Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc

Founded 2006 • With Angi since January 2011

4.9

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6230 Wilshire Blvd Ste 1225

Los Angeles, CA 90048

Description

Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design, Inc. was launched in May 2006 by Larry Hess. The company was born out of Larry’s love of plants and garden design. Bloom Landscaping works with many experienced and top-quality independent contractors on a regular basis to address all hardscape and softscape needs. In addition to landscape design and installation, regular fine gardening maintenance is performed by Larry and a crew who pay close attention to every detail. See a list of Bloom Landscaping services for more information. Bloom Landscaping is your one stop shop for design, installation, and on-going maintenance and is also available for supervision and consultation with your selected contractors....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/09/2018


Dina S.

We embarked upon a needed exterior home renovation and landscape project in November-December last year. Larry and his crew arrived during the start of the fires in the LA basin, and despite horrendous traffic and the very hot temperatures with smoky air, managed our project and completed it on time in advance of a big family visit, integrating their work with the painters and fence and gate installers. Larry worked with me closely on the design to incorporate our preferences, and turned out a beautiful new landscape that makes us happy to be in our outdoor area again!

Description of Work
Renovate landscape in front and back yards, build a pergola, add trees, walkway, replace lawn, change sprinklers to drip irrigation, change lighting

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

5.0

08/24/2016


Kathleen O.

Description of Work
.

Category landscaping

5.0

05/12/2015


Adam W.

Larry did a fantastic job managing the project. He was great at providing frequent updates and checking in with me on progress. He spent several hours with us at the nursery picking everything out. I would highly recommend his work and i will look to him first in the future with any of my landscaping needs. My yard looks great now and I get a ton of complements from the neighbors.

Description of Work
removed 3 stands of giant timber bamboo. This was no small feat - the root system was hard as a rock and took quite some time to excavate. removed all old stumps and plants from the front yard. created beautiful plant beds in the front and back and planted a variety of trees, shrubs, and flowers based on our specific guidance and Larry's expertise. Reseeded the back yard. Installed a new gate on the side of the house to access the back yard.

Category fencing, landscaping, tree service, driveway gates

5.0

05/10/2015


VALERIE R.

When we decided to replace our lawn with a drought tolerant landscape, we interviewed several garden designers. Based on high praise from a trusted landscape insider, we selected Larry Hess of Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design, a design/build professional. This turned out to be a very fortunate decision. We now have a practical and lovely drought tolerant front and back garden, with paths (stone in the front and decomposed granite in the rear) in a logical and pleasing design. Larry took care of everything, including the installation of the landscape sprinkler system and the electrical requirements. In no particular order, Larry is experienced, dependable, honest, well informed, and talented. He is a true gentleman, and we enthusiastically recommend him to anyone considering a garden design or renovation.

Description of Work
Removed existing front, side and back turf. Designed and installed drought tolerant garden, including paths in both front and back garden.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

5.0

04/29/2015


Kathleen O.

I hired Larry Hess because he was so easy to talk to and understood my vision for the yard. The original quote was realistic considering what I wanted. Larry is very hands-on and managed everything except the city refuse bin rental. I especially appreciated that he applied for a rebate with our water company. Larry also dealt with the city permitting process, which we needed due to the garden wall. Larry arranged all the subcontractors and paid them direct, with the exception of the tree removal. All the subcontractors that worked on this landscaping job were professional, hardworking and always cleaned up at the end of the day. Larry estimated the job cost, but only billed actual costs. Due to his diligence in saving money wherever he could, we came in slightly under the original estimate. (I chose expensive lighting fixtures, which caused the electrical portion to exceed the original estimate.) Larry is very easy to work with and is very responsive to both e-mails and phone calls. I have lost count of how many compliments we've received on our new front yard. I highly recommend Bloom Landscaping.

Description of Work
Front and side yard landscaping. Remove existing palm and birch trees, lawn and excess dirt. Install garden wall, water-wise irrigation, flagstone pathways, decomposed granite, native and existing plants, lighting and a water feature.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, tree service, hardscaping

1.0

06/30/2014


Amedee L.

Description of Work
Never called back

Category fencing, landscaping, lawn service, tree service

5.0

05/16/2014


Jason K.

I cannot say enough good things about Larry and his team. The work was top notch and completed quickly. There was great communication when we were planning, and when anything in the original plan needed adjustment. Their suggestions were excellent, and we are extremely happy with the finished product. My design aesthetic is modern and fun, (think CB2) and that is what we got. Larry was very easy to work with, reliable, and knowledgeable. I would, and have, recommend him to anyone who needs any outdoor design done well and with style.

Description of Work
Built large, multilevel Mangaris deck and railings, replaced two gates using Mangaris wood, installed decorative cinder block wall, and designed and landscaped front and side yards.

Category landscaping

5.0

05/03/2013


Naomi M.

They were great. Their pricing was good to high. My experience with them was great. I am very happy. I wouldn't have asked them to come back if I wasn't. They were very professional and really nice. Their staff was great.

Description of Work
I used the services of Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design. They've worked for me twice. They did landscaping for us.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/23/2013


Steven H.

Larry was very professional and immediately connected with our concerns and ideas, responding with his own ideas about how he would or could address them. He even offered up ideas about things we hadn't even thought about. He sent a prompt estimate, that was extremely detailed, summarizing everything we talked about as well as a breakdown of costs associated with each, so we knew exactly how the costs distributed. We were able to ask questions and ask for clarification, and he was prompt and thorough in his responses, even providing links and pics to help us visualize his ideas. However, his bid was on the high end. Based on service, it may be worth it., though we don't have a point of view on that, as we chose to go with a lower bid vendor.

Description of Work
Larry consulted with us and provided us an estimate for a landscaping project for both front and back yards.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/21/2012


Mary M.

We got tired of having the worst-looking front yard on our little block, and we were stymied about how to improve the plants in our front, back and side yards because the amount of sun in each area varies hugely and we are totally ignorant about plants. We clearly needed a professional, so I searched for landscape designers with local experience. Larry Hess lives nearby and is co-chair of the Green Team in the South Robertson Neighborhood Council, so we thought he would have a good handle on plants that grow happily in this area. We showed our property to Larry, pointing at plants we hated and at the problem areas, and asking about plants that would need less water. Larry gave us his ideas about what might work in shady or sunny areas, what needed to go, what needed to be moved or divided, and what native or drought-resistant plants would work in the different areas of the yards. Larry promptly gave us an estimate and was responsive to the ways in which we wanted to pare the budget down. At our plant-choosing expedition in mid-July, it was heaven to walk around FK Nursery with our professional landscape designer; we would point at things we liked and he'd tell us the pluses and minuses of each plant, if it needed lots of water, if it bloomed a short or long time, and where in the front, back or side yards it would work. The demo and installation took several days in late July and early August, and we are delighted with our new look. We weren't brave enough to take out our lawn yet, but Larry advised us on extending the plant beds out into areas where the lawn wasn't growing well, and it looks wonderful. We were also glad that Larry could refer us to some of his crew who do gardening services, so now the same people who put in the plants are going to be caring for them each week and will let us know if anything needs tweaking at any point.

Description of Work
Design of landscaping in front, back and side yards, including some tree removal, relocation of existing plants, and installation of many new plantings.

Category landscaping, tree service

5.0

03/16/2012


Grace A.

They were really, really good. We had a credit of seven hundred dollars left from the job they did seven years ago, he remembered that we had a credit, and didn’t charge us at all for the work they did recently. It was very amazing. We really enjoyed the landscaping, he did a fantastic job eight years ago, and it’s beautiful.

Description of Work
We had used Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design, Inc. seven or eight years ago, and we had some minor repair work done recently.

Category landscaping

5.0

02/19/2012


James T and Diana S.

Our yard was an overgrown mess when we bought the home and they have completely transformed it. We got the recommendation to use Larry from several friends. He was involved in every phase from brainstorming, plans, budgeting and implementation. Larry has excellent taste, is a hard worker and extremely diligent. He is pleasant, communicative and can work with any budget. He was with us every step of the way. Of all the jobs we did on our house, this was the best working relationship we had. It came in on budget with great results. Almost every other job we had in our house took twice as long and came in 50% over budget. Our landscaping work was the exception. The biggest compliment we get on our home is the yard and we continue to be pleased with it. He also works with an independent lawn service that we are happy with. It also keeps Larry in the loop in case we need additional tweaks to the yard. We have recommended Bloom to several friends and have gotten terrific feedback every time. I cannot recommend anyone we have ever worked with in LA any higher than Bloom.

Description of Work
We had Bloom come in for three main jobs over a 7 year period. They have have consisted of several phases including: A plan for the yard (including upper, lower yards, front and sides plus the area around our sports court), some areas were leveled, some involved moving plants or bringing in new ones. The lawn was re-sodded. A fence was added on one side of our yard. Railroad ties and steps were put in. We also had sprinklers and drainage put in. The initial job was extensive with add-ons over the years.

Category fencing, lamp repair, landscaping, lawn service

5.0

01/28/2011


James T and Diana S.

Larry Hess is the owner. Larry comes back from time to time to take care of things for me, like removing trees or changing things out. He figures out what we need to replace to keep everything centered. He specializes in low water areas. He is lovely and I love working with him. His price depends on the project. He always shows up on time and has good workers that are very professional. He had really good ideas of things I had never thought of.

Description of Work
Bloom did a huge landscape project, including hardscape.

Category lamp repair, landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Mike Guttman Design & Construction

    Allow Mike Guttman, with 30 years of experience in outdoor design and construction to integrate masonry and landscape and transform your outside living space into a beautiful place to come home to. Mike's designs have been featured on HGTV , is affordable and he has serviced the L.A. area from Los Feliz to Malibu including the Hollywood elite. Mike will meet with you personally for a consultation to artfully and masterfully integrate masonry with landscape design. His customer service and attention to detail has been awarded multiple Super Service Awards from Angie's List. Mike will personally spend time visiting with you to design the perfect outdoor space for your home. Spend time with Mike and see the difference. .  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Home Renew 360

    Home Renew 360 is your complete home improvement company. We offer many remodeling services that will help you and your family create the home of your dreams in an efficient, sustainable, healthy manner. Our company has over 30 years of combined experience providing exemplary service to home owners in the greater Southern California area. Home Renew 360 has the expertise and experience to apply our craftsmanship to any size remodeling project. Our goal is to make sure the job is done right and on time.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Home Renew 360 on Angi
    Feel At Home Builders & Design

    Specialties: As a full service local home remodeling company, Feel At Home Builders & Design is fully licensed, bonded, and insured to build any new residential construction and remodel any indoor or outdoor area of your home. While offering our home remodeling services, we know that homeowners want to see what they’re getting before the job even begins. For this reason, we offer exquisite 3D design plans so you can see the end in the beginning. Our workers are highly experienced in detailed craftsmanship for all your remodeling needs, including: Additions, room extensions, outdoor remodeling, creative pool design, firepits, electrical, tile, masonry cement and brickwork including pavers, hardscape and waterscape, painting, custom decks and patios, flooring, roofing, turf and all types of creative landscaping. Our company has been family owned & operated since 1992 allowing us to not only have more than 25+ years of proper industry skill sets, but we also learn as fast as the construction world is changing. Most importantly, we listen to your needs while allowing our experience to give you different options to turn your dream into a reality. History: Established in 1992, catering to each client individually is what makes Feel At Home Builders & Design stand out. Feel At Home Builders & Design is a licensed general contracting company with over 25 years of industry experience building and remodeling different types of uniquely designed homes throughout Southern California. Our honor and loyalty to our customers ensure that every single customer of ours get a creative and beautifully detailed home remodel from start to finish. We originally formed Feel At Home Builders & Design because we had so much more to offer than just “industry standards”. We sincerely took every golden nugget of feedback from every customer we have ever worked with and evolved our company into a high-tech home remodeling company.  

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Landscaping - design, consulting & installation, hardscape, planting, irrigation. Decks, patios, pergolas. Fences, gates & retaining walls.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc

    How is Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc overall rated?

    Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc open?

    Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc provide

    Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc?

    No, Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc offer?

    Bloom Landscaping & Garden Design Inc offers the following services: Landscaping - design, consulting & installation, hardscape, planting, irrigation. Decks, patios, pergolas. Fences, gates & retaining walls.