Very business oriented.

Description of Work
taught me to play piano

Category music lessons

5.0

12/27/2015


Heather S.

I will be honest, when I first began looking for a private music instructor I was skeptical of taking lessons online. I researched what was available and was impressed to see the quality of the website and the instructional videos. Doug's academic qualifications put my mind at ease. Berklee College of Music is one of the best music schools in the country. Within the first lesson I knew I was in good hands and would receive quality instruction with substantial educational depth. The whole process is simple. Everything from payments to scheduling make-up lessons is available on the company's website. I can promise you that the lesson fee is fair and worth it for the quality instruction you will receive. They utilize your time by planning each lessons materials. When you log in for your lesson you jump straight into the lesson plan for that day. Before you know it you will have built a repertoire of music that you can share with your friends! I look forward to my half hour lesson each week. I learn a new song every week! Not only does Doug and his team provide excellent education, they also provide the opportunity for students just like you and me to connect with one another all across the globe. MyMusicExpert.com hosted a Holiday Recital where each of the students presented a piece of music: all online and all connected together! It was so great to see people from all walks of life and musical skill sharing their passion for music! Please check them out. You will not regret it.

Description of Work
I have been Doug Sinning's student for close to three years. I LOVE learning from Doug! I began by taking music theory and sight reading skills and then transitioned to piano lessons. Doug has assembled quite an impressive group of instructors under the umbrella of his company, MyMusicExpert.com. Doug is not only an expert musician, he is also a technology genius! The transition to Skype lessons was a breeze with his guidance. Online lessons are super convenient and very effective.

Category tutoring,music lessons

5.0

12/21/2015


Robert W.

It was a great experience and I didn't have to leave my house. Doug is a very nice and patient man and took his time with me and my not so good voice. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Through Skype, we practiced many different voice training techniques and singing. I was given homework to practice before our next lesson.

Category music lessons

    Music Instruction
    Gifts
    Tutoring
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Lessons - voice, piano, songwriting, lyric writing, solfege, music theory & ear training.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about MyMusicExpert.com

    How is MyMusicExpert.com overall rated?

    MyMusicExpert.com is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are MyMusicExpert.com open?

    MyMusicExpert.com is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does MyMusicExpert.com provide

    MyMusicExpert.com accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does MyMusicExpert.com offer free estimates?

    No, MyMusicExpert.com does not offer free project estimates.

    Does MyMusicExpert.com offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, MyMusicExpert.com offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does MyMusicExpert.com offer a senior discount?

    No, MyMusicExpert.com does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by MyMusicExpert.com?

    No, MyMusicExpert.com does not offer warranties.

    What services does MyMusicExpert.com offer?

    MyMusicExpert.com offers the following services: Lessons - voice, piano, songwriting, lyric writing, solfege, music theory & ear training.